Search News Releases

Search mode:
"and" "or"
Search in:
Recent News Releases
(Last 30 days)
All News Releases
Emergency Fishing Rule Changes
Sport Fishing Rule Changes
Fish and Shellfish Health Advisories & Closures
Marine Biotoxin Bulletin
Beach closures due to red tide and other marine toxins
Local Fish Consumption Advisories
Health advisories due to contaminants
Fish Facts for Healthy Nutrition
Information on mercury, PCBs and other contaminants in fish
News Releases Archive
2014
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
2013
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
2012
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
MORE ARCHIVES...
 

WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE     Print Version
NEWS RELEASE
600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091


  Digg it!  StumbleUpon  Reddit

June 12, 2008
Contact: Deputy Chief Mike Cenci, (360) 902-2938

New state law protects orca whales

OLYMPIA – With summer approaching, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) is reminding recreational boaters and paddlers that a new state law to protect orca whales goes into effect today (June 12).

The new law, approved during the last legislative session, establishes rules for boaters and paddlers, including a requirement that vessels stay at least 100 yards away from southern resident orca whales.

“Orca whales are vulnerable to human disturbances, including boat traffic,” WDFW Deputy Enforcement Chief Mike Cenci said. “It’s important that boaters and other vessel operators follow the rules and do what they can to avoid interfering with these animals.”

The majority of orca whales found in Washington from early spring to late fall are members of the southern resident orca population, which mostly travel the waters of northern Puget Sound, said Cenci.

Under the new law, boaters who unexpectedly come within 100 yards of southern resident orcas are required to stop immediately, put the engine in neutral and allow the whales to pass. The law also makes it unlawful to feed the whales.

Boaters who violate the new state law could be fined up to $500, said Cenci.

The southern resident orca population, which totals about 90 whales, are protected under the federal Endangered Species Act and the federal Marine Mammal Protection Act. Harassing or disturbing marine mammals also can result in federal fines. “With this new state law, WDFW enforcement officers – who conduct the majority of the marine patrols – can provide another layer of protection for orca whales in Washington’s waters,” Cenci said.

For more information on how to avoid disturbing orca whales, as well as other marine mammals, visit http://www.bewhalewise.org.