Search News Releases

Search mode:
"and" "or"
Search in:
Recent News Releases
(Last 30 days)
All News Releases
Emergency Fishing Rule Changes
Sport Fishing Rule Changes
Fish and Shellfish Health Advisories & Closures
Marine Biotoxin Bulletin
Beach closures due to red tide and other marine toxins
Local Fish Consumption Advisories
Health advisories due to contaminants
Fish Facts for Healthy Nutrition
Information on mercury, PCBs and other contaminants in fish
News Releases Archive
2014
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
2013
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
2012
Jan  Feb  Mar  Apr 
May  Jun  Jul  Aug 
Sep  Oct  Nov  Dec 
MORE ARCHIVES...
 

WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE     Print Version
NEWS RELEASE
600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091


  Digg it!  StumbleUpon  Reddit

September 10, 2007
Contact: Mik Mikitik, (360) 902-8111

Prospective hunters can now defer
hunter-education classes for one season

OLYMPIA – The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) is now accepting applications from beginning hunters seeking to defer state hunter-education requirements and hunt under the supervision of an experienced hunter.

The new deferral option, authorized by the 2007 Legislature, allows hunters to qualify for a once-in-a-lifetime, one-year deferral of hunter-education classes and hunt with an adult who has been licensed to hunt in Washington state for at least three years.

Beginning hunters who qualify can use the one-time deferral option during the current licensing season or in upcoming seasons, said Mik Mikitik, WDFW hunter education coordinator. The current licensing season runs through April 30, 2008.

“Every year, we hear from beginning hunters who just couldn’t attend classes, whether because of military service, family obligations or some other reason,” Mikitik said. “As in a number of other states, the new deferral option will allow prospective hunters to go afield, so long as they have an experienced hunter by their side.”

Without a deferral, hunter education training is required for all first-time hunters in Washington born after Jan. 1, 1972. In a typical year, more than 12,000 new hunters complete training in hunter education classes across the state, Mikitik said.

Application forms for the new deferral option are available on WDFW’s website (http://wdfw.wa.gov/enf/huntered/basichuntered.htm#deferral) or can be obtained by calling the department’s hunter education division at (360) 902-8111. A $20 application fee is required. Completed applications should be sent to:

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
Enforcement Program – Hunter Education Division
600 Capitol Way N.
Olympia, WA 98501-1091

For more information on state hunter education programs, see WDFW’s website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/enf/huntered/index.htm.