Any organized “Hunting Dog,” “Retriever,” “Versatile Dog,” or “Tracking Dog,” activity in which participants are in competition with one another for cash awards, trophies, citations, or any other prizes or receive scores for their dog’s performance.
- Non refundable application fee: $70.00
- Permit fee: $24.00
You need a field trial permit if:
- The field trial will be on WDFW lands or,
- If live wildlife will be used (examples: pheasant, duck,
If you are holding a field trial that is on WDFW land
you will need:
- A field trial permit.
- A Temporary Land Use Permit ($50.00)
It is unlawful to hold field trials for hunting dogs
during the months of April, May, June, and July unless permitted
Applications for a field trial permit must be filed
with the department at least thirty days before the proposed
field trial date.
Birds used for field trials must be marked prior to
Please contact the Department of Fish and Wildlife at
360-902-2515 to purchase bands (10 cents apiece in lots
Applicable laws and rules:
- Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
- Washington Administrative Code (WAC)