Mailing Address:
Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife
Wildlife Program
Master Hunter Section
600 Capitol Way North
Olympia, WA  98501-1091

Physical Address:
WDFW – Wildlife Program
Natural Resources Building
Fifth Floor
1111 Washington Street SE
Olympia, WA 9850

 

Re-Certification Requirements

Master Hunter Permits are valid for a five (5) year period.  All re-certification materials should be submitted together and should not be sent in any sooner than six (6) months prior to the expiration date printed on the permit card.  There are no extensions to renew the permit after it has expired.

  1. Approved Master Hunter Recertification Proof of Service Form documenting 40 hours of volunteer work on approved wildlife conservation projects. All projects require pre-approval unless they meet the guidelines on the Conservation Projects page OR you have obtained the support and guidance from Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) personnel in your local area. Volunteer activities must occur prior to the re-certification date. A one-time credit for three (3) hours of volunteer conservation work is given for attending a Crime Observation and Reporting Training (C.O.R.T.) session.

  2. Documentation of successful completion of C.O.R.T. program (unless already completed previously) .

  3. Effective October 16, 2009, certified Master Hunters renewing their permits must authorize the WDFW to conduct a criminal background check each time they renew. The criminal background check will go back five (5) years from the Master Hunter’s renewal anniversary date or back to the effective date of 2009 amendments to WAC 232-12-073-Master Hunter Permit Program (October 16, 2009), whichever period of time is shorter.

    The criminal background check requirement will apply to any certified Master Hunter with a renewal anniversary date of October 16, 2009, or later. The signed Master Hunter Permit Renewal Criminal Background Check Authorization Form must accompany the $25.00 non-refundable renewal fee and Proof of Service form to verify completion of required volunteer conservation project work. Checks and money orders should be written to: WDFW Master Hunter.

  4. Effective July 26, 2009, accountability standards and criteria to determine suspensions were established by the State Legislature for certified Master Hunters. These criteria will be applied during criminal background checks and during the period of validity for Master Hunter permits.
    - If a Master Hunter pays the required fine or is found to have committed an infraction under Chapter 77.15 RCW or WDFW rules, WDFW shall suspend his/her Master Hunter permit for two years.
    - If a Master Hunter pays the required fine or is convicted of a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony under Chapter 77.15 RCW, WDFW shall suspend his/her Master Hunter permit for life.
    - If a Master Hunter pays the required fine or is convicted of trespass, reckless endangerment, criminal conspiracy, or making a false statement to law enforcement, while hunting, fishing, or engaging in any activity regulated by WDFW, WDFW shall suspend his/her Master Hunter permit for life
    - If a Master Hunter pays the required fine or is convicted of a felony prohibiting the possession of firearms, unless firearm possession is reinstated, WDFW shall suspend his/her Master Hunter permit for life.
    - If a Master Hunter has a hunting or fishing license revoked or has hunting or fishing license privileges suspended in another state, WDFW shall suspend his/her Master Hunter permit for life.
    - If a Master Hunter submits fraudulent information to WDFW, WDFW shall suspend his/her Master Hunter permit for life.
    - If a Master Hunter is cited, or charged by complaint, for an offense under Chapter 77.15 RCW; or for trespass, reckless endangerment, criminal conspiracy, or making a false statement to law enforcement while hunting, fishing, or engaging in any activity regulated by WDFW, WDFW may immediately suspend his/her Master Hunter permit until the offense has been adjudicated.
    - If a Master Hunter has his/her permit suspended for less than life, and the person wants to become a Master Hunter again, they must repeat the entire Master Hunter permit application process once the suspension period is over.
  5. Sign and submit Master Hunter Code of Ethics Agreement (unless already completed).

  6. WDFW will not notify Master Hunters that have expired certification permits.

  7. Shotguns shooting slugs, and crossbow have been added to the list of hunting implements with which Master Hunters may qualify, along with associated qualification standards. It is expected that Master Hunters will be proficient with any legal hunting implement prior to its use during any Master  Hunter season. One way to achieve that proficiency is to qualify with additional legal hunting implements . Master Hunters may qualify with additional hunting implements at any time simply by following the instructions for qualification and sending the completed Shooting Proficiency Certification Form to WDFW.
    Scoring your shooting instructions