Search News Releases

Search mode:
"and" "or"
Search in:
Recent News Releases
(Last 30 days)
All News Releases
Emergency Fishing Rule Changes
Sport Fishing Rule Changes
Fish and Shellfish Health Advisories & Closures
Marine Biotoxin Bulletin
Beach closures due to red tide and other marine toxins
Local Fish Consumption Advisories
Health advisories due to contaminants
Fish Facts for Healthy Nutrition
Information on mercury, PCBs and other contaminants in fish
News Releases Archive
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 

600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091

This document is provided for archival purposes only.
Archived documents do not reflect current WDFW regulations or policy and may contain factual inaccuracies.

  Digg it!  StumbleUpon  Reddit

January 09, 2001
Contact: Tim Waters, (360) 902-2262

Cahill chosen Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission chairman

OLYMPIA — Russ Cahill of Olympia has been chosen chairman of the Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission.

Cahill, a retired state Parks and Recreation Department official appointed to the commission in 1998 by Gov. Gary Locke, was elected to the post Jan. 4 by his fellow commissioners. He replaces Kelly White of Kettle Falls. White's term as commissioner expires in January 2003.

Will Roehl of Bellingham was elected vice chairman. Roehl has served on the commission since 1997.

Both Cahill and Roehl will serve two-year terms.

Prior to his retirement in 1997, Cahill worked for four decades in the fields of natural resources, parks and law enforcement. He has been a trustee and board chairman of the Washington Nature Conservancy and a trustee of the National Parks and Conservation Association. An avid fisherman, hiker and bird watcher, Cahill also has served on the boards of several state and local conservation organizations.

"We have a really good commission and I am proud to be its chairman. We are going to do the basics and that is to take care of the resource first; provide opportunity for hunters, fishers and wildlife viewers second; and last, but not least, make sure that the commission's public process is an open one," Cahill said.

The nine-member commission is responsible for setting policy for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife. Three commissioners are chosen from eastern Washington, three from western Washington, and three at-large.

Other members of the commission include: Don Heinicke of Wenatchee; Lisa Pelly of Bainbridge Island; Dawn Reynolds of Pullman; Fred Shiosaki of Spokane; Bob Tuck of Selah and R.P. "Van" Van Gytenbeek of Seattle.