WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE
NEWS RELEASE
600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091

March 20, 2013
Contact: Dan Ayres, (360) 249-1209

  Digg it!  StumbleUpon  Reddit

Razor clam dig starts March 28;
more digs tentatively set for April

OLYMPIA State shellfish managers have approved a four-day razor clam dig starting March 28 and scheduled tentative dates for additional openings in April.

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) approved the late-March dig after marine toxin test showed the clams are safe to eat.

Twin Harbors beach will be open for morning razor clam digging March 28-31. Long Beach, Copalis and Mocrocks will be open to digging March 29-30.

No digging will be allowed at any beach after noon. The schedule, along with morning low tides, is:

  • March 28, Thurs., 7:57 a.m., -0.3 ft., Twin Harbors
  • March 29, Fri., 8:40 a.m., -0.6 ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis, Mocrocks
  • March 30, Sat., 9:26 a.m., -0.7 ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis, Mocrocks
  • March. 31, Sun., 10:16 a.m., -0.6 ft., Twin Harbors

By law, clam diggers are limited to 15 razor clams per day, and are required to keep the first 15 clams they dig. Each digger's clams must be kept in a separate container.

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2012-13 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFWs website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

Meanwhile, WDFW has tentatively scheduled two morning digs in April, subject to favorable marine toxin tests. Final word on these digs will be posted on WDFWs website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/current.html.

Dan Ayres, WDFW coastal shellfish manager, reminds diggers they will need to purchase a 2013-14 license to participate in the April openings, since current fishing licenses expire at midnight March 31. Licenses are available online (https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov/), by phone (1-866-320-9933) and from license dealers around the state.

Tentative opening dates in April, along with morning low tides, are:

  • April 9, Tues., 6:39 a.m., 0.0 ft., Twin Harbors
  • April 10, Wed., 7:19 a.m., -0.3 ft., Twin Harbors
  • April 11, Thurs., 7:57 a.m., -0.4 ft., Twin Harbors
  • April 12, Fri., 8:34 a.m., -0.4 ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis and Mocrocks
  • April 13, Sat., 9:11 a.m., -0.2, ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis and Mocrocks
  • April 14, Sun., 9:49 a.m., +0.1, ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis and Mocrocks

  • April 24, Wed., 6:10 a.m., -0.3 ft., Twin Harbors
  • April 25, Thurs., 6:54 a.m., -1.0 ft., Twin Harbors
  • April 26, Fri., 7:38 a.m., -1.5 ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis and Mocrocks
  • April 27, Sat., 8:24 a.m., -1.7 ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis and Mocrocks
  • April 28, Sun., 9:11 a.m., -1.7 ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach, Copalis and Mocrocks
  • April 29, Mon., 10:01 a.m., -1.5 ft., Twin Harbors, Long Beach and Mocrocks
  • April 30, Tues., 10:55 a.m., -1.0 ft., Twin Harbors