Search News Releases

Search mode:
"and" "or"
Search in:
Recent News Releases
(Last 30 days)
All News Releases
Emergency Fishing Rule Changes
Sport Fishing Rule Changes
Fish and Shellfish Health Advisories & Closures
Marine Biotoxin Bulletin
Beach closures due to red tide and other marine toxins
Local Fish Consumption Advisories
Health advisories due to contaminants
Fish Facts for Healthy Nutrition
Information on mercury, PCBs and other contaminants in fish
News Releases Archive
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 

600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091

This document is provided for archival purposes only.
Archived documents do not reflect current WDFW regulations or policy and may contain factual inaccuracies.

  Digg it!  StumbleUpon  Reddit

January 04, 2005
Contact: Susan Yeager (360) 902-2267

Locke appoints 3 to Fish and Wildlife Commission

OLYMPIA - Clyde McBrayer, a retired educator and active fishing advocate, has been named to the Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission by Gov. Gary Locke, who also reappointed Kenneth Chew and Fred Shiosaki to the nine-member panel.

All three men were appointed to six-year terms on the commission, which provides policy guidance to the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and appoints the department's director.

Their terms will run through Dec. 31, 2010.

McBrayer, 63, of Olympia, worked as a high school teacher, adjunct professor, and educational administrator after receiving a master's degree in science from the University of Washington. Since retiring in 1994, he has served as an adviser to WDFW as a member of the department's Sport Fishing Advisory Committee and the Puget Sound Crab Advisory Committee. He has also participated in the North of Falcon season-setting process for salmon for the past 10 years.

McBrayer replaces Lisa Pelly, whose appointment expired Dec. 31, 2004.

Chew, 71, of Seattle, served as associate dean of the College of Ocean and Fishery Sciences and as director of the Western Regional Aquaculture Center at the University of Washington before retiring last year. He holds a Ph.D. in fisheries from the UW, and is known internationally for his scientific contributions to shellfish biology, aquaculture and marine ecology.

Chew was named to the commission Nov. 1 to fill out the term of R.P. Van Gytenbeek, who moved to Bozeman, Mont., for a position as executive director of the Federation of Fly Fishers. Locke then reappointed Chew to a six-year term, which runs through Dec. 31, 2010.

Shiosaki, 80, of Spokane, was reappointed to a second term, after serving on the commission since 1999. An avid, longtime flyfisher, Shiosaki was a member of the Japanese-American 442nd Regimental Combat Team during World War II. He established and directed the Spokane County Air Pollution Control Authority, managed the Environmental Services Department for the Washington Water Power Company, and chaired the Washington Ecological Commission for seven years. Shiosaki received a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Gonzaga University and attended the University of Washington Graduate School.

"Our state is very fortunate to have people of this caliber on the commission," said Will Roehl, commission chair. "Each one brings a wealth of experience and personal commitment to the important decisions we face as stewards of Washington's fish and wildlife resources."

Roehl also expressed his appreciation for former commissioner Pelly, who marked her last day on the commission Dec. 31. Pelly, of Bainbridge Island, served 10 years on the commission, including two as chair.

"Lisa played an important role in preparing our state for the challenges facing fish and wildlife management in the 21st century," Roehl said. "We'll miss her, but the commission is now in a good position to move ahead with this work in future years."

In addition to Roehl, of Bellingham, and the three new appointees, the commission includes Ron Ozment (vice chair) of Cathlamet; John Hunter of Cashmere; Holly Ledgerwood of Pomeroy; Pete Schroeder of Sequim; and Bob Tuck of Selah.