
 

RULE-MAKING ORDER CR-103P (May 2009) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency:   Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife 
. Permanent Rule Only 
Effective date of rule: 
 Permanent Rules     13-27 

 31 days after filing.  
 Other (specify)              (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be 

stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 
   Yes          No          If Yes, explain:        
 

Purpose:   Allows recreational anglers fishing for tuna species in Pacific Ocean waters outside three miles from shore to use 
multiple rods or lines per angler as long as the anglers do not possess any other species onboard the vessel.  This 
proposal also prohibits fishing for salmon for personal use with hand lines in Puget Sound east of the Sekiu River, and in 
the waters of Grays Harbor, Willapa Bay and the Columbia River.   These rules conform to federal regulations adopted by 
the National Marine Fisheries Service.  Finally, the proposal makes some minor technical changes, including moving a 
subsection and renumbering other subsections, to improve the rule’s clarity.  This reduces reader confusion. 

 
These changes conform state regulations to federal regulations.   Allowing multiple lines per angler while fishing for albacore 

maximizes access to the resource in the waters adjacent to Washington state but does not compromise that status of the 
resource.     

 

Citation of existing rules affected by this order: 
    Repealed:  
    Amended: WAC 220-56-115 
    Suspended:       

Statutory authority for adoption:  RCW 77.04.020, 77.12.045, and 77.12.047  

Other authority : 50 C.F.R. Part 660, Subpart K 

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 13-01-083   on December 18, 2012 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version:  N/A 
 

 
 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting:   

 Name:      
Address:      

phone  (   )                  
fax       (   )                  
e-mail                        
 

Date adopted:   March 6, 2013  
CODE REVISER USE ONLY 

 

NAME (TYPE OR PRINT) 
Philip Anderson 
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Note:    If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category.   

 
The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

 
Federal statute:  New        Amended 1  Repealed        

Federal rules or standards:  New        Amended      1  Repealed        

Recently enacted state statutes:  New        Amended        Repealed        

           

           

 
 
 
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 
 

  New        Amended        Repealed        

 
 
 
 
 
The number of sections adopted in the agency’s own initiative: 
 

  New        Amended 1  Repealed        

 
 
 
 
 
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 
 

  New        Amended        Repealed        

 
 
 
 
The number of sections adopted using: 
 

Negotiated rule making:  New        Amended        Repealed        

Pilot rule making:  New        Amended        Repealed        

Other alternative rule making:  New        Amended        Repealed        
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending Order 12-190, filed 8/23/12, effective

9/23/12)

WAC 220-56-115  Angling gear--Lawful and unlawful acts.  (1)

It is unlawful for any person to use more than one line while

angling for personal use, except:

(a) Anglers in possession of a valid two-pole endorsement may

use up to two lines while fishing in lakes, ponds, and reservoirs

open to fishing unless listed as an exception in WAC 220-55-220.

Anglers in possession of a valid two-pole endorsement may use up to

two lines while fishing in rivers and marine areas as noted in WAC

220-55-220 and 232-28-619.

(b) A second line using forage fish jigger gear is permissible

while fishing in Catch Record Card Areas 5, 6, 7, 8-1, 8-2, 9, 10,

11, 12, and 13.

(c) When fishing outside 3 miles from shore in Pacific Ocean

waters for tuna species, anglers are not restricted on the number

of rods or lines fished per angler, provided that no other species

are possessed onboard the vessel.  A violation of this subsection

is an infraction, punishable under RCW 77.15.160, Infractions.

(2) It is unlawful for any person to take, fish for, or

possess fish taken for personal use by any means other than angling

with a line attached to a pole held in hand while landing the

fish((,)) or with a hand-operated line without rod or reel, except

((as follows)):

(a) It is unlawful to fish for or possess salmon taken for

personal use with hand lines in marine waters of Puget Sound east

of the mouth of the Sekiu River and in Washington waters at the

mouth of the Columbia River east of a line projected true north and

south through Buoy 10, Grays Harbor, and Willapa Bay.

(b) It is permissible to leave ((the)) a pole in a pole holder

while playing or landing the fish if the pole is capable of being

readily removed from the pole holder.

(((b))) (c) It is permissible to use an electric power-

operated reel designed for sport fishing attached to a pole.

(((c) It is permissible to fish for or possess salmon taken

for personal use with hand lines (lines not attached to a handheld

pole), except that use of hand lines is unlawful in those waters

west of the mouth of the Sekiu River, the Pacific Ocean, Washington

waters at the mouth of the Columbia River west of a line projected

true north and south through Buoy 10, Grays Harbor, and Willapa

Bay.))

(3) It is unlawful for any person while angling to fail to

keep his angling gear under his or her direct and immediate

physical control.

(4) In areas where a saltwater license is valid, each fisher

aboard a vessel may continue to deploy angling gear or shellfish

gear until the daily limit of food fish or shellfish for all
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licensed anglers and juvenile anglers aboard has been retained.

(5) Violation of this section is an infraction, punishable

under RCW 77.15.160, unless the person has harvested fish or

shellfish.  If the person has harvested fish or shellfish, the

violation is punishable under RCW 77.15.380, Unlawful recreational

fishing in the second degree--Penalty, unless the fish or shellfish

are taken in the amounts or manner to constitute a violation of RCW

77.15.370, Unlawful recreational fishing in the first degree--

Penalty.

(6) It is unlawful to possess fish or shellfish taken with

gear in violation of the provisions of this section.  Possession of

fish or shellfish while using gear in violation of the provisions

of this section is a rebuttable presumption that the fish or

shellfish were taken with such gear.  Possession of such fish or

shellfish is punishable under RCW 77.15.380, Unlawful recreational

fishing in the second degree--Penalty, unless the fish or shellfish

are taken in the amounts or manner to constitute a violation of RCW

77.15.370, Unlawful recreational fishing in the first degree--

Penalty.


