Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

WDFW Help

View Questions by Category

Category Icon Social Security Number Collection

Category » Licensing Requirements rss button

(Page 1 of 2)      Prev | 1 | 2 | Next

There were 29 questions found in this category:

  1. Who needs a hunting license in Washington?
    Anyone hunting wildlife in Washington needs a hunting license. For questions on child-support payment related issues, contact DSHS toll-free at 1-800-457-6202 or visit the Division of Child Support website. Late child-support payments typically suspend hunting rights.
  2. Who needs a fishing license in Washington?
    Everyone age 15 and up needs a license to fish in Washington. You do not need a license if you are fishing for common carp, crawfish, bullfrogs, smelt, or unclassified marine invertebrates. See the WDFW Licensing website for all details about residents, non-residents, etc. If a person is behi ...
  3. Can I fish for salmon and steelhead on free fishing weekend?
    Yes, unless your fishing license is revoked and your fishing privileges are suspended due to non-payment of child support or an order from WDFW or a court. When your fishing privileges are suspended, it means no fishing, even during free fishing weekend. On “Free Fishing Weekend,” ...
  4. What are the hunting/fishing license requirements for active duty U.S. military personnel stationed in Washington?
    Active duty U.S. military stationed in Washington State are considered residents and qualify for resident licenses as long as they are stationed in Washington on a non-temporary basis. A “non-temporary basis” means for ninety days or longer. However, active duty U.S. military pers ...
  5. What is the definition of a Washington resident
    A person who has maintained a permanent place of abode within the state for at least 90 days preceding license purchase, who has established by formal evidence (e.g. a driver’s license and voter registration card) an intent to continue residing in the state, and who is not licensed to hun ...
  6. What are the dates of WDFW's licensing year?
    Annual fishing and hunting licenses are valid from April 1 through March 31. They are available for purchase online (https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov/), by phone (1-866-246-9453), and from hundreds of retail license dealers around the state. A list of license vendors is available from local WDFW offi ...
  7. Do I need a fishing license if I'm just helping my child or others to fish?
    If you are only watching, you do not need a fishing license. However, if you are directly assisting and participating, you will need the appropriate fishing license.
  8. What are the hunting license licensing requirements for out-of-state U.S. citizens?
    Non-resident U.S. citizens born after January 1, 1972, must pass a Hunter Education course in Washington unless they can show that they have successfully passed a comparable Hunter Education course elsewhere in the U.S. They can then purchase licenses and tags at the nonresident rate. People ...
  9. What happens if I forget to report my fishing and hunting activity?
    By January 31 of each year, hunters must report their hunting activity for each special permit acquired and each deer, elk, bear, and turkey tag purchased. Hunters who do not meet the deadline must pay a $10 penalty before they can buy a license the following year. It is also required that all ...
  10. What are the firearms licensing requirements for non-U.S. citizens?
    Permanent resident aliens or green card holders do not have to obtain an alien firearm license. They can purchase a hunting license, purchase firearms, and apply for a concealed pistol license. In order to obtain an alien firearm license, a nonimmigrant alien residing in Washington must apply t ...
  11. I bought an eastern Washington archery elk license and applied for an elk Special Permit. Since I was not drawn, can I change from archery to muzzleloader or from eastern to western Washington?
    No. You cannot switch your elk or deer tag after the Special Permit submission deadline date if you submitted hunt choices for a Special Permit. You cannot switch from eastern to western (or western to eastern) once the Special Permit submission deadline has passed. You can exchange your tag if ...
  12. What are the requirements for licenses for persons with a disability?
    WDFW issues a disabled hunter permit to persons with permanent disabilities under certain conditions. For complete information, see: WAC 232-12-828 Disability Licensing FAQ Recreational Fishing and Hunting Disability License Applications Contact WDFW’s Licensing Division at (360) 902 ...
  13. Can I get a refund if I drew a Special Permit and three days into the season I become very dissatisfied for whatever reason? Can I get my Special Permit points back?
    No. You cannot get a refund or get your Special Permit points back for this reason. For more help on refunds, contact the WDFW Licensing Division: 1. Online at licensing@dfw.wa.gov 2. Call (360) 902-2464 For more help on Special Permit points, contact the WDFW Wildlife Program: ...
  14. How do I update my contact information?
    You can update your mailing address, phone number or email in one of three ways: 1. Online at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov/wa/license 2. At a License Vendor 3. Call WDFW Licensing at (360) 902-2464
  15. What do I do if I have lost my license or tag, or lost my WILD I.D. number?
    If hunting or fishing license, endorsements or tag documents are lost, stolen, or destroyed, duplicates can be obtained from license dealers for a cost. If you have lost your WILD I.D. number, you can use your social security number to access the WILD I.D. system to purchase licenses and tags. ...
  16. What are the hunting license requirements for non-U.S. citizens?
    Provided that the non-U.S. citizen was born after January 1, 1972, and successfully passed Hunter Education training, they can purchase a hunting license. If non-U.S. citizens meet residency requirements, they can buy resident licenses. If they do not meet residency requirements, they need to p ...
  17. Is game farming legal in Washington?
    Game farms licensed on or before January 1, 1992 may continue to operate under the license—see RCW 77.12.570; WAC 232-12-027. After January 1, 1992, WDFW is licensing only game farming of game birds—see WAC 232-12-027. WDFW does license game farms to raise and sell game birds includi ...
  18. Does a designated harvester or hunter companion need to have a Washington license to harvest for or assist a disabled person in Washington?
    No. According to WAC 232-12-828(8), a designated hunter companion must have a valid hunting license from Washington or another state. The hunter companion or designated harvester must have their licenses with them. And the disabled person who is being assisted must have the appropriate Washingt ...
  19. If I buy a Washington resident license and move to another state can I use that resident license for the remainder of the Washington seasons?
    Yes (WAC 200-20-001). However, as soon as you purchase a resident license in the new state, your Washington resident license becomes invalid, even if the season is not over. If you are checked in the field by a Fish and Wildlife Officer and found to have a resident Washington license but a driv ...
  20. How can I find my WILD ID number?
    Steps to find your WILD number are: Go to https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov Select any one of the purchase options to bring up the 'Customer Search' screen. Enter either your driver license number or your social securtiy number in the space provided towards the bottom of the page. Fill in your last n ...
(Page 1 of 2)      Prev | 1 | 2 | Next