Free to Anyone with a Valid Fishing License
2017 TROUT FISHING DERBY
Buy a License
Catch Tagged Trout
in Derby Lakes
& Receive Prize Info
Visit a WDFW Dealer
to Claim Your Prize
Buy a License
CATCH FISH WIN BIG
Want to know what you can win in this year's Fishing Derby? We have over 900 prizes available, which means you have over 900 chances of winning!
Washington, Idaho, Oregon, and Canadian businesses donated each Fishing Derby prize. Each prize coordinates with a unique, yellow, fish tag. Donating dealers will have tagged fish stocked in lakes near their locations.
When you catch a tagged fish, call the number provided on the tag for directions on how to claim your prize! Important - You'll need to save your fish tag to redeem your prize!
View Prize List
This year's Fishing Derby is statewide! You shouldn't have to travel far to win prizes.
With over 900 tagged fish, stocked into over 100 lakes, there are plenty of prizes to go around.
Turn your Fishing Derby experience into an adventure! Visit one of the many Washington State Parks near a Fishing Derby lake. Try camping for the weekend to catch a lot of trout, or explore the beauty Washington offers.
View Participating Lakes
Fishing Derby Rules & Regulations
Prizes and Claim Process
Fishing Derby Participation Rules
There is no entrance fee or extra cost to participate in the WDFW Fishing Derby. Anyone with a valid Resident, or Non Resident 2017 Annual Freshwater or Combination fishing license may participate in the Fishing Derby. Anglers must follow all rules, regulations and daily limits as outlined in the current fishing-regulations pamphlet, and emergency rule changes set by WDFW. 1-3 day temporary combination licenses are NOT valid for Game Fish for the 8-day period beginning the fourth Saturday in April, unless you are an active duty residence military personnel.
The law does not require children 14 years of age and under to obtain fishing licenses; however they must actively participate and be able to demonstrate the ability to handle the gear by themselves. They must follow all the rules and restrictions for that particular species and/or body of water and are allowed the same daily limit as an adult. Adults may assist and are not required to have a license if they will not be fishing/harvesting themselves, but children must be present and take part in the entire process.
WDFW employees and their immediate family member(s) are prohibited from participating in the Fishing Derby; however WDFW employees, and immediate family may fish on his/her personal time in stocked lakes that contain prize fish. No WDFW employee, or immediate family member(s) will be eligible to claim any derby prize(s).
All anglers who take part in free fishing weekend can participate in the derby and redeem any tags caught on that weekend.
The official start date of the WDFW Fishing Derby is on the Lowland Lake Opener (April 22, 2017) and ends on October 31, 2017.
After the official end of the derby October 31, 2017, successful anglers must call WDFW by 5:00 pm, Pacific Daylight Time, on Friday November 3, 2017 to report catching a derby tag. Tags that are not phoned into WDFW by 5:00 pm on Friday November 3, 2017 are not valid for prize redemption. Successful anglers with tags needing to be presented to the derby prize donor must also submit the tags to the vendors no later than the donor’s close of business on November 10, 2017.
WDFW does not endorse any individual fishing derby prize donor. Each donor is responsible for their product/service and fulfillment of each prize.
WDFW will determine which lakes to stock with tagged derby prize fish. The list of lakes will be made available to the public. Anglers must follow all rules, regulations and daily limits as outlined in the current fishing-regulations pamphlet, and emergency rule changes set by WDFW. Tagged derby fish caught in violation of any rule or statute are subject to seizure and forfeiture under the provisions in RCW Chapter 77.15.
Prizes, Claims Process, and Derby Tags:
WDFW will maintain a list of all available prizes. Each tagged fish has a corresponding dealer and prize. In order to claim a prize, a successful angler must first contact WDFW by phone at 360-902-2464 and provide the tag information. WDFW will provide the specific donor prize information corresponding to the tag, and the successful angler will be required to present the tag at the fishing derby prize donor’s place of business to claim the prize. In a few cases donors have provided prizes to WDFW—mostly involving gift cards—and if the tag that an angler phones into WDFW corresponds to one of those prizes WDFW will inform the angler and mail the prize to the angler, registered receipt required. WDFW does not endorse any individual fishing derby prize donor. Each donor is responsible for their product/service and fulfillment of each prize. After the official end of the derby October 31, 2017 remaining tags that are not phoned in for redemption by Friday November 3, 2017, at 5:00 pm, are not valid for prize redemption.