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REPEALER
The following section of the Washington Administrative Code is 

repealed:
WAC 220-305-050 Requirements to possess Indian caught 

anadromous game fish or roe.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-340-420  Commercial crab fishery—Unlawful acts.  (1) 
Crab size and sex restrictions. It is unlawful for any person acting 
for commercial purposes to take, possess, deliver, or otherwise con­
trol:

(a) Any female Dungeness crab; or
(b) Any male Dungeness crab measuring less than 6-1/4 inches, 

caliper measurement, at the widest part of the shell immediately in 
front of the points (tips).

(2) Violation of subsection (1) of this section is a gross misde­
meanor or class C felony depending on the value of fish or shellfish 
taken, possessed, or delivered, punishable under RCW 77.15.550 (1)(c).

(3) Incidental catch may not be retained. It is unlawful to re­
tain salmon, food fish, or any shellfish other than octopus that is 
taken incidental to any commercial crab fishing.

(4) Net fishing boats must not have crab on board. It is unlawful 
for any person to possess any crab on board a vessel geared or equip­
ped with commercial net fishing gear while fishing with the net gear 
for commercial purposes or while commercial quantities of food fish or 
shellfish are on board. Violation of this subsection is a gross misde­
meanor or class C felony punishable under RCW 77.15.550(1), depending 
on the quantity of crab taken or possessed.

(5) Area must be open to commercial crabbing. It is unlawful for 
any person to set, maintain, or operate any baited or unbaited shell­
fish pots or ring nets for taking crab for commercial purposes in any 
area or time that is not open for commercial crabbing by rule of the 
department, except when acting lawfully under the authority of a valid 
gear recovery permit as provided in WAC 220-340-450.

(6) Violation of subsection (5) of this section is a gross misde­
meanor or class C felony punishable under RCW 77.15.550, or a gross 
misdemeanor punishable under RCW 77.15.522 depending on the circum­
stances of the violation.

(7) When it is unlawful to buy or land crab from the ocean with­
out a crab vessel inspection. It is unlawful for any fisher((, whole­
sale dealer,)) or wholesale fish buyer to land or purchase Dungeness 
crab taken from Grays Harbor, Willapa Bay, the Columbia River, or 
Washington coastal or adjacent waters of the Pacific Ocean from any 
vessel that has not been issued a Washington crab vessel inspection 
certificate during the first 30 days following the opening of a coast­
al crab season.

(a) Authorized department personnel will perform inspections for 
Washington crab vessel inspection certificates no earlier than 12 
hours prior to the opening of the coastal crab season and during the 
following 30-day period.

(b) A Washington crab vessel inspection certificate may be issued 
to vessels made available for inspection at a Washington coastal port 
that:

(i) Are properly licensed commercial crab fishing; and
(ii) Contain no Dungeness crab on board the vessel.
(8) Violation of subsection (7) of this section is a gross misde­

meanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.550 (1)(a) Violation of commercial 
fishing area or time—Penalty.
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(9) Coastal - Barging of crab pots by undesignated vessels. It is 
unlawful for a vessel not designated on a Dungeness crab coastal fish­
ery license to deploy crab pot gear except under the following condi­
tions:

(a) The vessel deploys pot gear only during the 64-hour period 
immediately preceding the season opening date and during the 48-hour 
period immediately following the season opening date;

(b) The undesignated vessel carries no more than 250 crab pots at 
any one time; and

(c) The primary or alternate operator of the crab pot gear named 
on the license associated with the gear is on board the undesignated 
vessel while the gear is being deployed.

(10) Violation of subsection (9) of this section is a gross mis­
demeanor or class C felony punishable under RCW 77.15.500 Commercial 
fishing without a license—Penalty, depending on the circumstances of 
the violation.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-340-520  Commercial shrimp fishery—Puget Sound.  (1) A 
Puget Sound shrimp pot license or a Puget Sound shrimp trawl license 
will only be issued to an individual who is a natural person, and this 
person shall be the primary operator. Holders of Puget Sound shrimp 
pot licenses and Puget Sound shrimp trawl licenses may designate a 
single alternate operator per license.

(2) It is unlawful to fish for shrimp for commercial purposes in 
Puget Sound using shellfish pot gear except during seasons opened by 
emergency rule:

(a) Gear restrictions -
(i) In all areas, maximum 100 pots per fisher except for dual li­

censees as provided for in RCW 77.70.410.
(ii) In all areas:
(A) Buoys must be orange in color and consist of durable material 

that will remain floating on the surface with five pounds attached; 
bleach or antifreeze bottles or other containers may not be used as 
floats.

(B) The line attaching the pot to the buoy must be weighted suf­
ficiently to prevent the line from floating on the surface.

(C) The maximum perimeter of shrimp pots must not exceed ten feet 
and the maximum height must not exceed two feet.

(D) It is unlawful to set or pull shrimp pot gear from one hour 
after official sunset to one hour before official sunrise.

(b) Spot shrimp size restriction: It is unlawful to retain spot 
shrimp taken by shellfish pot gear that have a carapace length less 
than 1 and 3/16 inches. Carapace length is defined as the length be­
tween the posterior mid-dorsal margin to the posterior-most part of 
the eye-stalk orbit.

(c) Area restrictions:
(i) Pot gear closed in all Puget Sound Shrimp Districts except 

the Port Townsend Shrimp District.
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(ii) Pot gear closed in Lopez Sound south of a line projected 
true east-west from the northern tip of Trump Island from the season 
opening through July 9th.

(3) It is unlawful to fish for shrimp for commercial purposes in 
Puget Sound using trawl gear except during seasons opened by emergency 
rule and authorized by a permit issued by the director.

(a) Gear restrictions - Beam trawl gear only. Otter trawl gear 
may not be used.

(i) Maximum beam width in Marine Fish-Shellfish Management and 
Catch Reporting Areas 20A, 20B, 21A, and 22A is 25 feet.

(ii) Maximum beam width in Marine Fish-Shellfish Management and 
Catch Reporting Areas 23A, 23B, 23C, 25A, 25B, and 29 is 60 feet.

(b) It is unlawful to retain spot shrimp.
(c) Area restrictions:
(i) Shrimp trawl fishing closed in all Puget Sound Shrimp Dis­

tricts.
(ii) Shrimp trawl fishing closed in Lopez Sound south of a line 

projected true east-west from the northern tip of Trump Island from 
the season opening through July 9th.

(d) It is unlawful to fish for shrimp in Puget Sound with beam 
trawl gear in waters shallower than 100 feet.

(e) It is lawful to fish for shrimp in Puget Sound with beam 
trawl gear in Marine Fish-Shellfish Management and Catch Reporting 
Area 21A only in those waters north and west of a line from the south­
ern tip of Sinclair Island to Carter Point on Lummi Island.

(f) The following restrictions apply to shrimp beam trawl harvest 
in Marine Fish-Shellfish Management and Catch Reporting Area 20A:

(i) Closed in waters east of a line from the southwest corner of 
Point Roberts to Sandy Point.

(ii) Closed in waters shallower than 20 fathoms.
(g) It is unlawful to operate shrimp beam trawl gear in Puget 

Sound from one hour after official sunset to one hour before official 
sunrise.

(h) It is unlawful to fish for, retain, land or deliver shrimp 
taken with trawl gear without a valid Puget Sound shrimp trawl fishery 
permit.

(i) It is unlawful to take, retain, land, or deliver any shrimp 
taken with trawl gear without complying with all provisions of a Puget 
Sound shrimp trawl fishery permit.

(j) A violation of this subsection is punishable under RCW 
77.15.750.

(4) All shrimp taken in the Puget Sound commercial shrimp fishery 
must be landed and recorded on Washington state fish receiving tickets 
within 24 hours of harvest. No fisher may land shrimp without immedi­
ate delivery to a ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer, or if 
transferred at sea, without transfer to a ((licensed)) wholesale 
((dealer)) fish buyer. A fisher who is a ((licensed)) wholesale 
((dealer)) fish buyer or a limited fish seller may complete and return 
a fish receiving ticket to satisfy the requirements of this subsec­
tion.

(5) For purposes of shrimp pot harvest allocation, fishing sea­
son, and catch reporting, the Marine Fish-Shellfish Management and 
Catch Reporting Areas (catch areas) are modified as follows:

(a) That portion of Catch Area 22A south of a line due east from 
the international boundary to Lime Kiln Point light on San Juan Is­
land, then south of the shores of San Juan Island, then south of a 
line from Cattle Point on San Juan Island to Davis Point on Lopez Is­
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land, then south of the shores of Lopez Island to Point Colville shall 
be considered to be part of Catch Area 23A.

(b) Catch Area 23A is divided into four subareas:
(i) 23A-E (east) is those waters of Catch Area 23A east of 

122°57'W. Long. and north of 48°22.5'N. Lat.
(ii) 23A-W (west) is those waters of Catch Area 23A west of 

122°57'W. Long. and north of 48°22.5'N. Lat.
(iii) 23A-C (central) is those waters of Catch Area 23 south of 

48°22.5'N. Lat. and east of a line projected 335° true from the Dunge­
ness lighthouse.

(iv) 23A-S (south) is those waters of Catch Area 23A west of a 
line projected 335° true from the Dungeness lighthouse.

(c) Catch Area 26A is divided into two subareas:
(i) 26A-E (east) is those waters of Catch Area 26A north and east 

of a line projected 110 degrees true from the southern tip of Posses­
sion Point on Whidbey Island to the shipwreck on the opposite shore.

(ii) 26A-W (west) is those waters of Catch Area 26A south and 
west of a line projected 110 degrees true from the southern tip of 
Possession Point on Whidbey Island to the shipwreck on the opposite 
shore.

(d) Catch Area 26B is divided into two subareas:
(i) 26B-1 is those waters of Catch Area 26B westerly of a line 

projected from West Point to Alki Point.
(ii) 26B-2 is those waters easterly of a line projected from West 

Point to Alki Point.
(6) For purpose of shrimp trawl harvest allocation and catch re­

porting, 23A East is that portion of Catch Area 23A, east of a line 
projected true north from the Dungeness lighthouse. 23A West is that 
portion of Catch Area 23A, west of the line described herein.

