OLYMPIA – The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) is reminding hunters that reports on their hunting activities are due by Jan. 31 for each 2008 black bear, deer, elk, or turkey tag purchased.
Failure to meet the deadline can result in a fine.
On the other hand, unsuccessful hunters who submit their reports by Jan. 10, will be entered into a drawing for one of nine deer or elk special hunting permits for the 2009 season. The same is true for successful hunters who filed a report within 10 days of harvesting black bear, deer, elk, or turkey.
All hunters, whether successful or not, are required to submit activity reports.
Hunters can report by calling (877) 945-3492, or by the Internet at http://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov. Hunters should be prepared to give the game management unit they hunted and their individual WILD identification number, which is printed on license documents.
Hunters who miss the activity report deadline must pay a $10 penalty before they can purchase a 2009 hunting license.
The penalty, approved by the Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission in 2005, has greatly improved both hunter compliance with mandatory-reporting rules and the accuracy of harvest reporting, said Dave Ware, WDFW game manager.
“Hunter reports are an important source of information for managing the resource and developing future hunting seasons,” Ware said. “We encourage hunters to file their reports in time to qualify for the special-permit drawing.”