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License revenue is 
critical to maintaining 
and increasing fishing
In 2015, the Washington Department of Fish 
and Wildlife (WDFW) asked people throughout 
the state to share their thoughts on what the 
department is doing right and where it can 
improve in the coming years. Thousands of 
people participated in this initiative, called 
“Washington’s Wild Future: A Partnership for Fish 
and Wildlife.”

People in the commercial industry focused on several themes, including a desire to maintain and enhance fisheries that 
are vital to the state’s economy and to dozens of Washington’s communities. The department drew on this feedback, as 
well as a need to help close the gap between future expenditures and projected funding, in developing its proposals that 
were discussed at several public workshops in August 2016.

The  proposal would generate about $4.2 million in revenue per year. About $900,000 would come from license fee 
changes; the remaining $3.3 million would come from the state General Fund and from redirecting revenue from current 
commercial license fees and an existing fish landing excise tax into the state Wildlife Account.

In developing the proposal, fishery managers used fee structures in neighboring states as a starting point for establishing 
a new framework for commercial fishing license fees in Washington. These proposals were submitted to the Governor’s 
Office in September for consideration during the 2017 legislative session.

•	Provide an equitable fee structure. A key goal of the 
proposal is to set fees that more accurately reflect the 
value of the fishery and management costs, including 
the relatively high cost of managing salmon seasons 
and other fisheries in waters where some fish stocks are 
protected under the federal Endangered Species Act. 

•	It would align commercial fishing license fees for 
residents and non-residents. Currently, fees for non-
resident commercial fishing licenses are higher than 
those for residents. The department is proposing changes 
that would equalize these fees. 

•	Crew members would now need to be licensed. 
Requiring all crew members to have a license to 
participate in commercial fisheries, similar to a 
requirement in Alaska and Oregon. 

•	Redirect revenue from commercial fishing license 
sales and an excise tax on landings of specific species. 
Revenue from the sale of commercial fishing licenses 
and from landings of enhanced food fish, including 
salmon and shellfish, would go to the non-restricted state 
Wildlife Account, instead of into the state General Fund.

•	Streamline license requirements for fish buyers and 
processors. Under the proposal, people would need 
to purchase a base license (Fish Dealer’s License) to 
broker and/or process fish and shellfish. Commercial 
buyers who purchase fish and shellfish from harvesters 
would then also be required to purchase a Wholesale 
Fish Buyer’s Endorsement.  Separately, commercial 
fishers who would like to sell their catch directly to 
market would need to purchase a Limited Fish Seller’s 
Endorsement when buying their annual commercial 
fishing license.  

How would the proposal alter the current commercial fishing license structure?



Commercial Fishing License Fee Proposal for 2017-19

Current Licenses for  
Fish Dealers & Buyers

   Current Fee Out-the-Door

Wholesale Fish Dealer $355

Fish Buyer’s License $200

Direct Retail Endorsement $155

Anadromous Game Fish Buyer $70

Proposed Licenses for  
Fish Dealers & Buyers

Proposed Fee Out-the-Door

Fish Dealer’s License $550

Wholesale Fish Buyer’s Endorsement $275

Limited Fish Seller’s Endorsement $175

License Type

Current 
Resident 
Fee Out-
the-Door

Current 
Non-Res 
Fee Out-
the-Door

Proposed 
Fee Out-
the-Door

Baitfish

Baitfish Lampara $255 $365 $365 

Baitfish Purse Seine $600 $1,055 $600 

Food Fish

Carp Gear $200 $255 $255 

Food Fish Drag Seine $200 $255 $255 

Non-Salmon Ocean Delivery $250 $340 $400 

Columbia River Smelt Gear $450 $755 $450 

Puget Sound Whiting Trawl $400 $625 $400 

Sardine Purse Seine $290 $400 $400 

Herring

Herring Dip Bag Net $245 $345 $345 

Herring Drag Seine $245 $345 $345 

Herring Gill Net $280 $380 $380 

Herring Lampara $245 $345 $345 

Herring Purse Seine $280 $380 $380 

Salmon

Salmon Ocean Delivery $585 $890 $585 

Puget Sound Salmon Gill Net $585 $890 $750 

Puget Sound Salmon Purse Seine $735 $1,190 $750 

Puget Sound Salmon Reef Net $585 $890 $750 

Salmon Troll $585 $890 $735 

Grays Harbor/Columbia River 
Salmon Gill Net

$585 $890 $585 

Willapa Bay/Columbia River Salmon 
Gill Net

$585 $890 $585 

License Type

Current 
Resident 
Fee Out-
the-Door

Current 
Non-Res 
Fee Out-
the-Door

Proposed 
Fee Out-
the-Door

Shellfish/Other

Ocean Delivery Pink Shrimp $255 $405 $405 

Sea Cucumber Dive $235 $290 $400 

Sea Urchin Dive $235 $290 $400 

Puget Sound Shrimp Trawl Perm $290 $400 $400 

Burrowing Shrimp $290 $400 $290 

Wild Shellfish Emerging $290 $400 $400 

Geoduck Dive $255 $365 $400 

Geoduck Tract $70 $70 $100 

Oyster Reserve $200 $255 $255 

Non-Shrimp Shellfish Pots $200 $255 $255 

Squid Gear $255 $365 $365 

Willapa Razor Clam Digger $235 $290 $235 

Dungeness Coastal Crab Pots (Perm) $520 $745 $550 

Dungeness Crab Puget Sound Pots $235 $290 $290 

Spot Shrimp Coastal $290 $400 $360 

Charter Stamp License

Salmon Charter $620 $925 $700 

Non-salmon Charter $330 $480 $400 

Charter Stamp $8.50 $8.50 $15 

Guide Stamp $8.50 $8.50 $15 

Guides

Food Fish Guide $220 $800 $480 

Game Fish Guide $250 $670 $480 

Miscellaneous 

Alternate Operator $105 $105 $205 

Emerging Commercial Fisheries $290 $400 $400 

Commercial Crew Member--Annual  n/a n/a $101 

Commercial Crew Member--5 Day Temp n/a n/a $29.50 