(7) The following areas are defined as Puget Sound Shrimp Manage­
ment Areas:

(a) Shrimp Management Area 1A: Waters of Catch Area 20B west of a 
line from Point Doughty on Orcas Island to the bell buoy at the inter­
national boundary, and all waters of Catch Area 22A west of a line 
projected true north and south from the western tip of Crane Island, 
west of a line projected from the number 2 buoy at the entrance to 
Fisherman Bay to the southern tip of Shaw Island.

(b) Shrimp Management Area 1B: Waters of Catch Area 20B east of a 
line from Point Doughty on Orcas Island to the bell buoy at the inter­
national boundary, and waters of Catch Area 22A east of a line projec­
ted true north and south from the western tip of Crane Island, east of 
a line projected from the number 2 buoy at the entrance to Fisherman 
Bay to the southern tip of Shaw Island, and east of a line projected 
true south from Point Colville, and all waters of Catch Area 21A north 
and west of a line from the southern tip of Sinclair Island to Carter 
Point on Lummi Island.

(c) Shrimp Management Area 1C: Waters of Catch Areas 20A, 21B, 
22B, and waters of Catch Area 21A not included in Management Area 1B.

(d) Shrimp Management Area 2E: Waters of Catch Areas 24A, 24B, 
24C, 24D, and 26A-E (east).

(e) Shrimp Management Area 2W: Waters of Catch Areas 25B, 25C, 
25D, and 26A-W (west).

(f) Shrimp Management Area 3: Waters of Catch Areas 23A, 23B, 
23C, 23D, 25A, 25E, and 29.

(g) Shrimp Management Area 4: Waters of Catch Areas 26B and 26C.
(h) Shrimp Management Area 5: Waters of Catch Areas 27A, 27B, and 

27C.
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(i) Shrimp Management Area 6: Waters of Catch Areas 26D, 28A, 
28B, 28C, and 28D.

(8) In Shrimp Management Areas 1A, 1B and 1C, all catch must be 
reported by Management Area and Catch Area combined, either 1A-20B, 
1A-22A, 1B-20B, 1B-21A, 1B-22A, 1C-20A, 1C-21A, 1C-21B, or 1C-22B.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-010  Fish receiving ticket definitions.  The follow­
ing definitions apply to this chapter:

(1) (("Broker" means a person whose business it is to bring a 
seller of fish and shellfish and a purchaser of those fish and shell­
fish together. A broker is not required to have a wholesale fish deal­
er's license if the fish or shellfish only transit the state of Wash­
ington, and no storage, handling, processing, or repackaging occurs 
within the state.

(2) A broker who takes physical possession of fish or shellfish 
is an original receiver and must complete a fish receiving ticket. A 
broker acting strictly as an intermediary is not required to complete 
a fish receiving ticket for fish or shellfish that are delivered to an 
original receiver in the state of Washington. A broker must complete a 
fish receiving ticket for brokering an interstate or foreign sale from 
a Washington fisher who is not a holder of a direct retail endorse­
ment, or a sale of fish or shellfish that have entered the state from 
another state, territory, or country, if the fish or shellfish are 
placed into interstate or foreign commerce without having been deliv­
ered to an original receiver in the state of Washington.

(3))) "Department" means the Washington Department of Fish and 
Wildlife, Fish Program - Commercial Harvest Data Team, 600 Capitol Way 
North, Olympia, Washington 98501-1091.

(((4))) (2) "Delivery" means arrival at a place or port and in­
cludes arrivals from offshore waters to waters within the state, ar­
rivals ashore from state or offshore waters, and arrivals within the 
state from interstate or foreign commerce.

(((5))) (3) "Electronic fish receiving ticket" means the ground­
fish catch reporting system described in 50 C.F.R., Part 660 that is 
used to submit harvest and fishing information to the department and 
the National Marine Fisheries Service.

(((6))) (4) "Fish" means food fish classified under WAC 
220-12-010 and game fish ((taken by treaty fishers and sold commer­
cially)) classified under WAC 220-300-380.

(((7))) (5) "Fish broker" means a person who facilitates the sale 
or purchase of raw or frozen fish or shellfish on a fee or commission 
basis, without assuming title to the fish or shellfish and is required 
to have a fish dealer license.

(a) A broker is not required to have a fish dealer license if the 
fish or shellfish only transit the state of Washington, and no stor­
age, handling, processing, or repackaging occurs within the state.

(b) A broker who takes physical possession of fish or shellfish 
is an original receiver and must complete a fish receiving ticket. A 
broker acting strictly as an intermediary is not required to complete 
a fish receiving ticket for fish or shellfish that are delivered to an 
original receiver in the state of Washington.

(c) A broker must complete a fish receiving ticket for brokering 
an interstate or foreign sale from a Washington commercial fisherman 
when:

(i) The fisherman is not a holder of a limited fish seller en­
dorsement; or

(ii) The sale involves fish or shellfish that have entered the 
state from another state, territory, or country, and the fish or 
shellfish are placed into interstate or foreign commerce without first 
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having been delivered to an original receiver in the state of Washing­
ton.

(6) "Fish buyer," ((or)) "buyer," or "wholesale fish buyer" means 
a person who ((receives)):

(a) Takes first possession or ownership of fish or shellfish 
((and who is required to complete a fish receiving ticket. A wholesale 
fish dealer or a retail seller who)) directly ((receives fish or 
shellfish taken by)) from a commercial fisher((, or receives)) that is 
landed into the state of Washington; or

(b) Takes first possession or ownership of raw or frozen fish or 
shellfish in the state of Washington from interstate or foreign com­
merce ((is acting in the capacity of a buyer and is required to com­
plete a fish receiving ticket. A buyer who is acting)); or

(c) Engages in the wholesale buying or selling of fish or shell­
fish harvested by fishers exercising treaty rights; or

(d) Acts as an agent for a wholesale fish ((dealer is required to 
have a fish buyer's license issued by the department.

(8))) buyer, to include purchasing or receiving fish or shellfish 
on a contractual basis.

(7) "Fish receiving ticket" means a document produced by the de­
partment for commercial catch accounting purposes and includes elec­
tronic fish tickets, nontreaty fish receiving tickets, such as Puget 
Sound salmon, troll, marine, utility, and shellfish receiving tickets; 
treaty Indian fish receiving tickets; and treaty Indian shellfish re­
ceiving tickets.

(((9))) (8) "Fisher" means a person engaged in commercial fishing 
activities.

(((10))) (9) "Fresh" means unprocessed and unfrozen, regardless 
of whether the fish or shellfish are in the round, cleaned, or pack­
aged for retail sale.

(((11))) (10) "Frozen" means completely frozen throughout. Flash 
frozen and surface glaze frozen fish and shellfish are unfrozen fish 
and shellfish.

(((12))) (11) "Nontreaty" means all entities not qualified by 
definition as "treaty."

(((13) ")) (12) Except as provided, "original receiver" or "re­
ceiver" means a person who holds a wholesale fish buyer endorsement or 
a limited fish seller endorsement. Except as provided, an original re­
ceiver means the first person in possession of fish or shellfish in 
the state of Washington who is acting in the capacity of a buyer((.)):

(a) A fisher who is not the holder of a ((direct retail)) limited 
fish seller endorsement and who sells fish or shellfish to anyone oth­
er than a ((dealer)) wholesale fish buyer, or a fisher who delivers 
fish or shellfish and places the fish or shellfish into interstate or 
foreign commerce, is the original receiver of the fish or shell­
fish((.));

(b) A cold storage facility that holds fish or shellfish for a 
fisher is not an original receiver, provided that the facility does 
not process, package, or otherwise handle the fish or shellfish((.));

(c) A person transporting fish or shellfish on behalf of a fish­
er, and who is in possession of an accurately completed commercial 
food fish and shellfish transportation ticket, is not an original re­
ceiver, provided that the fish or shellfish are transported only to a 
cold storage facility or to a wholesale fish buyer.

(((14))) (13) "Processed" means preparing and preserving and re­
quires a ((wholesale)) fish ((dealer's)) buyer's license. Preserving 
includes treating with heat, including smoking and kippering. Cooked 
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crab is processed. Preserving also includes freezing fish and shell­
fish.

(((15))) (14) "Shellfish" means shellfish classified under WAC 
220-12-020.

(((16))) (15) "Treaty" and "treaty Indian," for purposes of fish 
receiving tickets only, means persons who are members of federally 
recognized Indian tribes who harvest fish or shellfish in Washington 
pursuant to an Indian treaty, whether such harvest is on or off reser­
vation.

(((17) "Wholesale fish dealer" or "dealer" means a person who, 
acting for commercial purposes, takes possession or ownership of fish 
or shellfish and sells, barters, or exchanges or attempts to sell, 
barter, or exchange fish or shellfish that have been landed into the 
state of Washington or entered the state of Washington in interstate 
or foreign commerce. A wholesale fish dealer must be licensed. A fish­
er who is not a holder of a direct retail endorsement and sells fish 
or shellfish to anyone other than a wholesale fish dealer is required 
to have a wholesale dealer's license. A retail seller who receives 
fish or shellfish in interstate or foreign commerce, or from a person 
who is not a wholesale fish dealer, is required to have a wholesale 
fish dealer's license.

(18))) (16) "Working day" means Monday through Friday, exclusive 
of a Washington state or federal holiday.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-030  ((When)) State of Washington fish receiving 
tickets ((are))—When not required—Unlawful acts.  ((State of Washing­
ton fish receiving tickets are not required for:))

(1) ((Purchase or delivery of)) It is unlawful for a person to 
fail to complete a fish receiving ticket upon purchasing or receiving 
fish or shellfish ((from a wholesale dealer or holder of a direct re­
tail endorsement, provided the dealer or holder has)) unless the fish 
or shellfish have previously ((prepared)) been documented on a comple­
ted fish receiving ticket. ((For such purchase or delivery, it is un­
lawful for the person taking possession of the)) This section does not 
apply to:

(a) Fish or shellfish ((to fail to obtain the name, address, 
dealer number, or direct retail endorsement number, together with 
sales receipt documents sufficient to show the quantity of fish or 
shellfish and date of transaction,)) purchased from a licensed whole­
sale fish buyer or limited fish seller provided that the receiver or 
buyer complies with the recordkeeping requirements under RCW 77.15.568 
and retains this information with the fish or shellfish.

(((a) Violation of this subsection by a wholesale dealer is a 
gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.640.

(b) Violation of this subsection by a retail fish seller is a 
misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.568.

