
See second page for undesignated crew member licenses(s) 
 

 
 
WDFW-820 (Rev. 3-2019) 

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife 

Application for Commercial Fishery  

License for the Year  _______ 
 
 
 
 

Department Use 

License Number Payment Receipt 

License Type 
 

SQUID 
Resident 

$405 
 

Non-Resident 

$790 
 

DFW Vessel Registration 

 

Gear Species License District 

 SQUID Coast  Grays Harbor Other  Puget Sound Willapa Harbor 

Designated Vessel information 
Vessel Name State or Documentation Number Hull Identification Number 

Overall Length Beam Horsepower 

 Gas 

 Diesel 

Net tonnage Gross tonnage 
 Fathometer 

 Loran 

 Radar 

10 inch number 

 

License Owner  Primary Operator 
Last Name                               First Name                                 Middle Initial  Last Name                     First Name                              Middle Initial 

Physical Address  Birthdate Sex Hair Eyes Weight Height 

Mailing Address  Social Security Number 

City                                                      State                                Zip   

Phone Number  Alternate Operator (optional) 

Last Name                            First Name                               Birthdate 

SSN or UBI # 

 
 Last Name                            First Name                               Birthdate 

 I have been a resident of Washington for the previous 

      90 days and am not licensed as a resident in any other state. 

 I am not a resident of Washington State. 

 
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the law of the state of 
Washington that the above information is true and correct. Providing false 
information may invalidate this license. 

 
 

Signature                                                                                  Date 

 
 

Print Name 

 Make fees payable to Department of Fish & Wildlife (WDFW) 
 
Mailing address 
Department of Fish & Wildlife 
Commercial Licensing 
PO Box 43154 
Olympia WA 98504 
 
If using Fed ex or UPS please use 
Physical Address 
1111 Washington St SE Olympia WA 98501 
PHONE 360-902-2464  TDD 360-902-2207 
FAX 360-902-2945 
EMAIL commercialsales@dfw.wa.gov 

mailto:commercialsales@dfw.wa.gov


 

WAC 220-340-770 

Commercial squid fishery. 

(1) It is lawful at any time to take or fish for squid for commercial purposes with drag seine gear not exceeding 

350 feet in length and having meshes of not less than 1-1/4 inches stretch measure, dip bag net, brail, and squid jigging 

gear. Dip bag net and brail may not exceed 10 feet in diameter nor have a mesh less than one inch stretch measure. 

Other gear may be used to fish for squid commercially if authorized by a permit issued by the director. 

(2) Food fish, other shellfish except octopus, and squid eggs caught while fishing for squid must be returned to 

the water immediately. It is lawful to retain for commercial purposes squid taken incidental to another commercial fishery. 

(3) Each vessel fishing for squid may use a lighting system with a combined power of not more than 10 kilowatts 

(10,000 watts). Lights of 200 watts or greater must be shielded and may not be directed to any point more than 100 feet 

from the vessel while fishing for or attracting squid. 

(4) It is unlawful to fish for squid for commercial purposes within 1/4 mile of the shoreline of an incorporated city or 

town. 

(5) Licensing: A squid fishery license is the license required to operate the gear provided for in this section. 

[Statutory Authority: RCW 77.04.012, 77.04.013, 77.04.020, 77.04.055, and 77.12.047. WSR 17-05-112 (Order 17-04), amended and recodified as § 

220-340-770, filed 2/15/17, effective 3/18/17. Statutory Authority: RCW 75.08.080. WSR 94-12-009 (Order 94-23), § 220-52-066, filed 5/19/94, effective 

6/19/94; WSR 84-08-014 (Order 84-24), § 220-52-066, filed 3/27/84; WSR 80-13-064 (Order 80-123), § 220-52-066, filed 9/17/80; Order 807, § 220-52-

066, filed 1/2/69, effective 2/1/69. Formerly WAC 220-52-060 (5) and (6).] 

You can select up to TWO undesignated crewmember licenses:  

 
Resident Crewmember License [Qty____ x $35 = $________ ]  

 
Non-Resident Crewmember License [Qty____ x $110 = $_______ ]  

 
Non-Resident Albacore Tuna Crew License [Qty____ x $35 = $________ ]  

 
TOTAL $_________  

 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.04.012
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.04.013
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.04.020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.04.055
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.12.047
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=75.08.080

