
 
 
 
 

 
WDFW Public Records Fee Schedule 

Per the Washington State Public Records Act, RCW 42.56.120, agencies may charge fees to recover costs of 
making and providing copies of records when fulfilling requests.  

 

Copies of Records: 
15 cents/page Photocopies, printed copies of electronic records when requested by 

the requester, or for the use of agency equipment to make photocopies. 

10 cents/page Scanned records, or use of agency equipment for scanning. 

1.25 cents/electronic record 5 cents for each 4 electronic files or attachments uploaded to email, 
or cloud‐based data storage service, or other means of electronic 
delivery. 

10 cents/gigabyte Records transmitted in electronic format or for use of agency 
equipment to send records electronically. 

Other Costs:  
Actual Cost Digital storage media or devices. 

Actual Cost Any container or envelope used to mail copies. 

Actual Cost Postage or delivery charges. 

Actual Cost Customized service charge (in addition to fees for copies above) will 
be imposed if request will require use of information technology 
expertise to compile data. 

 
Per WAC 220‐120‐060 

 
• Before copying requested public records, the Public Records Officer or designee may require a deposit 

of up to ten percent of the estimated costs of copying all of the records. The public records officer or 
designee may also require payment of the remainder or an installment of the copying costs before 
providing all of the records. 
 

• The department will not release any requested copies of public records unless and until the requestor 
has paid all copying and other charges as set forth in this section. 

 
• The department may determine whether customized electronic access to public records is required if 

the department estimates that the request would require the use of information technology expertise to 
prepare data compilations, or provide customized electronic access services when such compilations and 
customized access services are not used by the department for other department purposes. The 
department will charge the actual costs, including staff time and outside vendor costs necessary to 
reimburse the department for providing customized electronic access services. 

 
• The department may waive any charges for providing public records at the discretion of the Public 

Records Officer. This determination will be made on a case‐by‐case basis. 
 

• Payment may be made by cash, check, or money order to the Washington Department of Fish and 
Wildlife. 
 

  Note:  The Public Records Officer has the authority to waive fees. 
 

RCW 42.56.080 states that requests must be for an identifiable record. 
 