(2))) (b) Fish or shellfish purchased at retail.
(c) Fresh or frozen fish or shellfish that are in transit through 

the state of Washington, if no storage, handling, processing, or re­
packaging occurs within the state.
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(((3))) (2) Private sector cultured aquatic products.
(((4))) (3) Processed fish or shellfish except frozen fish or 

shellfish not previously delivered in another state, territory or 
country.

(((5))) (4) Any importation of fish that are not classified food 
fish under WAC 220-300-370 or importation of shellfish that are not 
classified shellfish under WAC 220-370-010.

(5) Violation of this subsection by a wholesale fish buyer is a 
gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.640.

(6) Violation of this subsection by a limited fish seller is a 
gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.640.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-160  Fish receiving ticket accountability.  (1) Only 
current state of Washington fish receiving tickets may be used.

(2) Official state of Washington fish receiving tickets may be 
ordered free of charge from the department.

(3) It is unlawful:
(a) To fail to use fish receiving ticket books and fish receiving 

tickets in numerical sequence, starting with the lowest numbered tick­
et issued to the original receiver;

(b) For a wholesale fish buyer to transfer fish receiving tickets 
((or ticket books from one original receiver to another original re­
ceiver without)), except to another licensed wholesale fish buyer or 
limited fish seller with written permission from the department;

(c) For any purchaser or receiver terminating business to fail to 
notify the department in writing and to fail to return all unused fish 
receiving tickets and ticket books to the department within thirty 
days after termination of business;

(d) To fail to return the state copy of all fish receiving tick­
ets to the state. All fish receiving tickets that are incorrectly made 
out, voided, or otherwise unused, must be submitted to the department 
accompanying, and in sequence with, other fish receiving tickets;

(e) To fail to account for all lost, destroyed, or otherwise 
missing fish receiving tickets in writing to the department;

(f) ((To transfer fish receiving tickets to anyone who is not a 
licensed wholesale fish dealer, licensed fish buyer, or holder of a 
direct retail sale license endorsement;

(g))) For any person who is not a licensed wholesale fish ((deal­
er, licensed fish)) buyer, or holder of a ((direct retail sale li­
cense)) limited fish seller endorsement to have fish receiving tickets 
in his or her possession; and

(((h))) (g) For a wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer or holder of a 
((direct retail sale)) limited fish seller endorsement to fail to 
maintain the ((dealer)) buyer copy or copies of a completed fish re­
ceiving ticket at the ((dealer's)) buyer's or holder's regular place 
of business for three years after the date of use of the fish ticket.

(4) A violation of this section is punishable under RCW 
77.15.630, Unlawful fish and shellfish catch accounting—Penalty.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-12-105, filed 6/6/17, effective 
7/7/17)

WAC 220-352-180  Duties of commercial purchasers and receivers. 
(1) It is unlawful for any person originally receiving or buying 
fresh, iced, or frozen fish or shellfish, whether or not the fish or 
shellfish was previously delivered in another state, territory, or 
country, to fail to:

(a) Be a licensed wholesale fish ((dealer or fish)) buyer; and
(b) Immediately, completely, accurately, and legibly prepare the 

appropriate state of Washington fish receiving ticket for each and ev­
ery purchase or receipt of such commodities.

(i) The original receiver must record each delivery on a separate 
fish receiving ticket; and

(ii) The original receiver must prepare a fish receiving ticket 
for purchases of fish or shellfish from fishers who are also fish 
((dealers)) buyers if the ((fisher/dealer)) fisher or buyer has not 
previously completed a fish receiving ticket and provided a copy of 
the fish receiving ticket or the ticket number as proof.

(2) Failure to be licensed under subsection (1) of this section 
is punishable under RCW 77.15.620. Failure to properly prepare a fish 
receiving ticket is punishable under RCW 77.15.630.

(3) It is unlawful for the original receiver to fail to initiate 
the completion of the fish receiving ticket upon receipt of any por­
tion of a commercial catch. If delivery of the catch takes more than 
one day, the original receiver must enter the date that the delivery 
is completed on the fish receiving ticket as the date of delivery. If, 
for any reason, the delivery vessel leaves the delivery site, the 
original receiver must immediately enter the date the vessel leaves 
the delivery site on the fish receiving ticket.

(4) It is unlawful for any original receiver of shellfish to fail 
to record all shellfish aboard the vessel making the delivery to the 
original receiver. The poundage of any fish or shellfish that are un­
marketable, discards, or weigh backs must be shown on the fish receiv­
ing ticket and identified as such, but a zero dollar value may be en­
tered for those fish or shellfish.

(5) Any employee of a licensed wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer 
who is authorized to receive or purchase fish or shellfish for that 
((dealer)) buyer on the premises of the primary business address or 
any of its plant locations as declared on the license application, is 
authorized to initiate and sign fish receiving tickets on behalf of 
his or her employer. The business, firm, ((and/or)) or licensed whole­
sale fish ((dealer the buyers are operating under)) buyer that the re­
ceivers are operating under is responsible for the accuracy and legi­
bility of all documents initiated in ((its)) their name by any employ­
ee or agent.

(6) This section does not apply to purchases or receipts made by 
individuals or consumers at retail.

(7) Subsections (1) through (4) of this section do not apply to 
persons delivering or receiving fish taken by the directed commercial 
fisheries for Pacific Coast Groundfish authorized under 50 C.F.R., 
Part 660 if such persons are in compliance with the provisions of WAC 
220-352-050(5) and:

(a) Complete electronic fish receiving tickets prior to either 
processing fish or removing the fish from the delivery site;
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(b) Electronically submit the electronic fish receiving tickets 
to the National Marine Fisheries Service and the department no later 
than twenty-four hours after the date the fish are received; and

(c) Electronically submit any amendments made to the mandatory 
information required under WAC 220-352-120 after the initial submis­
sion required under (b) of this subsection.

(8) For purposes of this section;
(a) The term "completed" means that scale weights have been re­

corded for all delivered fish; and
(b) The term "submitted" means that all mandatory information re­

quired under WAC 220-352-120 has been entered and timelines under sub­
section (7)(b) of this section have been met.

(9) Forage fish and mackerel:
(a) It is unlawful for any person receiving forage fish or mack­

erel to fail to report the forage fish or mackerel on fish receiving 
tickets initiated and completed on the day the forage fish or mackerel 
are delivered.

(i) Herring must also be reported on herring harvest logs.
(ii) The harvested amount of forage fish or mackerel must be en­

tered upon the fish ticket when the forage fish are off-loaded from 
the catcher vessel.

(iii) An estimate of herring, candlefish, anchovy, sardine or 
mackerel caught but not sold due to mortality must be included on the 
fish ticket as "loss estimate."

(b) In the coastal sardine fishery or coastal mackerel fishery, 
it is unlawful to purchase, per sardine or mackerel fishery vessel, 
more than fifteen percent cumulative weight of sardine or mackerel for 
the purposes of conversion into fish flour, fishmeal, fish scrap, fer­
tilizer, fish oil, other fishery products, or by-products, for purpo­
ses other than human consumption or fishing bait during the sardine or 
mackerel fishery season. Sardine and mackerel purchased for these pur­
poses must be included, by weight, on the fish ticket as "reduction."

(c) In any forage fish fishery or in the mackerel purse seine 
fishery, it is unlawful to purchase anchovy in excess of fifteen per­
cent, by weight, of the total landing weight per vessel, for the pur­
poses of conversion into fish flour, fishmeal, fish scrap, fertilizer, 
fish oil, or other fishery products. Anchovy purchased for these pur­
poses must be included, by weight, on the fish ticket as "reduction."

(10) Geoduck: It is unlawful for any person receiving geoduck, 
whether or not the receiver holds a license as required under Title 77 
RCW, to fail to accurately and legibly complete the fish receiving 
ticket initiated on the harvest tract immediately upon the actual de­
livery of geoduck from the harvesting vessel onto the shore. This fish 
receiving ticket must accompany the harvested geoduck from the depart­
ment of natural resources harvest tract to the point of delivery.

(11) Puget Sound shrimp - Pot gear:
(a) It is unlawful for any person originally receiving or pur­

chasing shrimp, other than ghost shrimp, harvested from Catch Area 
23A, to fail to record 23A-C, 23A-E, 23A-W, or 23A-S on shellfish re­
ceiving tickets based on the location of harvest and the boundary def­
initions specified in WAC 220-340-520.

(b) It is unlawful for any person originally receiving or pur­
chasing shrimp, other than ghost shrimp, harvested from Catch Area 
26A, to fail to record either 26A-E or 26A-W on shellfish receiving 
tickets based on the location of harvest and the boundary definitions 
specified in WAC 220-340-520.
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(c) It is unlawful for any person originally receiving or pur­
chasing shrimp, other than ghost shrimp, harvested from Catch Area 
26B, to fail to record either 26B-1 or 26B-2 on shellfish receiving 
tickets based on the location of harvest and the boundary definitions 
specified in WAC 220-340-520.

(d) It is unlawful for any person originally receiving or pur­
chasing shrimp, other than ghost shrimp, harvested from Catch Areas 
20B, 21A, and 22A, to fail to record 1A-20B, 1A-22A, 1B-20B, 1B-21A, 
1B-22A, or 1C-21A on shellfish receiving tickets based on the location 
of harvest and the boundary definitions specified in WAC 220-340-520.

(12) Puget Sound shrimp - Trawl gear:
(a) It is unlawful for the original receiver of shrimp other than 

ghost shrimp taken from Puget Sound by trawl gear to fail to report to 
the department the previous day's purchases by 10:00 a.m. the follow­
ing morning.

(b) Reports must be made by fax at 360-796-0108 or by text mes­
sage or email at shrimpreport@dfw.wa.gov.

(c) Reports must include, for each fish receiving ticket pre­
pared:

(i) The wholesale fish buyer name, fisher name, and date of sale;
(ii) The fish receiving ticket number, including the first alpha­

numeric letter;
(iii) The total number of pounds caught per shrimp species; and
(iv) The Marine Fish-Shellfish Management and Catch Reporting 

Area where the shrimp was harvested.
(13) Puget Sound crab:
(a) It is unlawful for any wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer acting 

in the capacity of an original receiver of Dungeness crab taken from 
Puget Sound by nontreaty fishers to fail to report to the department 
the previous day's purchases by 10:00 a.m. the following business day.

(b) Reports must be made to the Mill Creek Regional Office by fax 
at 425-338-1066, or by email at crabreport@dfw.wa.gov.

