Michele Culver
Regional Director

360-249-1229 Fax

For more information,
hard copies of documents,
or to get involved
please contact:

Heather Reed
Coastal Policy Coordinator

360-249-1229 fax

Washington Department of
Fish and Wildlife
600 Capitol Way N
Olympia WA 98501-1091

Wahkium County MRC

Coastal MRCs
Wahkiakum County

Mission: The Wahkiakum County Marine Resources Committee’s mission is to address local marine issues; recommend remedial actions to local, state, tribal, and federal authorities; and build local awareness of the issues and support for remedies consistent with the interim “Benchmarks of Performance” as adopted by the Coastal MRC Work Group on January 7, 2009.

Priority Actions for 2014:

  • Continued MRC representation at the Washington Coastal Marine Advisory Council
  • Cathlamet Waterfront Visioning Conference featuring specialists in redeveloping historic waterfronts
  • Continuation of a citizen science monitoring program to study seals and sea lions and their predation in the Lower Columbia River Estuary
  • Support for the Phase 2 Dredging Assessment including surveys for Wahkiakum County rivers and venues for public input
  • Support for local high school field trip to engage students in learning about themarine life in the Lower Columbia River Estuary
  • Construction of a fish cleaning station at the Elochoman Slough Marina
  • Support the creation and implementation of a Select Area Fisheries Enhancement study and business plan for local commercial fisheries
  • Implementation of a Wahkiakum County MRC summit to highlight MRC activities and Lower Columbia River Estuary issues
  • Conduct monthly water quality monitoring on the Columbia River using volunteers

For more information, contact the MRC’s coordinator Carrie Backman.

Carrie Backman
WSU Wahkiakum County Extension, Director
25 River Street, Ste E (lower level)
PO Box 278
Cathlamet, WA 98612

Ph: 360-795-3278

Wahkiakum County MRC members
Member Organization Representation
Carrie Backman WSU Wahkiakum County Extension MRC Coordinator
Donna Westlind WSU Wahkiakum County Extension MRC Assistant Coordinator
David Goodroe Town of Cathlamet Local Government
Bob Kizziar Wahkiakum Port District 1 Local Government
Kayrene Gilbertsen, Chairperson Wahkiakum Port District 2 Local Government
Carol Ervest, Vice-Chairperson Citizen Local Resident
Jim Culbertson Local Resident
George Exum Citizen Environmental and Conservation
Pat Frazier WA Department of Fish and Wildlife Science
Vacant   Science
Mike Backman Commercial Fisherman Chair, Economic
Mike Clark Commercial Fisherman Economic
Kent Martin Commercial Fisherman Economic
Vacant   Recreation
Jeff Rooklidge Wahkiakum School District Environmental and Conservation
Vacant   Alternate – Environmental and Conservation
Vacant Alternate - Recreation

Related Documents