Reporting Requirements

All vessels (including ATBs, barges, and recreational vessels)
of 300 gross tons and greater, except military vessels, must
file a ballast water reporting form to the department 24
hours prior to entering Washington State waters and before
transiting between state ports. U.S. Coast Guard and IMO
reporting forms will be accepted. The U.S. Coast Guard
form is preferred. Submit reporting forms to:

Email: ballastwater@dfw.wa.gov
OR
Fax: 360-902-2845

Penalties for Violations

Civil Penalties:

The department may impose a civil penalty of up to $27,500,
per violation per day, on a vessel owner or operator who fails
to comply with the requirements of state laws including:
e Failure to file a ballast water reporting form;

e Failure to meet the requirements in a Notice of Correction;

¢ Discharge of improperly exchanged or treated ballast water
without a valid exemption.

Criminal Penalties:

A vessel owner or operator who knowingly and intentionally
falsifies a ballast water reporting form may be subject to
criminal penalties of up to five years imprisonment in addition
to any civil penalties.

Washington State Ballast Water

Management Program
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All vessels intending to discharge water within Washington State waters
are required to conduct an open sea exchange or treat their ballast

Exchange Requirements

water to meet state standards. Specifically:

e VVessels making an ocean crossing are required to exchange their
ballast water at least 200 NM offshore in waters at least 2,000 meters

deep;

WDEFW Inspections

A WDFW Vessel Inspector will
examine ballast water management
records, take ballast water samples,
and make other inquiries to assess
compliance with Washington State
ballast water management laws.

—

* Vessels making a coastal voyage are required to exchange their ballast
at least 50 NM offshore in waters at least 200 meters deep;

e All exchanges must be conducted using the Empty Refill method at
100% or greater exchange OR the Flow Through method at 300% or

Samples collected during
inspections are examined for

greater exchange.

Exchange Exemptions
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BWRF Waiver Optio

Vessel operators who do not regularly
discharge ballast water while in Washington
State ports and who do not wish to file a
reporting form for every visit may complete
and sign a WDFW waiver request form. The
form can be found on the ballast water
program website.

the presence of invasive or
potentially invasive species.

Exchanges are not required when:

» A vessel does not discharge ballast water into /
waters of Washington state.

Examples of nearshore organisms
* A vessel master declares a safety exemption on the \
state ballast water reporting form and files a / ‘
minimum $500 administrative fee. Unless unsafe to ﬁ
do otherwise, the vessel may not discharge !
unexchanged or untreated ballast water into waters

of the state without department authorization.

e The vessel's ballast water and sediment originated

solely from common waters of the Columbia River Ealplzs el
north to the Strait of Juan de Fuca, inland waters of / open ncean
Puget Sound, the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the Strait gl
of Georgia south of latitude 50° North. . l

* When a ballast water treatment system is used that

meets the Washington State ballast water discharge Species photos courtesy of . ;;;;\}-%
requirements. Jeffery Cordell, University of ,?)

Washington