(c) Reports must include:
(i) The ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's name;
(ii) The ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's phone number;
(iii) The date of delivery of crab to the original receiver; and
(iv) The total number of pounds of crab caught by nontreaty fish­

ers, by Crab Management Region or by Marine Fish-Shellfish Management 
and Catch Reporting Area.

(14) Salmon and sturgeon:
(a) During any Puget Sound fishery opening that is designated as 

"quick reporting required," per WAC 220-354-090:
(i) It is unlawful for any wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer acting 

in the capacity of an original receiver to fail to report all purcha­
ses of salmon and sturgeon made on the previous calendar day, or for a 
((direct retail endorsement (DRE) holder)) limited fish seller to fail 
to report all salmon offered for retail sale on the previous calendar 
day.

(ii) The report must include:
(A) The ((dealer or DRE holder)) wholesale fish buyer or limited 

fish seller name and purchasing location;
(B) The date of purchase;
(C) Each fish receiving ticket number, including the first alpha­

numeric letter, used on the purchasing date; and
(D) The following catch data for each fish ticket used: The total 

number of days fished, gear, catch area, species, number, and total 
weight for each species purchased and all take home fish not purchased 
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(wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer) or sold (((DRE)) limited fish sell­
er).

(iii) When quick reporting is required, Puget Sound reports must 
be submitted by 10:00 a.m. on the day after the purchase date. Submis­
sion of a report is not complete until the report arrives at the des­
ignated department location. Reports can be submitted via fax at 
360-902-2949; via email at psfishtickets@dfw.wa.gov; or via phone at 
1-866-791-1279. In fisheries under Fraser Panel Control within Fraser 
Panel Area Waters (area defined under Art. XV, Annex II, Pacific Sal­
mon Treaty 1985), other reporting requirements not listed in this sub­
section may be necessary under Subpart F of the International Fisher­
ies Regulations, 50 C.F.R. Ch. III § 300.93.

(b) During any coastal troll fishery opening that is designated 
by rule as "quick reporting required":

(i) It is unlawful for any wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer acting 
in the capacity of an original receiver to fail to report all purcha­
ses of salmon and sturgeon made on the previous calendar day, or for a 
((DRE holder)) limited fish seller to fail to report all salmon of­
fered for retail sale on the previous calendar day.

(ii) The report must include ((dealer or DRE holder)) wholesale 
fish buyer or limited fish seller name and purchasing location; date 
of purchase; each fish receiving ticket number, including the first 
alphanumeric letter, used on the purchasing date; and the following 
catch data for each fish ticket used: Total number of days fished, 
gear, catch area, species, number, and total weight for each species 
purchased and all take home fish not purchased (wholesale ((dealer)) 
fish buyer) or sold (((DRE)) limited fish seller).

(iii) When quick reporting is required, coastal troll reports 
must be submitted by 10:00 a.m. on the day after the purchase date. 
Submission of a report is not complete until the report arrives at the 
designated department location. Reports can be made via fax at 
360-902-2949; via email at trollfishtickets@dfw.wa.gov; or via phone 
at 1-866-791-1279.

(c) During any Grays Harbor or Willapa Bay fishery opening that 
is designated by rule as "quick reporting required":

(i) It is unlawful for any wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer acting 
in the capacity of an original receiver to fail to report all purcha­
ses of salmon and sturgeon made on the previous calendar day, or for a 
((DRE holder)) limited fish seller to fail to report all salmon of­
fered for retail sale on the previous calendar day.

(ii) The report must include ((dealer or DRE holder)) wholesale 
fish buyer or limited fish seller name and purchasing location; date 
of purchase; each fish receiving ticket number, including the first 
alphanumeric letter, used on the purchasing date; and the following 
catch data for each fish ticket used:

(A) The total number of days fished;
(B) The gear used;
(C) The catch area fished; and
(D) The species, number, and total weight for each species pur­

chased and all take home fish not purchased (wholesale ((dealer)) fish 
buyer) or sold (((DRE)) limited fish seller).

(iii) When quick reporting is required, Grays Harbor and Willapa 
Bay reports must be submitted by 10:00 a.m. on the day after the pur­
chase date. Submission of a report is not complete until the report 
arrives at the designated department location. Reports can be made via 
fax at 360-249-1229; email at harborfishtickets@dfw.wa.gov; or phone 
at 1-866-791-1280.
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(d) During any Columbia River fishery opening that is designated 
by rule as "quick reporting required":

(i) It is unlawful for any wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer acting 
in the capacity of an original receiver to fail to report all purcha­
ses of salmon and sturgeon, or for a ((DRE holder)) limited fish sell­
er to fail to report all salmon offered, for retail sale.

(ii) The report must include ((dealer or DRE holder)) wholesale 
fish buyer or limited fish seller name and purchasing location; date 
of purchase; each fish receiving ticket number, including the first 
alphanumeric letter, used on the purchasing date; and the following 
catch data for each fish ticket used: Total number of days fished, 
gear, catch area, species, number, and total weight for each species 
purchased and all take home fish not purchased (wholesale ((dealer)) 
fish buyer) or sold (((DRE)) limited fish seller).

(iii) When quick reporting is required, Columbia River reports 
must be submitted within 5, 8, 12, or 24 hours of closure of the des­
ignated fishery.

(A) The department establishes the time frame for submitting re­
ports at the time of adoption of the quick reporting fishery. Adoption 
and communication of the quick reporting regulations for a given fish­
ery occurs in conjunction with the adoption of the fishery through the 
Columbia River Compact.

(B) Submission of a report is not complete until the report ar­
rives at the designated department location. Reports can be made via 
fax at 360-906-6776 or 360-906-6777; via email at 
crfishtickets@dfw.wa.gov; or via phone at 1-866-791-1281.

(e) Faxing or reporting electronically in portable document for­
mat (PDF) a copy of each fish receiving ticket used, within the previ­
ously indicated time frames specified per area, satisfies the quick 
reporting requirement.

(15) Sea urchins and sea cucumbers:
(a) It is unlawful for any ((wholesale dealer)) original receiver 

acting in the capacity of an original receiver and receiving sea ur­
chins or sea cucumbers from nontreaty fishers to fail to report to the 
department each day's purchases by 10:00 a.m. the following day.

(i) Wholesale ((dealers)) fish buyers must report by:
(A) Fax at 360-902-2943;
(B) Toll-free telephone at 866-207-8223; or
(C) Text message or email at seaurchinreport@dfw.wa.gov for sea 

urchins or seacucumberreport@dfw.wa.gov for sea cucumbers.
(ii) For red sea urchins, the report must specify the number of 

pounds received from each sea urchin district.
(iii) For green sea urchins and sea cucumbers, the report must 

specify the number of pounds received from each Marine Fish-Shellfish 
Management and Catch Reporting Area.

(iv) For sea cucumbers, the report must specify whether the land­
ings were "whole-live" or "split-drained."

(b) It is unlawful for the original receiver of red sea urchins 
to fail to record on the fish receiving ticket the sea urchin district 
where the red sea urchins were taken and the name of the port of land­
ing where the sea urchins were landed ashore.

(c) It is unlawful for the original receiver of sea cucumbers to 
fail to record on the fish receiving ticket whether the sea cucumbers 
were delivered "whole-live" or "split-drained."
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(16) A violation of the documentation or reporting requirements 
in this section is punishable under RCW 77.15.630, Unlawful fish and 
shellfish catch accounting—Penalty.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-190  Duties of commercial fishers.  (1) It is unlaw­
ful for a fisher who does not possess a valid wholesale ((dealer's)) 
fish buyer's license or a ((direct retail)) limited fish seller en­
dorsement to:

(a) Sell fish or shellfish to a consumer, restaurant, or other 
retail outlet;

(b) Donate fish or shellfish that have not been previously deliv­
ered to an original receiver to a nonprofit or other organization; and

(c) Place, or attempt to place, into interstate commerce any fish 
or shellfish previously landed in Washington state, or caught or har­
vested from the territorial waters of Washington state.

(2) A violation of subsection (1) of this section is punishable 
under RCW 77.15.620, Engaging in fish ((dealing)) buying activity—Un­
licensed—Penalty.

(3) It is unlawful for fishers engaging in activities described 
in subsection (1) of this section to fail to immediately, completely, 
accurately, and legibly prepare the appropriate state of Washington 
fish receiving ticket in the fisher's own name for each delivery of 
fish or shellfish. The fish receiving ticket must show the total of 
all fish and shellfish aboard the harvesting vessel upon delivery. A 
violation of this subsection is punishable under RCW 77.15.630, Unlaw­
ful fish and shellfish catch accounting—Penalty.

(4) It is unlawful for a fisher selling at retail to fail to com­
plete the appropriate fish receiving ticket before offering fish or 
shellfish for retail sale, except a fisher may complete a fish receiv­
ing ticket with an estimated number or weight if the fisher offers the 
fish or shellfish for sale directly off the catcher vessel. After the 
retail activity is completed, the fisher who completed a fish receiv­
ing ticket with an estimated number or weight of fish or shellfish is 
required to complete a corrected fish receiving ticket with the actual 
number and weight of fish or shellfish sold at retail. A violation of 
this subsection is punishable under RCW 77.15.630, Unlawful fish and 
shellfish catch accounting—Penalty.

(5) It is unlawful for a fisher offering fish or shellfish for 
retail sale to fail to maintain a sequentially numbered receipt book. 
The fisher must give each purchaser of fish or shellfish a receipt 
showing the number, weight, and value of fish or shellfish sold to 
that purchaser. The receipt book must contain a duplicate copy of the 
receipt given to the purchaser that remains with the receipt book. The 
fisher must retain the duplicate receipts for one year.

A violation of this subsection is punishable under RCW 77.15.630, 
Unlawful fish and shellfish catch accounting—Penalty.

(6)(a) In the commercial geoduck fishery, it is unlawful for a 
vessel operator designated by the geoduck tract holder to fail to be 
present at all times on each vessel commercially harvesting geoducks 
or having commercially harvested geoducks aboard.
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(b) For each day's harvest of geoducks from each tract, it is un­
lawful for the designated operator to fail to completely, legibly and 
accurately enter the following information on a fish receiving ticket 
before leaving the department of natural resources geoduck harvest 
tract:

(i) Enter in the "((dealer's)) buyer's use" column the number of 
cages of geoducks harvested;

(ii) Write the harvest vessel name, its Washington department of 
fish and wildlife identification number, and the date across the top 
of the fish receiving ticket directly below the tear strip; and

(iii) Sign the fish receiving ticket as the fisher.
(7) A violation of subsection (6) of this section is punishable 

under RCW 77.15.630, Unlawful fish and shellfish catch accounting—
Penalty.

