WDFW LogoWashington Department of Fish & Wildlife
  HELP | EMPLOYMENT | NEWS | CONTACT  
WDFW LogoAccessing Washington's Outdoors

 

For additional information,
please contact

Dolores Noyes
360-902-2349
FAX: 360-902-2392
Dolores.Noyes@dfw.wa.gov

 

 
How to Apply

Download Application:

Instructions:

  1. Download application.
  2. Veterans must include with this application a copy of their one page VA Disability Percentage Rating letter showing name and disability rating clearly. Please do not send a copy of the multi-page medical determination report your physician sends to the VA Case Manager for adjustments. If you do not have your one page “VA Disability Percentage Rating” letter... you may obtain one by calling: (800) 827-1000, or letters can be obtained online at: www.ebenefits.va.gov then log into your premium account.
  3. Review the How to Retrieve a Veterans Affairs Disability Percentage Rating Letter
  4. Once you have your one page VA Disability Percentage Rating letter, download and print the application and mail both to: 

    WDFW, Licensing Division
    PO Box 4315
    Olympia, WA 98504

  5. Remember, this is for reduced fees ONLY.  This does not provide access to assistance cards, programs or facilities. You must apply for Disability Status which is certified by a licensed physician (MD).

Disability Applications require
Adobe Reader
to view and print.

Eligibility Requirements for Veterans
Reduced Fees

In 2013, the Washington State Legislature passed House Bill 1192 expanding eligibility requirements for reduced license fees.   If you are a resident of Washington State or a non-resident of Washington State, have been honorably discharged from military service, and have received a disability percentage rating from the Veterans Affair Administration (VA), you will qualify for a reduced fee license if you meet the criteria below. If you are receiving a disability award or rating from the Social Security Administration or any other federal, state, and/or county entity you may not be eligible for these feduced fees. If you have a question about your status, please contact us at the number listed below.

To qualify for reduced fees with WDFW you must have a permanent disability which meets one of the following:

RCW 77.32.480 Veterans Reduced Fees

The following honorably discharged disabled veterans are eligible for a combination fishing license (fresh water, salt water, and shellfish) and/or hunting license(s) at a discounted rate. See License Fee Schedule.

  • Resident veterans with at least 30% service connected disability as verified by VA letter.
  • Resident veterans 65 years of age or older with a service connected disability as verified by VA letter.
  • Non-Resident veterans with at least 30% service connected disability as verified by VA letter.
  • Non-Resident veterans 65 years of age or older with a service connected disability as verified by VA letter.



Picture of deer

This Agency receives federal assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and provides equal access to its programs, services, activities, and facilities under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Architectural Barriers Act of 1968.

The Department of the Interior and its bureaus prohibits discrimination on the bases of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, mental or physical disability, reprisal, sexual orientation, status as a parent, and genetic information. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or service, please contact the WDFW ADA Program Manager, PO Box 43139, Olympia, WA 98504 within 45 calendar days of the alleged incident before filing a formal complaint, or write to:  U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Civil Rights Coordinator, 4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: WSFR-4020, Arlington, VA 22203

If you need further ADA assistance, please contact the Olympia office of the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife at: (360) 902-2349, or Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TDD), (360) 902-2207 for more information.