The Interstate Wildlife Compact is an agreement that recognizes suspension of hunting, fishing, and trapping licenses in member states. This means that illegal activities in one state can affect a person’s hunting or fishing privileges in all participating states. Any person whose license privileges are suspended in a member state may also be suspended in Washington. If a person’s hunting, fishing or trapping privileges are suspended in Washington they may be suspended in member states as well. This cooperative interstate effort will enhance the ability of the Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife to protect and manage our fish and wildlife resources.

The Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact also establishes a process whereby fish and wildlife law violations by a nonresident from a member state are handled as if the person were a resident, meaning they can be served a ticket rather than being arrested, booked, and bonded. This process is a convenience for hunters, fishermen, and trappers of member states, and increases efficiency of Fish and Wildlife Officers by allowing more time for enforcement duties rather than violator processing procedures.

If a person plans to hunt, fish, or trap in another state, and they have a license suspension in Washington, it is their responsibility to contact the other state to see if they can legally hunt, fish, or trap there.

Current members of the Interstate Wildlife Compact include:
Alabama Indiana Missouri Tennessee
Alaska Iowa Montana Texas
Arizona Kansas Nevada Utah
Colorado Kentucky New Mexico Washington
Florida Louisiana  New York West Virginia
Georgia Maryland North Dakota Wisconsin
Idaho Michigan Ohio Wyoming
Illinois Minnesota Oregon  
California Mississippi South Dakota