(8)(a) It is unlawful for operators of commercial fishing vessels 
catching forage fish for the purposes of using them as bait to fail to 
accurately report those harvests on a state of Washington fish receiv­
ing ticket along with the target fish or shellfish when those fish or 
shellfish are delivered to an original receiver.

(b) A violation of this subsection is a gross misdemeanor, pun­
ishable under RCW 77.15.630.

(9)(a) It is unlawful for an operator of a commercial fishing 
vessel to allow the distribution or transfer of forage fish for mone­
tary consideration from the nets or other holding devices under his or 
her control to anyone other than a licensed wholesale fish ((dealer)) 
buyer unless the operator of the commercial fishing vessel:

(i) Possesses a wholesale fish ((dealers)) buyers license; and
(ii) Completes a fish receiving ticket for those transfers.
(b) A violation of this subsection is punishable under RCW 

77.15.630, Unlawful fish and shellfish catch accounting—Penalty.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-230  Commercial food fish and shellfish transporta­
tion ticket.  (1) Except as provided in subsection (6) of this sec­
tion, it is unlawful for commercial fishers or their designees, who 
are neither wholesale ((dealers)) fish buyers nor holders of a ((di­
rect retail)) limited fish seller endorsement, to fail to complete a 
commercial food fish and shellfish transportation ticket as required 
by this section. These tickets must be completed prior to transporting 
fish or shellfish harvested for commercial purposes or in commercial 
quantities. For a fishery that does not require a vessel, a transpor­
tation ticket must be completed prior to leaving the catch site. The 
purpose of this rule is to ensure catch accountability when fish or 
shellfish are transported by the fisherman or his or her designee from 
the catching vessel to an original receiver. Fish receiving ticket re­
quirements under this chapter are still in effect. A violation of this 
subsection or subsection (2) of this section is punishable as a gross 
misdemeanor under RCW 77.15.290.

(2) A transportation ticket must contain all of the following in­
formation and space for that information:

(a) The name of the fisherman who caught the fish;
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(b) The fisherman's vessel registration number;
(c) The signature of the fisherman or additional operator;
(d) The name of the transporter;
(e) The signature of the transporter;
(f) The catch area where the food fish or shellfish were caught;
(g) The species of food fish or shellfish being transported; and
(h) The number or approximate pounds of food fish or shellfish 

being transported.
(3) It is unlawful for an original receiver or someone acting in 

the capacity of an original receiver to fail to mail the transporta­
tion ticket, together with the state copy of the fish receiving ticket 
as required in WAC 220-352-060, 220-352-090, and 220-352-130, when the 
person delivering the fish or shellfish does not sign the fish receiv­
ing ticket as required in WAC 220-352-140. If the commercial fisher 
signs the fish receiving ticket, only the fish receiving ticket must 
be mailed in, and the transportation ticket is not required to be sub­
mitted with it. Violation of this section is a gross misdemeanor, pun­
ishable under RCW 77.15.640.

(4) It is unlawful to fail to keep the transportation ticket with 
the fish or shellfish until a fish receiving ticket is completed. Vio­
lation of this subsection is a gross misdemeanor under RCW 77.15.290.

(5) It is unlawful for any person transporting commercially taken 
fish or shellfish or commercial quantities of fish or shellfish to 
fail to provide a transportation ticket for inspection upon demand by 
a fish and wildlife officer. Violation of this subsection is a gross 
misdemeanor under RCW 77.15.290.

(6) The provisions of this section do not apply to:
(a) Food fish and shellfish purchased at retail, provided the 

purchaser has, in his or her possession, a sales receipt documenting 
the purchase;

(b) Food fish or shellfish for which a fish receiving ticket has 
been completed and a copy of the fish receiving ticket is in the pos­
session of the person transporting;

(c) Food fish or shellfish being transported by the department;
(d) Hatchery carcass sales;
(e) Private sector cultured aquatic products in transport;
(f) Food fish being transported on a completed Oregon transporta­

tion ticket, provided that the fish were caught in the concurrent wa­
ters of the Columbia River and were landed on Washington's shore; and

(g) Fish or shellfish being transported in the catching vessel, 
provided that the vessel is not being transported or towed over land.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-250  Sale under a ((direct retail)) limited fish 
seller endorsement.  It is unlawful for any fisher selling salmon, 
sturgeon or Dungeness crab taken by that fisher under a ((direct re­
tail)) limited fish seller endorsement, or for a wholesale ((dealer)) 
fish buyer accepting salmon, sturgeon or crab from such a fisher, to 
fail to comply with the requirements of this section.

(1) A ((direct retail)) limited fish seller endorsement will not 
be issued to a licensee who is other than a natural person. Applicants 
for the endorsement must present a letter from the county health de­
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partment of the fisher's county of residence certifying that the meth­
ods used by the fisher for transport, storage and display of product 
meet the county and statewide standards for food service operations. 
If the fisher is landing product from a documented vessel, the letter 
may be from the county health department of the hailing port of the 
vessel. Additionally, applicants must present a valid food and bever­
age service worker's permit at the time of application, and pay the 
direct retail administrative cost of fifty dollars. The health depart­
ment letter, permit, and administrative cost are required for each ap­
plication or renewal for a ((direct retail)) limited fish seller en­
dorsement.

(2) Any fisher who offers salmon, sturgeon or crab for retail 
sale must complete a fish receiving ticket for all salmon, sturgeon or 
crab aboard the harvesting vessel before the product is offered for 
retail sale, except if the salmon, sturgeon or crab are being offered 
for sale directly off the catcher vessel, the fisher may complete the 
ticket with an estimated number or weight. At the completion of the 
retail activity, the fisher who has completed a ticket with an estima­
ted number or weight is required to enter the actual number and weight 
of salmon, sturgeon or crab that were sold at retail. The price shown 
on the fish receiving ticket must be the actual sale price of the sal­
mon, sturgeon or crab.

(3) Any fisher selling salmon, sturgeon or crab at retail if the 
product is taken from an area under the quick reporting requirements 
of WAC 220-352-180, is required to comply with the quick reporting re­
quirement.

(4) Sturgeon and crab offered for retail sale must be landed in 
the round. Salmon may be cleaned or headed but not steaked or filleted 
prior to landing.

(5) In order to allow inspection and sampling, each fisher offer­
ing salmon, sturgeon or crab for retail sale at any location other 
than the harvesting vessel or, if from the harvesting vessel, in an 
amount having a retail value greater than one hundred fifty dollars 
must notify the department eighteen hours prior to sale and identify 
the location of the fisher's vessel, temporary food service establish­
ment or restaurant or other business which prepares and sells food at 
retail to which the fisher is selling the salmon, sturgeon or crab. 
The only acceptable notification is by telephone to 360-902-2936, fax 
to 902-2155, or email to enforcement-web@dfw.wa.gov.

(6) Each fisher offering salmon, sturgeon or crab for retail sale 
must maintain a sequentially numbered receipt book, which receipt book 
contains a receipt duplicate copy, and must give each purchaser of 
salmon, sturgeon or crab a receipt showing the number, weight and val­
ue of salmon, sturgeon or crab sold to that purchaser. The duplicate 
receipts must be retained by the seller for one year.

(7) If salmon, sturgeon or crab offered for retail sale and docu­
mented on a fish receiving ticket are subsequently sold to a licensed 
wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer, the sale must be documented by a sale 
receipt, not a fish receiving ticket, and it is the responsibility of 
the wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer to maintain the product separate­
ly, until the product is resold or processed.

(8) Violations of this section are punishable under RCW 
77.15.640, Wholesale fish buying ((and dealing))—Rules violations.
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REPEALER
The following sections of the Washington Administrative Code are 

repealed:
WAC 220-352-260 Commercial buying and processing of 

anadromous game fish or roe.
WAC 220-352-270 Records for purchase and receipt of 

anadromous game fish and roe.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-200  Duties of commercial shellfish shuckers.  Every 
person shucking shellfish for resale, excluding privately cultured 
aquatic products, is required to have a wholesale ((dealers license)) 
fish buyer endorsement. It is unlawful for shellfish shuckers origi­
nally receiving shellfish that are not private sector cultured aquatic 
products to fail to completely, accurately, and legibly prepare a 
state of Washington shellfish receiving ticket for each day's activi­
ties.

(1) Failure to be licensed under this section is punishable under 
RCW 77.15.620.

(2) Failure to prepare a fish receiving ticket under this section 
is punishable under RCW 77.15.630.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-240  Annual production report.  There is hereby cre­
ated a state of Washington annual production report form to be pre­
pared, printed, and distributed annually by the department to all 
((wholesale)) fish dealers, canners, custom canners, and by-product 
manufacturers. The annual production report shall be completed and re­
turned to the department not later than January 31 for the preceding 
year of business activities.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-353-120  Requirement to provide sales documents.  It is 
unlawful for ((any)) anyone acting in the capacity of a wholesale fish 
((dealer, fish)) buyer((,)) or ((holder of a direct retail endorse­
ment)) limited fish seller to fail to submit for inspection any state 
of Washington fish receiving tickets or sales documents upon demand of 
a fish and wildlife officer. Violation of this section is a gross mis­
demeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.640 (1)(d).

[ 1 ] OTS-9022.1



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-356-050  Puget Sound forage fish commercial fisheries—
General provisions.  (1) It is unlawful to fish for or possess Puget 
Sound forage fish taken for commercial purposes except at the times, 
during the seasons and using the gear provided for in this chapter.

(2) It is unlawful to fish for or possess candlefish taken for 
commercial purposes. A violation of this subsection is punishable un­
der RCW 77.15.550, Violation of commercial fishing area or time—Pen­
alty.

(3) The total annual quota for the Puget Sound smelt commercial 
fishery may not exceed sixty thousand pounds.

(4) It is unlawful for vessel operators engaged in the commercial 
harvest of smelt from Puget Sound to fail to report their daily catch 
to the department by 2:00 p.m. the day following the harvest of smelt.

