600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091
Archived documents do not reflect current WDFW regulations or policy and may contain factual inaccuracies.
March 21, 2003
Contact: Steve Sherlock, (360) 902-2375
Time to renew vehicle use permits for access to WDFW lands
OLYMPIA - Fishers, hunters and wildlife viewers in Washington state can access more than 800,000 acres of wildlife habitat and more than 600 lake, river and wildlife-viewing access sites by purchasing a vehicle use permit from the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW).
One vehicle use permit is included with the purchase of a hunting or fishing license. Other users, including kayakers, rafters, birders and anyone else who accesses WDFW-managed lands, must purchase a license for $10. Proceeds from the permits support the upkeep of WDFW-managed lands.
Permits, which are valid through March 31 of each year, must be clearly displayed and visible from outside the vehicle.
The penalty for parking on WDFW lands without a valid permit is $66, but can be automatically reduced to $30 if the vehicle's owner shows proof that a permit has been purchased within 15 days of the violation.
Vehicle use permits can be purchased at retail license vendors statewide. See a complete list of license vendors at the WDFW web site on the Internet. The permits can also be purchased at all WDFW regional offices, via telephone (1-866-246-9453), or on the Internet, at http://www.fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov/.