WDFW Online Sales and Services

Contact Licensing

List of endorsement fee waters
Frequently Asked Questions
Columbia River Salmon and Steelhead Recreational Angler Board
Columbia River Salmon Steelhead Endorsement - Wide Map
Columbia River Salmon Steelhead Endorsement - Zoom Map

Columbia River Salmon and Steelhead Endorsement

Providing Support for Continued and Expanded
Salmon and Steelhead Fishing Opportunities in the Columbia River Basin

Since  April 1, 2010,  anglers 15 years of age and older who fish for salmon and steelhead in the Columbia River and its tributaries have been required to purchase an  endorsement that helps maintain and improve fishing opportunities throughout the Columbia River Basin.

The Columbia River Recreational Salmon and Steelhead Program endorsement was authorized by Senate Bill 5421 during the 2009 Legislative session. The annual endorsement fee was one of several license fee changes approved by that Legislature to help offset a $30 million cutback in state funding for WDFW.

Funds generated from the $8.75 endorsement fee (including transaction and dealer fees) support needed management activities for continuation and expansion of selective fisheries in the Columbia River Basin.  These activities include fisheries enforcement, data collection, monitoring, and evaluation.

As of July 2016, more than 1.4 million endorsements have been sold, generating over $10.3 million in revenue. These funds have been used to maintain and improve recreational salmon and steelhead selective fisheries in the Columbia River and its tributaries. Specifically, the funds will support fishery management activities, including scientific monitoring and evaluation, data collection, permitting, reporting, and enforcement.

Without the revenue from this endorsement, and the guidance of the Columbia River Salmon and Steelhead Recreational Angler Board (CRSSRAB), many popular fisheries may not be possible or would be very limited.  The CRSSRAB provides recommendations to WDFW for implementation of projects funded by the endorsement stamp.  The Board is comprised of up to10 volunteers, appointed by the Director, representing the four WDFW jurisdictional regions   -- Eastern (1), Northcentral (2), Southcentral (3), and Southwest (5) -- which make up the Columbia River Basin.

Working with the CRSSRAB, WDFW has developed a list of rivers, lakes and other waters in the Columbia River Basin where the endorsement is required.

For more information, contact WDFW Fish Program 360-902-2700.

List of endorsement fee waters

Mainstem Columbia River from the Rocky Point/Tongue Point line to Chief Joseph Dam

Deep River (Wahkiakum County)

Grays River (Wahkiakum County)

  • Grays River, West Fork (Wahkiakum County)
  • Grays River, East Fork (Wahkiakum County)

Skamokawa Creek (Wahkiakum County)

Elochoman River (Wahkiakum County)

Mill Creek (Lewis County)

Abernathy Creek (Cowlitz County)

Germany Creek (Cowlitz County)

Coal Creek (Cowlitz County)

Cowlitz River (Cowlitz/Lewis Counties)

  • Blue Creek (Lewis County)
  • Lacamas Creek (Lewis County)
  • Mill Creek (Lewis County)
  • Olequa Creek (Lewis County)
  • Tilton River (Lewis County)
  • Tilton River, East Fork (Lewis County)
  • Tilton River, North Fork (Lewis County)
  • Tilton River, West Fork (Lewis County)
  • Tilton River, South Fork (Lewis County)
  • Mayfield Lake (Lewis County)
  • Lake Scanewa (Lewis County)
  • Cispus River (Lewis County)

Coweeman River (Cowlitz County)

Toutle River (Cowlitz County)

  • Toutle River, North Fork (Cowlitz County)
  • Toutle River, South Fork (Cowlitz County)
  • Green River (Cowlitz County)

Kalama River (Cowlitz County)

  • Gobar Creek (Cowlitz County)

Lewis River (Clark/Cowlitz Counties)

  • Lewis River, North Fork (Clark/Cowlitz Counties)
  • Lewis River, East Fork (Clark County)
  • Cedar Creek (Clark County)

Salmon Creek (Clark County)

Washougal River (Clark County)

Washougal River West (North) Fork (Clark County)

  • Little Washougal (Clark County)

Camas Slough (Clark County)

Drano Lake (Skamania County)

Hamilton Creek (Skamania County)

Rock Creek (Skamania County)

Wind River (Skamania County)

White Salmon River (Klickitat/Skamania Counties)

Klickitat River (Klickitat County)

Walla Walla River (Walla Walla County)

  • Mill Creek (Walla Walla County)

Touchet River (Columbia/Walla Walla Counties)

Grande Ronde River (Asotin County)

Snake River mainstem (Walla Walla/Franklin/Columbia/Whitman/Garfield/Asotin Counties)

  • Palouse River (Whitman County) (below the falls)

Tucannon River (Columbia/Garfield County)

Yakima River (Benton, Yakima, Kittitas Counties)

Wenatchee River (Chelan County)

Icicle River (Chelan County)

Lake Wenatchee (Chelan County)

Entiat River (Chelan County)

Chelan River

Methow River (Okanogan County)

Okanogan River (Okanogan County)

Lake Osoyoos (Okanogan County)

Similkameen River (Okanogan County)