(a) Catch reports may be submitted to the department as follows:
(i) By emailing the catch report or a picture of the fish receiv­

ing ticket to smeltreport@dfw.wa.gov; or
(ii) By phone at 1-844-611-3822.
(b) Catch reports must include the following information as it is 

recorded on the fish receiving ticket:
(i) Fisher name;
(ii) Wholesale fish ((dealer)) buyer name;
(iii) Pounds of smelt landed;
(iv) Marine fish/shellfish catch area, as described in WAC 

220-301-040;
(v) Date of harvest;
(vi) Date of sale;
(vii) Complete fish ticket serial number, including the first al­

phanumeric letter; and
(viii) If a picture of the fish receiving ticket is emailed as 

the daily harvest report, the date of harvest must be recorded on the 
bottom half of the ticket.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-356-160  Herring reporting.  (1) Herring fishers:
(a) All commercial herring fishers are required to obtain a de­

partment-issued herring reporting monthly logbook, and, pursuant to 
this section, enter the required information and remit the depart­
ment's copies of the monthly logs.

(b) It is unlawful for the operator of the harvest vessel to fail 
to keep the logbook aboard the vessel while the vessel is engaged in 
herring fishing or has herring onboard. Violation of this subsection 
is a gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.280.

(c) It is unlawful for any vessel operator engaged in herring 
fishing to fail to submit the department's copy of each month's log in 
which fishing activity occurs within ten days of the end of the month, 
as evidenced by the mailing date on the envelope or the fax date, ex­
cept that the operator may submit all logs of monthly activity prior 
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to the month in which fishing activity commences at one time, and, 
when fishing activity terminates for the year may submit the logs for 
the remainder of the year at one time. Harvest logs must be submitted 
in ascending consecutive order of log serial numbers. The logs are re­
quired to be mailed to: Department of Fish and Wildlife, Marine Re­
sources, P.O. Box 1100, La Conner, WA 98257, or faxed to 360-466-0515. 
Violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 
77.15.280.

(d) Herring vessel operators responsible for submitting logs to 
the department must maintain the fisher's copy of all logs for one 
year, and have them available for inspection. It is unlawful for the 
vessel operator to fail to submit harvest logs for inspection upon re­
quest by fish and wildlife officers or authorized department marine 
fish-shellfish program employee. Violation of this subsection is a 
gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.360.

(e) It is unlawful for vessel operators engaged in commercial 
herring fishing or possessing herring, to fail to permanently and 
legibly record in ink the following information within the following 
time constraints:

(i) Before each vessel trip, record the operator name, operator 
phone number, license holder name, the department issued registration 
number, date of fishing trip.

(ii) Immediately after the completion of each set, and prior to 
making a new set, record the set number, set start time, Marine Fish-
Shellfish Catch Area, nearest landmark type, gear type, and weight in 
pounds of herring retained.

(iii) Immediately after each landing of fish, record the fish re­
ceiving ticket serial number and the names of the receivers of fish 
landed or pen number delivered to if the vessel operator also holds a 
wholesale fish ((dealer license)) buyer endorsement and is acting in 
the capacity of an original receiver. Violation of this subsection is 
a gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.280.

(2) Herring baitfish processors:
(a) It is unlawful for original receivers who sell herring as 

baitfish to fail to report by January 15th of each year the total num­
ber of dozens of herring sold the previous year. The report must be 
made on a department supplied herring baitfish report form, and must 
report sales by size class. The form is required to be mailed to: De­
partment of Fish and Wildlife, Marine Resources, P.O. Box 1100, La 
Conner, WA 98257, or faxed to 360-466-0515. Violation of this subsec­
tion is a gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.280.

(b) Herring processors responsible for submitting herring bait­
fish report forms must maintain the processor's copy of the form for 
one year, and have it available for inspection. It is unlawful for the 
processor to fail to submit herring baitfish report forms for inspec­
tion upon request by fish and wildlife officers or authorized depart­
ment marine fish-shellfish program employee. Violation of this subsec­
tion is a gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.360.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-359-060  Off-reservation Indian subsistence fishing.  (1) 
It is unlawful for any person, including treaty Indian fishermen, to 
take, fish for, or possess salmon or other food fish for subsistence 
purposes except in accordance with the provisions of this section.

(2) It is lawful for individuals possessing treaty fishing rights 
pursuant to the Yakima Treaty, the Warm Springs Treaty, the Umatilla 
Treaty, and the Nez Perce Treaty to fish for food fish for subsistence 
family-use purposes subject to the following provisions:

(a) Such fishing is permitted year-round in the following areas: 
That area of the mainstem Columbia River from a line between a marker 
on the Washington shore and a marker on the Oregon shore, such line 
located approximately one-half mile upstream from the mouth of Eagle 
Creek, upstream to a point at the four-second flashing light #67 ap­
proximately 1/2 mile downstream of the Dalles Bridge; that area of the 
mainstem Columbia River from a point 200 feet above the Dalles Dam 
fishway exit upstream to a point 600 feet downstream of the John Day 
Dam fishway entrance; that area of the mainstem Columbia River from a 
point 200 feet above the John Day Dam fishway exit upstream to a point 
at the downstream end of the wingwall of the McNary Dam boat lock; 
that area of Columbia River from a point 200 feet above the McNary Dam 
fishway exit upstream to the Highway 12 bridge; excluding those areas 
within 1/4 mile radius of the mouth of Wind River, Little White Salmon 
River (Drano Lake), Klickitat River, and Spring Creek Hatchery fishway 
entrance.

(b) Lawful fishing gear by treaty Indians in the above-designated 
area includes dip nets and bag nets of a mesh size not exceeding 5 in­
ches attached to a hoop 24 feet or less in circumference, spear, gaff, 
club, and foul hook.

(c) It is lawful to use sport angling gear in places and at times 
allowed under chapter 220-310 WAC series for treaty Indian subsistence 
purposes.

(d) It is unlawful to use drift gillnets or set gillnets for 
treaty Indian subsistence fishing in the mainstem of the Columbia Riv­
er except as authorized by the director of the department of fish and 
wildlife under the provisions of WAC 220-359-110.

(e) It is unlawful to use gillnets, set nets, hoop nets, dip or 
bag nets with a mesh size exceeding 5 inches, set lines, or any other 
type of fishing gear not otherwise specifically authorized except dur­
ing times and in areas where such gear is authorized for commercial 
fishing purposes.

(3) In accordance with RCW 77.12.453, it is lawful for the fol­
lowing Wanapum Indians to take, fish for, and possess food fish for 
subsistence purposes in the vicinity of Priest Rapids Dam in specified 
areas at specified times using specified gear authorized by the direc­
tor of the department of fish and wildlife. The individuals designated 
below may be revised from time to time by agreement between the Wana­
pum Indians and the director of the department of fish and wildlife:

Frank Buck Jade Buck
Stanley Buck Robert S. Tomanawash, Sr.
Willie Buck Lester Umtuch
Harry Buck Grant Wyena
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Ken Buck Jerry Wyena
Rex Buck, Jr. Douglas Wyena
Phillip Buck Jimmy Wyena
Richard Buck Patrick Wyena

The following provisions apply to this fishery:
(a) It is unlawful to fish at any time, place, or using gear oth­

er than that designated by the director of the department of fish and 
wildlife and authorized by regulation.

(b) It is unlawful for Wanapum Indian fishermen to fail to re­
port, in writing, their total catch to the department of fish and 
wildlife within five days of the end of fishing activity under subsec­
tion (3)(a) of this section.

(c) Should any Wanapum Indian be convicted of violating the pro­
visions of this section, or sell, barter, or attempt or sell or barter 
any fish taken in this fishery or any treaty Indian fishery, that 
fishermen will be ineligible to further participate in the Wanapum In­
dian subsistence fishery unless otherwise determined by the director 
of the department of fish and wildlife.

(4) It is unlawful to sell, barter, or offer for sale or barter, 
buy, or for a commercially licensed ((buyer)) fish dealer or wholesale 
fish ((dealer)) buyer to have in possession food fish taken in an In­
dian subsistence fishery under the provisions of subsections (2) and 
(3) of this section.

(5) It is unlawful for fishermen participating in an Indian sub­
sistence fishery to fail to submit their catch to department of fish 
and wildlife employees for the conduct of biological sampling or to 
fail to allow necessary biological samples to be taken.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-359-110  Columbia River—Columbia River off-reservation 
treaty Indian ceremonial fishing.  (1) It shall be unlawful for any 
Indian ((or group of Indians)) to conduct ceremonial fishing on the 
Washington side of the Columbia River or in Washington Columbia River 
tributaries outside of an Indian reservation without first providing 
at least one week advance written notification to the director of the 
Washington state department of fish and wildlife, including all of the 
following information:

(a) Name, place, and time of ceremony for which fish will be 
used.

(b) Name of individuals and helpers who will be fishing and 
transporting fish. Only these individuals will be allowed to fish on 
the occasion covered by the notice.

(c) Exact location(s) of fishing and the amount of gear to be 
used at each location.

(d) Exact beginning and ending dates of ceremonial fishing.
(e) Type of gear to be used in ceremonial fishing.
(f) Estimated number of pounds of fish needed for ceremonial 

fishing.
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(g) If fish are to be stored prior to a ceremony, the location of 
storage must be identified. If they are not to be stored, it must be 
so indicated.

(h) The signature of the designated tribal official certified to 
the Washington department of fish and wildlife in advance.

(2) It shall be unlawful to:
(a) Fish for ceremonial purposes with commercial fishing gear ex­

cept in those areas where such fishing gear is authorized for commer­
cial fishing.

(b) Engage in ceremonial fishing during any portion of a week 
within a commercial fishing season which is closed to commercial fish­
ing.

(c) Sell or barter, offer for sale or barter, buy, or for a com­
mercial ((licensed)) wholesale fish buyer or ((wholesale)) fish dealer 
to have in his possession fish taken for ceremonial purposes.

(d) Engage in ceremonial fishing unless done in compliance with 
all provisions contained in the advance notice to the department of 
fish and wildlife of the state of Washington.

(3) Any individual engaged in ceremonial fishing must have in his 
possession a signed copy or duplicate copy of the written tribal noti­
fication to the director of the Washington state department of fish 
and wildlife that such fishing is to be conducted.

(4) All fishing gear shall be marked and identified at all times 
while fishing for ceremonial purposes.

