Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

WDFW Help



Can my child operate a personal watercraft or motorboat?

  • State regulations require that the operator of a personal watercraft be 14 years of age or older and have a Boating Safety Education Card. There is no other age requirement in state law, BUT several counties do have age restrictions for motorized vessels.
  • Beginning January 1, 2008, boat operators 12 years  and older will be required to have successfully passed an approved boating safety examination and carry a Boating Safety Education Card when operating a vessel 15 horsepower or greater.
  • See the Washington Online Boating Safety Course and Exam website for more information.


Related Questions

Attachments

No attachments were found.

Question Details

Last Updated
24th of May, 2011

Would you like to...

Print this page  Print this page

Email this page  Email this page

Post a comment  Post a comment

 Subscribe me

Subscribe me  Remove from favorites

Remove Highlighting Remove Highlighting

Edit this Question

Quick Edit

Export to PDF


User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?




Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue