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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife  (19-150) 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)       (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:       

Purpose: The purpose of this rule change is to adopt Washington Administrative Code for coastal recreational 

bottomfish and halibut fisheries that are consistent with regulations adopted by the Pacific Fishery Management 

Council (Council). 
 
WAC 220-314-020 Possession limits – Bottomfish 
Three changes would revise sub-limits and for bottomfish that are part of the aggregate daily bottomfish bag limit and remove 
the minimum size limit for cabezon. 
 
Remove the canary rockfish sublimit. The west coast canary rockfish population has rebuilt sufficiently to allow the retention 
of canary rockfish as part of the daily aggregate bottomfish limit. In recent years, WDFW has revised restrictions on canary 
rockfish retention in a conservative manner after being a prohibited species in recreational fisheries for many years.  
 
Reduce the cabezon sublimit to 1 in all coastal marine areas and remove the 18-inch size limit in Marine Area 4. This rule 
change would revise the cabezon sublimit so that it is one fish per day in all marine areas and allows anglers in Marine Area 
4 to keep the first cabezon, which reduces discards and streamlines regulations across management areas and simplifies 
rules for recreational anglers. 
 
Allow 3 flatfish in addition to the 9 daily bottomfish limit. This rule change is necessary to clarify current regulations so that it 
is clear that anglers can keep 3 flatfish (except Pacific halibut) per day that do not count toward their nine bottomfish daily 
aggregate limit but, that are in addition to it. The proposed rule change language better aligns with what is described in 
federal regulations. 
 
WAC 220-314-030 Halibut – Seasons – Daily and possession limits 
Regulation changes are necessary to revise depth restrictions in Marine Area 2 through 4. Federal harvest quotas for 
yelloweye rockfish in Washington are significantly higher for 2019 and 2020 compared to recent years, which allows some 
relaxation of depth restrictions, and provides access to healthy lingcod resources that are commonly associated with 
yelloweye rockfish.  These changes provide additional opportunity for recreational anglers and streamline the regulations by 
implementing the start of the 30-fathom depth restriction so it is the same as the opening day of the recreational bottomfish 
and lingcod season. 
 
WAC 220-314-040 Lingcod – Areas and Seasons 
This rule change aligns the opening of the lingcod season in Marine Area 4 with the opening of the recreational bottomfish 
and lingcod season in the other coastal management areas (Marine Areas 1-3). This change provides additional fishing 
opportunity for Washington recreational anglers to target lingcod approximately one month earlier than the current season 
opening. The rule change allows lingcod retention when halibut is onboard a vessel in Marine Area 1 north of the 
Washington border on all days open to the recreational halibut fishery, rather than just during the month of May as described 
in the current rule. In Marine Area 2, current regulations prohibit lingcod retention in a deepwater closed area; this rule 
change would allow lingcod retention in this deepwater area from June 1 through June 15 and from September 1 through 
September 15. Other revisions provide regulatory clarity by describing that the deepwater lingcod closures in Marine Areas 1 
and 2 are in effect when lingcod is open, rather than year round. 
WAC 220-220-150 Oregon license reciprocity 
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In 2018, changes to WAC 220-314-030 were implemented to reflect a new four fish annual limit for the recreational halibut 
fishery approved through the Pacific Fishery Management Council. The proposed change to WAC 220-220-150 expands the 
current rule language to include annual limits and improves the clarity and intent of the rule.  

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:          
Repealed:       
Amended: WAC 220-314-020 Possession Limits – Bottomfish 
                     WAC 220-314-030 Halibut – Seasons – Daily and possession limits 
                     WAC 220-314-040 Lingcod – Areas and Seasons 
                     WAC 220-220-150 Oregon license reciprocity 
Suspended:       

Statutory authority for adoption: RCWs 77.04.020, 77.12.045, and 77.12.047 

Other authority: CFR Title 50, Part 660 

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 19-10-72 on May 1, 2019 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Web site:       

Other:       

Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended 4 Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New        Amended  Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New        Amended      Repealed       
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The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

Date Adopted:  July 24, 2019 

 

Name: Kelly Susewind 
 

Title: Director, Dept. of Fish and Wildlife 

Signature: 
       

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-220-150  Oregon license reciprocity.  (1) A person may, 
from a vessel or other floating device, fish for game fish, food fish, 
unclassified fish, and shellfish, unless otherwise prohibited, from 
Pacific Ocean waters within three miles of the Washington coast from 
Leadbetter Point to the Washington-Oregon boundary, and from the con-
current waters of the Columbia River where the river forms the boun-
dary between Oregon and Washington if the person possesses a valid Or-
egon resident angling license or a valid Oregon resident shellfish li-
cense, but only if Oregon recognizes as valid a comparable Washington 
personal use license in Pacific Ocean waters within three miles of the 
Oregon coast from the Oregon-Washington boundary to Cape Falcon and 
the concurrent waters of the Columbia River.

(2) This reciprocity applies only to fishing from a vessel or 
other floating device. Fishing from the Washington shore requires a 
Washington personal use license.

(3) This reciprocity applies only to Oregon residents, and resi-
dents of other states must possess either a valid Washington license 
or a valid Oregon license to take game fish, food fish, unclassified 
fish, and shellfish from the waters of the respective states.

(4) Any game fish, food fish, unclassified fish, or shellfish 
landed into Washington must conform with current rules in effect for 
the point of landing including, but not limited to, daily limits, pos-
session limits, annual limits, size restrictions, and sex restric-
tions.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 18-23-070, filed 11/16/18, effective 
12/17/18)

WAC 220-314-020  Possession limits—Bottomfish.  It is unlawful 
for any person to fish for or take bottomfish for personal use except 
within the seasons, daily quantities and possession limits prescribed 
as follows:

(1) Coastal areas (Catch Record Card Areas 1 through 3 and 4 west 
of the Bonilla-Tatoosh line):

(a) Bottomfish fishing is open the second Saturday in March 
through the third Saturday in October, except fishing for surfperch 
from the shore is allowed year-round.

(b) Limit of surfperch ((and flatfish)) is 12 per person per day. 
For all other bottomfish, limit is 9 fish total per person per day, 
which may include no more than:

(i) Lingcod: 2 fish, no minimum length.
(ii) Rockfish: 7 fish in aggregate ((which can include up to two 

canary rockfish in Catch Record Card Areas 1 through 4)). The posses-
sion limit for yelloweye rockfish is 0.

(iii) Wolf-eel: 0 fish from Catch Record Card Area 4.
(iv) Cabezon: Marine Areas 1 through ((3: 2 fish. Marine Area 4: 

1 fish; the minimum size limit is 18 inches)) 4: 1 fish, no minimum 
size.

(c) Additional flatfish: In addition to the bottomfish limit in 
(b) of this subsection, anglers may take 3 flatfish per person, per 
day, not to be counted towards the bottomfish limit but in addition to 
it.

(2) Inner Puget Sound (Catch Record Card Areas 4 east of the Bo-
nilla-Tatoosh line, and 5 through 13):

(a) Catch Record Card Area 4 east of the Bonilla-Tatoosh line: 
Limit 10 fish total, which may include no more than:

(i) Lingcod: 2 fish, minimum length of 22 inches.
(ii) Rockfish: 6 fish. Only black or blue rockfish may be re-

tained.
(iii) Wolf-eel: 0 fish.
(iv) Cabezon: 1 fish; the minimum size limit is 18 inches.
(b) Catch Record Card Areas 5 and 6: 15 fish total for all spe-

cies and species groups of bottomfish, which may include no more than:
Rockfish in Marine Area 5 
except

 1 fish May 1 through 
September 30. Only 

black or blue rockfish 
may be retained.

in Marine Area 5 west of 
Slip Point

 3 fish. Only black or 
blue rockfish may be 

retained.
in Marine Area 6.  0 fish
Surfperch  10 fish
Pacific cod  2 fish
Pollock  2 fish
Flatfish (except halibut)  15 fish
Lingcod  1 fish
Wolf-eel   0 fish
Cabezon  1 fish
Pacific hake  2 fish
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(c) Catch Record Card Area 7: 15 fish total for all species of 
bottomfish, which may include no more than:

Rockfish  0 fish
Surfperch  10 fish
Pacific cod  2 fish
Flatfish (except 
halibut)

 15 fish

Lingcod  1 fish
Wolf-eel  0 fish
Cabezon  1 fish
Pollock  2 fish
Pacific hake  2 fish

(d) Catch Record Card Areas 8-1 through 11 and 13: 15 fish total 
for all species and species groups of bottomfish, which may include no 
more than:

Rockfish   0 fish
Surfperch  10 fish
Pacific cod  0 fish
Pollock  0 fish
Flatfish (except 
halibut)

 15 fish

Lingcod  1 fish
Wolf-eel  0 fish
Cabezon  1 fish
Pacific hake  0 fish

(e) Catch Record Card Area 12: 15 fish total for all species and 
species groups of bottomfish, which may include no more than:

Rockfish   0 fish
Surfperch  0 fish
Pacific cod  0 fish
Pollock  0 fish
Flatfish (except 
halibut)

 15 fish

Lingcod  0 fish
Wolf-eel  0 fish
Cabezon  0 fish
Pacific hake  0 fish

(f) The possession limit for lingcod taken by angling gear is 26 
to 36 inches in length. For spear fishing, lingcod may not be pos-
sessed that exceed 36 inches in length.

(g) In Marine Areas 5 through 11 and 13, the minimum size limit 
for cabezon is 18 inches. All cabezon must be released in Catch Record 
Card Areas 5 through 11 and 13 from December 1 through April 30.

(h) In Catch Record Card Area 5, the daily limit for rockfish is 
the first legal rockfish caught, except that west of Slip Point, the 
daily limit for rockfish is the first three legal rockfish caught. On-
ly black or blue rockfish may be retained. After the daily limit of 
rockfish is caught, all subsequent rockfish must be released.
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(i) In Catch Record Card Area 5, it is unlawful to take rockfish 
by spear fishing except when this area is open to spear fishing for 
lingcod.

(3) The possession limit at any time may not exceed the equiva-
lent of two daily limits in fresh, frozen or processed form.

(4) Unless otherwise provided, bottomfish fishing is open the en-
tire year.

(5) Daily limits include bottomfish caught in adjacent areas bor-
dering other states, such as Oregon.

(6) It is unlawful to fish for, retain, or possess sixgill, sev-
engill, or thresher sharks.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 18-23-070, filed 11/16/18, effective 
12/17/18)

WAC 220-314-030  Halibut—Seasons—Daily and possession limits. 
(1) It is unlawful to fish for or possess halibut taken for personal 
use except from the areas or in excess of the amounts provided for in 
this section:

(a) Catch Record Card Area 1: Closed except as provided by emer-
gency rule. By-catch restriction: It is unlawful during any vessel 
trip to bring into port or land bottomfish, except flatfish, sablefish 
((and)), Pacific cod, and lingcod north of the Washington-Oregon bor-
der if the vessel has brought halibut into port or landed halibut.

(b) Catch Record Card Area 2:
(i) The northern near shore fishery takes place in those waters 

from 47°31.70'N. lat. south to 46°58.00'N. lat. and east of a boundary 
line approximating the 30 fathom depth contour as defined by the fol-
lowing coordinates:

47°31.70'N. lat., 124°37.03'W. long.
47°25.67'N. lat., 124°34.79'W. long.
47°12.82'N. lat., 124°29.12'W. long.
46°58.00'N. lat., 124°24.24'W. long.
Closed except as provided by emergency rule.
(ii) All other waters in Area 2 - Closed except as provided by 

emergency rule.
(iii) From the second Saturday in March ((15)) through ((June 

15)) May 31, it is unlawful to fish for or possess ((bottomfish, ex-
cept rockfish)) lingcod, seaward of line approximating the 30-fathom 
depth contour as defined by the coordinates below. However, a person 
may fish for and retain ((sablefish and Pacific cod from May 1 through 
June 15 and retain)) lingcod on days open during the primary halibut 
season as described in (b)(ii) of this subsection, seaward of a line 
approximating the 30-fathom depth contour as defined by the coordi-
nates below:

47°31.70'N. lat., 124°37.03'W. long.
47°25.67'N. lat., 124°34.79'W. long.
47°12.82'N. lat., 124°29.12'W. long.
46°52.94'N. lat., 124°22.58'W. long.
46°44.18'N. lat., 124°18.00'W. long.
46°38.17'N. lat., 124°15.88'W. long.
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(c) Catch Record Card Areas 3 and 4 west of Bonilla-Tatoosh line 
- Closed except as provided by emergency rule. The following area 
southwest of Cape Flattery is closed to halibut fishing at all times:

Those waters within an eastward-facing C-shaped closed area de-
fined as: Beginning at 48°18'N. lat., 125°18'W. long.; thence to 
48°18'N. lat., 124°59'W. long.; thence to 48°11'N. lat., 124°59'W. 
long.; thence to 48°11'N. lat., 125°11'W. long.; thence to 48°04'N. 
lat., 125°11'W. long.; thence to 48°04'N. lat., 124°59'W. long.; 
thence to 48°00'N. lat., 124°59'W. long.; thence to 48°00'N. lat., 
125°18'W. long.; thence to the point of origin.