(5) A record of the numbers of fish taken for ceremonial purposes 
will be made and sent promptly to the director of the Washington state 
department of fish and wildlife upon conclusion of each ceremonial 
fishing activity.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-359-080  Season—Sturgeon.  (1) It is unlawful to take, 
fish for or possess sturgeon taken for commercial purposes in Columbia 
River Salmon Management and Catch Reporting Areas 1F, 1G, and 1H ex­
cept individuals possessing treaty fishing rights pursuant to the Ya­
kima, Warm Springs, Umatilla, and Nez Perce treaties may fish for 
sturgeon with setline gear from January 1 through January 31, and dur­
ing seasons opened under emergency rule by the department and as pro­
vided in this section.

(2) During the open season, it is unlawful to:
(a) Retain for commercial or subsistence purposes sturgeon less 

than 38 inches in fork length or greater than 54 inches in fork length 
in Columbia River Salmon Management and Catch Reporting Area (SMCRA) 
1F. It is unlawful to retain for commercial or subsistence purposes 
sturgeon less than 43 inches in fork length or greater than 54 inches 
in fork length in Columbia River SMCRAs 1G and 1H;

(b) Sell, barter, or attempt to sell or barter sturgeon eggs that 
have been removed from the body cavity of a sturgeon prior to the sale 
of the sturgeon to a wholesale ((dealer licensed)) fish buyer endorsed 
under chapter 77.65 RCW, or to sell or barter sturgeon eggs at retail; 
or

(c) Deliver to a wholesale ((dealer licensed)) fish buyer en­
dorsed under chapter 77.65 RCW any sturgeon that are not in the round 
with the head and tail intact.

(3) Gear:
(a) Maximum 100 hooks per setline;
(b) Minimum hook size 9/0;
(c) Treble hooks prohibited; and
(d) Visible buoys required, with operator name and tribal identi­

fication clearly marked on the buoy.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-360-140  Identification of wild stocks of clams, mussels, 
or oysters—Reporting requirements for the commercial harvest of wild 
clams, mussels, or oysters from nonstate aquatic lands—Conversion to 
private sector cultured aquatic products.  (1) Based upon RCW 
15.85.020(3), the following shellfish are distinguished from private 
sector cultured aquatic products and are identified as wild stocks 
that are regulated under this chapter:

(a) All clams, mussels, or oysters that were not propagated, 
farmed, or cultivated under the active supervision and management of a 
private sector aquatic farmer; and

(b) All clams, mussels, or oysters that were set naturally prior 
to the time an aquatic farm was established and placed under the ac­
tive supervision and management of a private sector aquatic farmer.

(2) Examples of harvested wild stocks of shellfish include, but 
are not limited to, the following:

(a) Any harvest of clams, mussels, or oysters from a site that is 
not registered as an aquatic farm unless there is some ability to dem­
onstrate that the shellfish was propagated, farmed, or cultivated un­
der the active supervision of an aquatic farmer;

(b) Any harvest of clams, mussels, or oysters that were naturally 
set prior to the time an aquatic farm was established at the site and 
placed under the active supervision and management of an aquatic farm­
er; and

(c) Shellfish that is harvested from a newly registered aquatic 
farm during a period when the shellfish is presumed to come from a 
wild stock as specified in subsection (5) of this section.

(3) ((The sale of)) It is unlawful to sell wild stocks of clams, 
mussels, and oysters ((must be)) unless properly reported ((through 
the use of)) on a shellfish receiving ticket((s)). The failure to re­
port the sale of shellfish with a fish receiving ticket when it is re­
quired is unlawful activity and constitutes a violation of WAC 
220-352-020 and RCW 77.15.630. Any person selling wild stocks of 
clams, mussels, and oysters must sell the harvest to a ((licensed)) 
Washington wholesale fish ((dealer)) buyer, who is then required to 
complete the fish ticket. Alternatively, if the person harvesting the 
clams, mussels, or oysters sells this shellfish at retail or arranges 
for the harvested shellfish to be transported out-of-state, they must 
be a ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer and must complete a 
fish receiving ticket for each day's sales or for each shipment.

(4) Wild stock sales may not be reported on aquatic farm quarter­
ly production reports. Only private sector cultured aquatic products 
may be reported on quarterly production reports.

(5) The following shellfish are presumed to be wild shellfish 
that are subject to these regulations:

(a) All mussels, oysters, and clams other than geoducks that are 
commercially harvested from the nonstate lands within the first twelve 
months after a complete application for the aquatic farm registration 
is filed; and

(b) All geoducks commercially harvested from the nonstate lands 
within the first thirty-six months after a complete application for 
the aquatic farm registration is filed.
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The presumption that shellfish harvested from a newly registered 
aquatic farm during these time periods are from wild stocks may be 
overcome by a showing that the harvested shellfish were actually 
propagated, farmed, or cultivated under the active supervision of an 
aquatic farmer. After twelve or thirty-six months, respectively, all 
shellfish produced from a registered aquatic farm will be presumed to 
be private sector cultured aquatic products, and must be reported on 
quarterly aquatic farm reports. If a person does not commercially har­
vest mussels, oysters, or clams other than geoducks for the first 
twelve months after the aquatic farm registration, or does not commer­
cially harvest geoducks for the first thirty-six months after regis­
tration, there is no requirement to obtain an emerging commercial 
fishery license or trial fishery permit.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-354-290  Grays Harbor salmon fall fishery.  From August 
16 through December 31 of each year, it is unlawful to fish for salmon 
in Grays Harbor for commercial purposes or to possess salmon taken 
from those waters for commercial purposes, except that:
Fishing periods:

(1) Gillnet gear may be used to fish for Chinook, coho, and chum 
salmon, and shad as provided in this section and in the times and area 
identified in the chart below.

Time: Areas:
7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m. 
October 24;

Area 2A and Area 2D

7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m. 
October 25;

 

AND  
7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m. 
October 26.

 

6:30 a.m. through 6:30 p.m. 
October 17;

Area 2C

6:30 a.m. through 6:30 p.m. 
October 18.

 

7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m. 
October 30;

 

AND  
7:00 a.m. through 7:00 p.m. 
October 31.

 

Gear:
(2) Gear restrictions:
(a) It is permissible to have on board a commercial vessel more 

than one net, provided that the length of any one net does not exceed 
one thousand five hundred feet in length. Nets not specifically au­
thorized for use in this fishery may be onboard the vessel if properly 
stored. A properly stored net is defined as a net on a drum that is 
fully covered by a tarp (canvas or plastic) and bound with a minimum 
of ten revolutions of rope that is 3/8 (0.375) inches in diameter or 
greater.

(b) Areas 2A and 2D from October 1 through November 30: Gillnet 
gear only.

(i) It is unlawful to use set net gear.
(ii) It is unlawful to utilize any object, except the vessel de­

ploying the gear, to impede a gillnet or its attached line or float 
from drifting.

(iii) Mesh size must not exceed six and one-half inch maximum. 
Nets may be no more than fifty-five meshes deep.

(iv) It is unlawful to use a gillnet to fish for salmon if the 
lead line weighs more than two pounds per fathom of net as measured on 
the cork line. The lead line must not rest on the bottom in such a 
manner as to prevent the net from drifting. It is permissible to have 
a gillnet with a lead line weighing more than two pounds per fathom 

[ 1 ] OTS-9027.1



aboard a vessel when the vessel is fishing in or transiting through 
Grays Harbor.

(c) Area 2C from October 1 through November 30: Gillnet gear on­
ly.

(i) It is unlawful to use set net gear.
(ii) It is unlawful to utilize any object, except the vessel de­

ploying the gear, to impede a gillnet or its attached line or float 
from drifting.

(iii) Mesh size must not exceed nine inches.
(iv) It is unlawful to use a gillnet to fish for salmon if the 

lead line weighs more than two pounds per fathom of net as measured on 
the cork line. The lead line must not rest on the bottom in such a 
manner as to prevent the net from drifting. It is permissible to have 
a gillnet with a lead line weighing more than two pounds per fathom 
aboard a vessel when the vessel is fishing in or transiting through 
Grays Harbor.
Other:

(3) Recovery boxes and soak times:
(a) Each boat must have two operable recovery boxes or one box 

with two chambers on board when fishing Areas 2A, 2C, and 2D.
(i) Each box and chamber must be operating during any time the 

net is being retrieved or picked and any time a fish is being held in 
accordance with (b) and (c) of this subsection. The flow in the recov­
ery box must be a minimum of 16 gallons per minute in each chamber of 
the box, not to exceed 20 gallons per minute.

(ii) Each chamber of the recovery box must meet the following di­
mensions as measured from within the box:

(A) The inside length measurement must be at or within 39-1/2 in­
ches to 48 inches;

(B) The inside width measurements must be at or within 8 to 10 
inches; and

(C) The inside height measurement must be at or within 14 to 16 
inches.

(iii) Each chamber of the recovery box must include a water inlet 
hole between 3/4 inch and 1 inch in diameter, centered horizontally 
across the door or wall of the chamber and 1-3/4 inches from the floor 
of the chamber. Each chamber of the recovery box must include a water 
outlet hole opposite the inflow that is at least 1-1/2 inches in diam­
eter. The center of the outlet hole must be located a minimum of 12 
inches above the floor of the box or chamber. The fisher must demon­
strate to department employees, fish and wildlife enforcement offi­
cers, or other peace officers, upon request, that the pumping system 
is delivering the proper volume of fresh river or fresh bay water into 
each chamber.

(b) When fishing in Grays Harbor Areas 2A and 2D, all steelhead 
and wild (unmarked) Chinook must be placed in an operating recovery 
box which meets the requirements in (a) of this subsection prior to 
being released to the river/bay as set forth in (d) of this subsec­
tion.

(c) When fishing in Grays Harbor Area 2C, all steelhead must be 
placed in an operating recovery box which meets the requirements in 
(a) of this subsection prior to being released to the river/bay as set 
forth in (d) of this subsection.

(d) All fish placed in recovery boxes must remain until they are 
not lethargic and not bleeding and must be released to the river or 
bay prior to landing or docking.
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(e) For Areas 2A and 2D, soak time must not exceed 45 minutes. 
Soak time is defined as the time elapsed from when the first of the 
gillnet web is deployed into the water until the gillnet web is fully 
retrieved from the water.

(4) Retention of any species other than coho, chum, hatchery Chi­
nook marked by a healed scar at the site of the adipose fin, or shad 
is prohibited in Areas 2A and 2D from October 1 through November 30.

(5) Retention of any species other than Chinook, chum, coho or 
shad, is prohibited in Area 2C from October 1 through November 30.

