600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091
Archived documents do not reflect current WDFW regulations or policy and may contain factual inaccuracies.
November 20, 2012
Contact: Sandy Mealing, State Parks: (360) 902-8559
Diana Lofflin, DNR: (360) 902-1169
Margaret Ainscough, WDFW: (360) 902-2408
Discover Pass: A great gift idea
New flexibility means buyers now may choose the start date
OLYMPIA - A new feature of the Discover Pass allows purchasers to choose the start date for the annual pass. The new feature makes the Discover Pass an excellent gift idea for family and friends who love the great outdoors.
The new "choose your date" option is available today to customers who buy the pass online at www.DiscoverPass.wa.gov or in-person from retailers who sell recreational licenses through the Washington Interactive Licensing Database (WILD) system. Retail vendor locations are listed on the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/licensing/vendors/.
At the time of purchase, the buyer can activate the pass immediately or on any day within one year of the purchase date.
The new option was passed into law in 2012 to allow greater flexibility to outdoor recreation enthusiasts, including those who want to give the pass as a gift.
"The Discover Pass is the ticket to some of Washington's most extraordinary places," said Gov. Chris Gregoire. "Giving buyers more flexibility makes the gift of access to Washington's beautiful recreation lands an even better choice this holiday season."
The Discover Pass, authorized by the Legislature and Governor in 2011, is required on motor vehicles accessing state parks and other state-managed recreation lands. It was adopted to support the operation of state recreation lands, including those managed the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR). State Parks receives 84 percent of Discover Pass revenue; WDFW and DNR each receive 8 percent.