It is unlawful to fish for or possess bottomfish seaward of a 
line approximating the 20-fathom depth contour as defined by the fol-
lowing coordinates, from ((May)) June 1 through Labor Day except, on 
days and times open to halibut fishing ((when only)), it is permissi-
ble to retain lingcod, sablefish, and Pacific cod ((can be retained)). 
The retention of yellowtail rockfish and widow rockfish is permitted 
seaward of the line approximating 20 fathoms on days open to the rec-
reational salmon fishery during the months of July and August:

48°23.9'N. lat., 124°44.2'W. long.
48°23.6'N. lat., 124°44.9'W. long.
48°18.6'N. lat., 124°43.6'W. long.
48°18.6'N. lat., 124°48.2'W. long.
48°10.0'N. lat., 124°48.8'W. long.
48°02.4'N. lat., 124°49.3'W. long.
47°37.6'N. lat., 124°34.3'W. long.
47°31.7'N. lat., 124°32.4'W. long.
(d) Catch Record Card Area 4 east of the Bonilla-Tatoosh line, 

closed except as provided by emergency rule. It is unlawful to fish 
for or possess bottomfish seaward of a line approximating 120 feet ex-
cept, on days open to the Pacific halibut fishery in this area, it is 
permissible to retain lingcod, and Pacific cod seaward of 120 feet as 
defined by WAC 220-314-010.

(e) Catch Record Card Areas 5 through 13 - On days that the hali-
but fishery is open, it is lawful to fish for, retain, and possess 
lingcod and Pacific cod seaward of 120 feet in Catch Record Card 
Area((s 5 and 6)) 5. Closed except as provided by emergency rule.

(2) Daily limit is one halibut taken from state or offshore wa-
ters. This does not include Canadian waters; see WAC 220-310-210 for 
limits on Canadian-origin halibut.

(3) The possession limit is two daily limits of halibut in any 
form, except the possession limit aboard the fishing vessel is one 
daily limit. See WAC 220-310-210 for rules on Canadian-origin halibut 
possession.

(4) The annual limit is four halibut taken from state or offshore 
waters. This does not include Canadian waters; see WAC 220-310-210 for 
limits on Canadian-origin halibut.

(5) It is unlawful to fish for, retain, possess, or land halibut 
into a port located within an area that is closed to halibut fishing. 
This does not include halibut caught in Canadian waters. See WAC 
220-310-210 for rules on Canadian-origin halibut possession.

(6) A violation of this section is punishable under RCW 77.15.370 
or 77.15.380, depending on the violation.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-17-045, filed 8/10/17, effective 
9/10/17)

WAC 220-314-040  Lingcod—Areas and seasons.  It is unlawful to 
take, fish for, or possess lingcod for personal use except during the 
following seasons and areas:

(1) Coastal area:
(a) Catch Record Card Areas 1 through 3 and 4 west of the Bonil-

la-Tatoosh line: From the second Saturday in March, through the third 
Saturday in October; and

(b) Catch Record Card Area 4 east ((and west)) of the Bonilla-Ta-
toosh line: April 16 through October 15.

(c) It is unlawful to fish for, retain, or possess lingcod in 
Catch Record Card Area 1 seaward of a line extending from 46°38.17'N. 
lat., 124°21.00'W. long. to 46°33.00'N. lat., 124°21.00'W. long. 
((year-round)) when lingcod is open.

(d) It is unlawful to fish for, retain, or possess lingcod in 
Catch Record Card Area 2 seaward of a line extending from 47°31.70'N. 
lat., 124°45.00'W. long. south to 46°38.17'N. lat., 124°30.00'W. long. 
((year-round)) when lingcod is open, except that lingcod may be taken, 
retained and possessed seaward of the line on days open during the 
primary halibut season and from June 1 through June 15 and September 1 
through September 15.

(2) Catch Record Card Areas 5 through 13: May 1 through June 15 
by angling, and May 21 through June 15 by spear fishing.
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