Marine Protected Areas within Puget Sound

The Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) recognizes the value in setting aside certain areas of Puget Sound marine waters for the protection and preservation of species and/or habitat. These are generally known as Marine Protected Areas (MPAs). This web page provides links to specific information about the MPAs that WDFW administers, to information on the science of MPAs, and to other web sites about MPAs administered by a variety of agencies.

Click on an MPA name to view its details San Juan Channel EZ Haro Strait EZ Yellow & Low Islands Friday Harbor Shaw Island Argyle Lagoon False Bay Admiralty Head Keystone Harbor Brackett's Landing Shoreline Sanctuary Carkeek Park Golden Gardens Discovery Park Richey Viewpoint Emma Schmitz Memorial Lincoln Park City of Des Moines Park South 239th Street Park Saltwater State Park Colvos Passage Titlow Beach Z's Reef Saltar's Point Beach Orchard Rocks Waketickeh Creek Octopus Hole Sund Rock
Conservation Areas
Brackett's Landing Shoreline Sanctuary
City of Des Moines Park
Orchard Rocks
Octopus Hole
Saltar's Point Beach
South 239th Street Park
Sund Rock
Waketickeh Creek
Marine Preserves
Admiralty Head
Argyle Lagoon
Carkeek Park
Colvos Passage
Discovery Park
Emma Schmitz Memorial
False Bay
Friday Harbor
Golden Gardens Park
Lincoln Park
Richey Viewpoint
Saltwater State Park
Shaw Island
Titlow Beach
Yellow and Low Islands
Z's Reef
Sea Cucumber and Sea Urchin Commercial Harvest Exclusion Zones
Haro Strait
San Juan and Upright Channels