600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091

This document is provided for archival purposes only.
Archived documents do not reflect current WDFW regulations or policy and may contain factual inaccuracies.
  Digg it!  StumbleUpon  Reddit

August 04, 1997
Contact: Margaret Ainscough, (360) 902-2408

Hunting raffle winners drawn

OLYMPIA -- Winning names have been drawn in a raffle sponsored by the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife for special permits to hunt deer, elk, bighorn sheep and moose.

The Legislature-approved raffle raised $65,130 for species management programs. The Friday drawing identified a winner and two alternate hunters for each species. The alternate hunters will be contacted if winning hunters decline to take part in the special hunts, which offer expanded dates and locations.

The winner of the deer raffle, drawn from 2,829 tickets, was Gene Snyder of Rochester. First alternate was Dan Yedinak of Orondo (Douglas County), and second alternate was Darrell McCorkle of Poulsbo.

In the elk raffle the winning ticket, among 5,079 sold, was held by Billy Rasmussen of Spangle (Spokane County). First alternate was Nicholas Yost of Tacoma and second alternate was Gregory Fontaine of Renton.

The winner of the moose raffle was Cory Henson of West Richland, whose ticket was drawn from a batch of 2,474. First alternate was John F. Druschba of Carnation and second alternate was David Lambert of Castle Rock.

The bighorn sheep raffle, which attracted 1,454 ticket buyers, was won by Bryan Bailey of Onalaska. First alternate was J. D. Fouts of Olympia and second alternate was Doug Lamb of Yakima.