Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

WDFW Help

View Questions by Category

There are no sub categories

Category » Hunter Education rss button

There were 9 questions found in this category:

  1. How can I register for a hunter education training class, and what is involved?
    WDFW offers a broad range of hunter-education training classes to meet the needs of the public. They include traditional courses and online courses. Traditional hunter education courses are taught by certified hunter education instructors. Such classes are a minimum of 10 hours in length, but t ...
  2. How does the hunter education deferral program work?
    The one-year, once-in-a-lifetime hunter-education deferral program allows an individual to hunt one year before having to successfully pass a formal hunter education course. An application can be found online and must be submitted to the Hunter Education Division in Olympia for approval. See WD ...
  3. How can I obtain proof that I completed hunter education training 30 years ago in Washington so that I can legally hunt out of state?
    You can call the Hunter Education Division at 360-902-8111 and ask them to search the archives to see if your hunter education course records still exist. If they do, you can purchase a duplicate hunter education card from the WDFW Hunter Education Division. If your course records no longer exi ...
  4. What are the hunter education requirements for current U.S. military personnel stationed or living in Washington?
    Effective July 26, 2009, active members of the U.S. military in good standing, who have a valid military identification card, are exempt from the skills components of the online hunter education class. The law does not exempt active U.S. military personnel from hunter education training. It ON ...
  5. Who needs to take Hunter Education?
    All hunters born after January 1, 1972 are required to show proof of hunter education course completion. If you completed hunter education in another state, you can use that certification in Washington. You must provide that proof at the time of license purchase. See WDFW's Hunter Education web ...
  6. How do I obtain a duplicate hunter education card?
    Duplicate hunter education cards may be purchased for a fee. To obtain a duplicate card, you must complete and return by mail a special application form—available from WDFW Regional Offices or from the Olympia Hunter Education Division Office. See WDFW's "How to Obtain a Duplicate Certifi ...
  7. I took hunter education in another state. Does that count if I want to purchase a hunting license in Washington?
    All hunter education training certificates issued by any of the other 49 state fish and wildlife agencies are accepted in Washington State. The certificate must be presented at the time of license purchase.
  8. How old do I have to be to hunt alone?
    WDFW recommends older, more experienced hunters accompany youth hunters. If born after January 1, 1972, you must complete Hunter Education or obtain a one-year, once-in-a-lifetime Hunter Education Deferral to hunt in Washington State. Hunter education can be taken at any age. If hunting under t ...
  9. Can I apply for a special permit in the same license year I get a hunter education deferral?
    You cannot apply for most special permits in the same license year. You would be allowed to apply for mountain goat, bighorn sheep, or moose special permits. However, you can only apply for these if submitting Points Option and before you get a hunter education deferral. You can also apply fo ...