600 Capitol Way North, Olympia, WA 98501-1091
Archived documents do not reflect current WDFW regulations or policy and may contain factual inaccuracies.
September 17, 2002
Contact: Chuck Ray, Yakima, (509) 754-4624, ext. 23
or Joanne Wallach, Olympia, (360) 902-8112
New hunter education classes offered in Yakima area and Olympia
New hunter education classes, not listed in Washington's hunting rules pamphlet, are being offered this month and next in the Yakima area and Olympia.
Newly-trained volunteer instructors will conduct the classes to address a shortage of courses in Yakima County this year, said Chuck Ray, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) hunter education coordinator for eastern Washington.
All first-time hunters born after January 1, 1972 are required by Washington law to successfully complete a state-certified hunter education course before purchasing a hunting license.
Classes meet on the following dates:
- Sept. 21, 24, 26 and 28; at Chinook Sporting Goods in Yakima; $5 fee; register in person. Class limited to 25 students
- Sept. 30-Oct. 15 in Selah; contact Maggie Justice at (509) 6973122 to register. Class limited to 25 students
- Oct. 8-11, 14 and 15 in Yakima; contact Dave Harris at (509) 575-5519 to register; $2 fee. Class limited to 20 students
- Sept. 30-Oct. 5 in Olympia; register by Sept. 24 with Joanne Wallach, WDFW Hunter Education Program, at (360) 902-8112. Class limited to 20 students.
Other hunter education classes are listed by county on pages 70-72 of the WDFW's Big Game Hunting Seasons and Rules pamphlet, available at WDFW regional offices and license vendors, or on line on the Internet.