
 

RULE-MAKING ORDER CR-103P (May 2009) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency:   Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife 
. Permanent Rule Only 
Effective date of rule: 
 Permanent Rules  14-107 

 31 days after filing.  
 Other (specify)              (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be 

stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 
   Yes          No          If Yes, explain:        
 

Purpose:   This rule change establishes a jack (Carangidae) and mackerel (Scombridae) incidental catch limit of 45% of total 
landed catch, by weight, in the directed Pacific sardine fishery.  The commercial sardine purse seine limited entry program, 
established in 2009, did not provide for the landing of jacks (Carangidae) and mackerels (Scombridae) in the directed fishery.  
This rule change allows incidental catch to include jacks (Carangidae) and/or mackerels (Scombridae).  The amendments 
also clarify language and improve rule structure.   
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Citation of existing rules affected by this order: 
    Repealed:       
    Amended: WAC 220-44-095 
    Suspended:       

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 77.04.012, 77.04.020, 77.04.055, and 77.12.047. 
  

Other authority :       

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR  14-07-111   on  3/19/2014  (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version:   
 
There were no changes from the proposed version to the adopted version. 
 

 
 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting:   
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-02-003, filed 12/23/09, effective
1/23/10)

WAC 220-44-095  Coastal sardine purse seine fishery—Harvest,
landing, and reporting requirements—Gear.  (1) Licensing, harvest, and
reporting requirements. It is unlawful for persons fishing under a
Washington sardine purse seine fishery license or temporary annual
fishery permit to fail to:

(a) Carry an observer onboard for any sardine fishing trip if re-
quested by the department;

(b) Surrender up to five hundred sardines per vessel per trip if
requested by department samplers for biological information; and

(c) Complete a department-issued logbook each month in which
fishing activity occurs, and submit it to the department by the 15th
day of the following month.

(2) Possession, transport, and seasons.
(a) It is unlawful to possess, transport through the waters of

the state, or deliver into any Washington port, Pacific sardine (Sar-
dinops sagax) or other coastal pelagic species taken in violation of
gear requirements and other rules published in Title 50, Part 660,
Subpart I of the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.). These federal
regulations govern commercial fishing for coastal pelagic species in
the Exclusive Economic Zone off the coasts of Washington, Oregon, and
California. Where the federal regulations refer to the fishery manage-
ment area, that area is interpreted to include Washington state waters
coterminous with the Exclusive Economic Zone. Updates to the federal
regulations are published in the Federal Register. Discrepancies or
errors between the C.F.R. and Federal Register will be resolved in fa-
vor of the Federal Register. This chapter incorporates the C.F.R. by
reference and is based, in part, on the C.F.R. A copy of the federal
rules may be obtained by contacting ((Lori Preuss)) the department of
fish and wildlife rules coordinator at ((360-902-2930)) 360-902-2403,
or going to the U.S. Government Printing Office's GPO Access web site
(www.gpoaccess.gov). State regulations that are more restrictive than
the federal regulations will prevail.

(b) It is unlawful to fish for or possess Pacific sardine taken
with any gear from coastal waters except during the coastal sardine
fishery season ((is)) open to purse seine fishing each year ((only))
from April 1st through December 31st.

(c) It is unlawful to take Pacific sardine in state waters except
for the incidental take authorized by the coastal baitfish regula-
tions.

(((c))) (d) It is unlawful to retain any species that is taken
incidental to sardine, except for anchovy, mackerel, and market squid
(Logligo opalescens).

(e) It is unlawful to retain mackerel (Scombridae) or jacks (Car-
angidae) taken incidental to a lawful sardine fishery that in combina-
tion exceeds forty-five percent of the weight of the total landing.

(f) It is unlawful to fail to release any salmon encircled in the
purse seine ((must be released)) prior to completion of the set((, and
no salmon may be landed)) or to land or retain salmon on the fishing
vessel.

(((d))) (g) It is unlawful to transfer sardine catch from one
fishing vessel to another.

(((e))) (3) Landing and delivery.
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(a) It is unlawful to fail to have legal purse seine gear as de-
fined by department rule aboard ((the)) a vessel making a sardine
landing.

(((f))) (b) It is unlawful to fail to deliver sardine landings to
a ((shore-side)) processing facility located on shore.

(((g) Once a delivery has commenced at a processing plant, all
fish on board the vessel must be offloaded at that plant.

(h))) (c) It is unlawful to land fish at more than one processing
facility and to fail to offload all fish onboard the vessel once the
delivery commences at the time of landing.

(d) It is unlawful to deliver more than fifteen percent cumula-
tive weight of sardines for the purposes of conversion into fish
flour, fish meal, fish scrap, fertilizer, fish oil, other fishery
products, or by-products, for purposes other than human consumption or
fishing bait used during the sardine fishery season.

(((2) License owners must designate a vessel upon issuance or re-
newal of the license and must be identified as either the vessel owner
or primary license operator.

(3) Persons fishing under a Washington sardine purse seine fish-
ery license or temporary annual fishery permit must:

(a) Carry an observer on board for any sardine fishing trip if
requested by the department;

(b) Surrender up to five hundred sardines per vessel per trip if
requested by department samplers for biological information; and

(c) Complete a department-issued logbook each month in which
fishing activity occurs, and submit it to the department by the 15th
day of the following month.))

(4) A violation of the reporting requirements ((under)) provided
in this section is punishable ((pursuant to)) under RCW ((77.15.280))
77.15.560, Commercial fish, shellfish harvest or delivery—Failure to
report—Penalty.

(5) A violation of the gear((,)) requirements provided in this
section is punishable under RCW 77.15.520, Commercial fishing—Unlawful
gear or methods—Penalty.

(6) A violation of the harvest((,)) or landing requirements ((un-
der)) provided in this section is punishable ((pursuant to)) under RCW
((77.15.520)) 77.15.550, Violation of a commercial fishing area or
time—Penalty.
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