
COLUMBIA RIVER COMPACT/JOINT STATE 

ACTION NOTICE 
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife                     September 17, 2012 

 

2012 Non-Indian Mainstem Commercial Late Fall Fishery 

Season  8 PM Wednesday September 19 to 6 AM Thursday September 20 

8 PM Sunday September 23 to 6 AM Monday September 24 

8 PM Tuesday September 25 to 6 AM Wednesday September 26 

(10 hours) 

(10 hours) 

(10 hours) 

Area: Zones 4-5.  The deadline at the lower end of Zone 4 is defined as 

a straight line projected from the Warrior Rock Lighthouse on the 

Oregon shore easterly through the green navigation buoy #1 and 

continuing to the Washington shore.   

 

Sanctuaries: Washougal River and Sandy River. 

Gear: Drift gillnets only.  8" minimum mesh size restriction. 

Multiple net rule in effect, which means nets not specifically authorized for use 

in this fishery may be onboard the vessel if properly stored.  A properly stored 

net is defined as a net on a drum that is fully covered by a tarp (canvas or 

plastic) and bound with a minimum of ten revolutions of rope with a diameter 

of 3/8 (0.375) inches or greater. 

Nets fished any time between official sunset and official sunrise must have 

lighted buoys on both ends of the net.  If the net is attached to the boat, then one 

lighted buoy on the end of the net opposite the boat is required. 

Allowable 

Sales: 

Salmon and white sturgeon.  A maximum of 5 white sturgeon may be possessed 

or sold by each participating vessel during each calendar week (Sunday through 

Saturday) in the remaining openers.  The white sturgeon possession and sales 

limit includes mainstem fisheries only.  Sales of white sturgeon from fall Select 

Area fisheries is prohibited. 

Additional 

Rules: 

24-hour Quick Reporting Rule will be in effect for Washington buyers. 
Pursuant to WAC 220-69-240 (d) (iii) When quick reporting is required, Columbia 

River reports must be submitted within 24 hours of closure of the designated fishery. 

Submission of a report is not complete until the report arrives at the designated 

department location. Reports can be made via fax at 360-906-6776 or 360-906-6777; 

via e-mail at crfishtickets@dfw.wa.gov; or via phone at 1-866-791-1281.  (e) Faxing a 

copy of each fish receiving ticket used, within the previously indicated time frames 

specified per area, satisfies the reporting requirement.  (f) Violation of this subsection 

is a gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.630. 
 

 

 

Future Hearings:  

 A Compact hearing is scheduled via teleconference for 2:00 p.m. Tuesday September 25 to review 

treaty and non-treaty fisheries 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.15.630

