600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091

This document is provided for archival purposes only.
Archived documents do not reflect current WDFW regulations or policy and may contain factual inaccuracies.
  Digg it!  StumbleUpon  Reddit

August 05, 2004
Contact: Susan Yeager, (360) 902-2267

Olympic Peninsula marine mammal veterinarian named to Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission

OLYMPIA - Dr. Pete Schroeder, a marine mammal veterinarian from Sequim, has been named to the Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission by Gov. Gary Locke.

Schroeder replaces Russ Cahill on the nine-member panel, which provides policy guidance to the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and appoints the department director. Cahill resigned last spring to volunteer for several political campaigns and to travel.

Schroeder, 68, earned his bachelor of science and doctorate of veterinary medicine degrees from Iowa State University. He has more than 30 years of experience in marine mammal veterinary work, serving in a number of private and government positions, including program manager for the U.S. Navy's primary laboratory for marine mammal research and development.

He is currently an active member of the Conservation Breeding Specialist Group of the Species Survival Commission of the World Conservation Union, and has worked under contract with NOAA-Fisheries for the Puget Sound Orca Recovery Plan and with the U.S. Navy on marine mammal necropsies.

Schroeder has served on a number of Olympic Peninsula boards and commissions, including the Dungeness River Management Team's executive committee, the Rotary Club of Port Angeles, the North Olympic Land Trust, the Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council, the North Olympic Regional Fisheries Enhancement Group, the Friends of the Fields Foundation and Healthy Families of Clallam County.

His term on the commission runs until Dec. 31, 2006.

In addition to Schroeder, the commission consists of Chair Will Roehl, Holly Ledgerwood, John A. Hunter, Ron Ozment, Lisa Pelly, Fred Shiosaki, Bob Tuck and R.P. "Van" Van Gytenbeek.