Mount Saint Helens
Wildlife Area Location

Daren Hauswald
2108 Grand Boulevard
Vancouver, WA 98661
(360) 906-6756

Wildlife Areas
Mount Saint Helens Wildlife Area
Mount Saint Helens Wildlife AreaThe Mount St. Helens Wildlife Area is comprised of 18 units in Skamania, Clark, Cowlitz, and Wahkiakum counties, and totals more than 9,600 acres. The two largest units are the Mudflow Unit and the adjoining Hoffstadt Unit. Both are located in the North Fork Toutle River valley and encompass over 6,500 acres. Each of these two units is primarily managed for elk, and have the only salmon-spawning sites in the Upper North Fork Toutle River basin.

The Mount St. Helens Wildlife Area is largely managed for elk in the North Fork Toutle River Valley, but the area units are diverse, and provide habitat for multitudes of species, over a broad range of habitats including old growth forest, forested floodplains, riparian areas, ancient lava flows, mineral springs, tidal mudflats, and wetlands.

How to Get Here
For driving directions and more information on this Wildlife Area's units, please click on the links below:
  • Abernathy Creek
  • Altoona
  • Canal Road
  • Carnine
  • Cedar Creek
  • Duck Lake (Clark County)
  • Eagle Island
  • Fisher Island
  • Gardner
  • Hall Road
  • Hoffstadt
  • Jenny Creek
  • Merrill Lake
  • Mudflow
  • Nellie Corser
  • Nelson
  • Two Forks
  • White Island
  • Wildlife Area Map
     Wildlife Area Map - Click to enlarge
    Wildlife Area Habitat Conservation Plans
    Weekender Report
    Wildlife Viewing Guides
    Accessing Washington's Outdoors
    Find a Water Access Site
    GoHunt - Interactive Mapping
    Green Dot Maps