(6) Quick reporting is required for ((wholesale dealers and fish­
ers retailing their catch under a "direct retail endorsement.")) orig­
inal receivers. According to WAC 220-352-180, reports must be made by 
10:00 a.m. the day following landing.

(7) Report all encounters of green sturgeon to the quick report­
ing office via phone at 866-791-1280, fax at 360-249-1229, or email at 
harborfishtickets@dfw.wa.gov. Fishers may have wholesale ((dealers)) 
fish buyers use the "buyer only" portion of the fish ticket and in­
clude encounters with each day's quick reporting.

(8) Do NOT remove tags from white or green sturgeon. Please obtain 
available information from tags without removing tags. Submit tag in­
formation to:

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
48 Devonshire Rd.
Montesano, WA 98563.
(9)(a) Fishers must take department observers, if requested, by 

department staff when participating in these openings.
(b) Fishers also must provide notice of intent to participate by 

contacting Quick Reporting by phone, fax or email. Notice of intent 
must be given prior to 12:00 p.m. on October 1, for openings in Areas 
2A, 2C, or 2D.

(10) It is unlawful to fish for salmon with tangle net or gillnet 
gear in Areas 2A, 2C, and 2D unless the vessel operator has attended a 
"Fish Friendly" best fishing practices workshop and has in his or her 
possession a department-issued certification card.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-354-030  Sale and purchase of commercial caught salmon. 
(1) It is unlawful for any person licensed to take salmon for commer­
cial purposes as required under chapter 77.65 RCW to:

(a) Retain for personal use more than the equivalent of one daily 
sport bag limit for the area being fished. All salmon taken under com­
mercial license must be recorded on state of Washington fish receiving 
tickets. The daily limit and possession limit described in this sub­
section also apply to crew members of the licensed fishing vessel.

(b) Sell any salmon he takes under such license to anyone other 
than a ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer located within or 
outside the state of Washington: Provided, That a person who is him­
self ((licensed as)) a wholesale ((dealer under the provisions of RCW 
77.65.280)) fish buyer may sell his catch to individuals or corpora­
tions other than ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealers)) fish buyer.

(c) Sell, barter or attempt to sell or barter salmon eggs that 
have been removed from the body cavity of salmon unless all carcasses 
from which eggs have been removed are sold to the same buyer except 
this subsection does not apply to troll caught salmon or the eggs from 
such salmon.

(d) Discard salmon that may be lawfully retained except fishers 
may discard salmon that are unmarketable due to pinniped predation.

(2) It is unlawful for ((any person licensed as a wholesale deal­
er as required under RCW 77.65.280 and acting in the capacity as an 
original receiver)) a wholesale fish buyer to purchase or attempt to 
purchase salmon eggs without also purchasing all male and female sal­
mon taken by the fisher, including the salmon carcasses from which the 
eggs were removed.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-353-030  General provisions—Lawful and unlawful acts—
Food fish other than salmon.  (1) It is unlawful to fish for or pos­
sess for commercial purposes any round, undressed sturgeon less than 
43 inches in fork length or greater than 54 inches in fork length.

(2) It is unlawful to fish for, possess, or retain green sturgeon 
taken with commercial gear. Any green sturgeon taken with any type of 
commercial gear incidental to a lawful fishery shall immediately be 
returned to the water unharmed.

(3) It is unlawful to fish for or possess for commercial purposes 
or possess aboard a commercial fishing vessel for any purpose any spe­
cies of halibut (Hippoglossus) unless permitted by the current regula­
tions of the International Pacific Halibut Commission.

(4) It is unlawful to fish for or possess for commercial purposes 
sturgeon taken from any of the waters of Puget Sound or tributaries. 
Any sturgeon taken with any type of commercial gear incidental to a 
lawful fishery shall immediately be returned to the water unharmed.

(5) It is unlawful to fish for food fish for commercial purposes 
in the waters of Shilshole Bay, inland and inside a line projected in 
a southwesterly direction from Meadow Point to West Point.

(6) It is unlawful to fish for or possess for commercial purposes 
any starry flounder less than 14 inches in length taken by any commer­
cial gear, in all Puget Sound Marine Fish-Shellfish Areas.

(7) It is unlawful to harvest herring eggs naturally deposited on 
marine vegetation or other substrate unless a person has a permit is­
sued by the director.

(8) It is unlawful to fish for or possess carp taken for commer­
cial purposes except as authorized by written permit from the direc­
tor. However, carp taken incidental to a commercial fishery for other 
species may be retained for commercial purposes. Failure to comply 
with the provisions of the carp permit constitutes unlawful use of the 
carp commercial fishery license and may result in revocation of the 
carp permit.

(9) It is unlawful to fin sharks in Washington state waters, and 
it is unlawful to possess shark fins in the field unless the carcass 
of the shark is retained. However, once a commercially taken shark 
carcass has been delivered to a ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealer or a 
person acting in that capacity)) fish buyer, and the sale of the shark 
has been recorded on a fish receiving ticket, the shark fins need not 
be retained with the shark carcass.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-353-110  Sale of commercially caught sturgeon, bottomfish 
and halibut.  (1) It is unlawful for any person while engaged in com­
mercial fishing for sturgeon, bottomfish or halibut to:

(a) Keep sturgeon smaller or greater than the size limits provi­
ded for in WAC 220-353-030, keep more than one sturgeon for personal 
use, or keep more than the equivalent of one daily limit of sport 
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caught bottomfish for personal use. Any lingcod to be retained for 
personal use taken east of the mouth of the Sekiu River must be great­
er than 26 inches in length and may not exceed 40 inches in length. 
All commercially taken sturgeon, bottomfish, and halibut retained for 
personal use must be recorded on fish receiving tickets.

(b) Sell any sturgeon, bottomfish, or halibut taken under such 
license to anyone other than a ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealer)) fish 
buyer within or outside the state of Washington((, except that a per­
son who is licensed as a wholesale dealer under the provisions of RCW 
77.65.280)) may sell to individuals or corporations other than li­
censed ((wholesale)) fish dealers.

(c) Remove from the body cavity of the sturgeon any eggs or roe 
prior to the time the sturgeon is sold to a wholesale ((dealer li­
censed under RCW 77.65.280)) fish buyer.

(2) It is unlawful for any wholesale ((dealer licensed under RCW 
77.65.280)) fish buyer to purchase or attempt to purchase sturgeon 
eggs from sturgeon taken by any person licensed to take sturgeon for 
commercial purposes under chapter 77.65 RCW if the sturgeon eggs have 
been removed from the body cavity of the sturgeon prior to the sale of 
the sturgeon.

(3) It is unlawful to purchase, sell, barter or attempt to pur­
chase, sell, or barter any sturgeon eggs taken from sturgeon caught in 
the Columbia River below Bonneville Dam.

(4) It is unlawful to remove either the head or tail from a stur­
geon prior to the time the sturgeon is sold to a wholesale dealer li­
censed under RCW 77.65.280 and delivered to a fish processing plant.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-040  Description of Washington state nontreaty fish 
receiving tickets.  (1) The department creates, prepares, prints, and 
distributes upon request the following nontreaty fish receiving ticket 
forms:

(a) Puget Sound salmon;
(b) Troll;
(c) Marine;
(d) Utility; and
(e) Shellfish.
(2) Fish receiving ticket forms must contain space for the fol­

lowing information:
(a) Fisherman: The name of the licensed deliverer.
(b) Address: The address of the licensed deliverer.
(c) Boat name: The name or Coast Guard number of the landing ves­

sel.
(d) WDFW boat registration: The Washington department of fish and 

wildlife boat registration number.
(e) Gear: The code number or name of the specific type of gear 

used.
(f) Fisherman's signature: The signature of the licensed deliver­

er.
(g) Date: Date of landing.
(h) ((Dealer)) Original receiver: Name of ((dealer)) original re­

ceiver and the department number assigned to ((dealer)) original re­
ceiver.

(i) Buyer: The name of buyer and the department number assigned 
to buyer.

(j) Receiver's signature: The signature of the original receiver.
(k) Number of days fished: Days spent catching fish.
(l) Fish or shellfish caught inside or outside 3-mile limit: 

Check one box.
(m) Catch area:
(i) The salmon catch area code if salmon are caught.
(ii) The marine fish/shellfish catch area code if marine fish are 

caught or shellfish are caught or harvested.
(n) Tally space for ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's use: Used 

at the ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's discretion.
(o) Species code: The department assigned species code.
(p) Individual number of salmon and sturgeon.
(q) Individual numbers of other fish species if fish other than 

salmon or sturgeon are landed as part of an incidental catch allowance 
or catch ratio restriction.

(r) The number of ghost shrimp in dozens, the number of oysters 
in dozens or gallons, and the species description for all fish and 
shellfish.

(s) The original total weight in round pounds of all shellfish or 
fish, except that pounds of legally dressed fish and shellfish may be 
recorded in original dressed weight so long as dressed fish and shell­
fish are designated as dressed on the fish receiving ticket.

(t) Value of fish and shellfish sold or purchased: Summary infor­
mation for species, or species groups landed.

(u) All species or categories of bottomfish having a vessel trip 
limit must be listed separately (see WAC 220-355-100).
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(v) Work area for ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's use: Used 
at ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's discretion, except:

(i) Federal sablefish endorsed limited entry permit numbers for 
each delivery of sablefish landed under the authority of the permit 
must be recorded on the fish receiving ticket in the space reserved 
for ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's use. Separate fish tickets are 
required for each permit number used.

(ii) At the time of landing of coastal bottomfish into a Washing­
ton port, the wholesale fish buyer receiving the fish must clearly re­
cord all legally defined trawl gear aboard the vessel at the time of 
delivery of the bottomfish on the fish receiving ticket in the space 
reserved for ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's use. The 3 trawl gear 
types are: Midwater trawl, roller trawl, and small foot rope trawl 
(foot rope less than 8 inches in diameter). The gear type(s) aboard 
the vessel must be recorded on the fish receiving ticket before the 
vessel representative signs the fish receiving ticket.

(w) Total amount: Total value of landing.
(x) Take-home fish: Species, number, and pounds of fish or shell­

fish retained for personal use.
(y) Crew: The name and signature of crew members who take home 

fish for personal use.
(3) A Puget Sound salmon fish receiving ticket must be complete­

ly, accurately, and legibly prepared for:
(a) Deliveries of nontreaty salmon caught in inland waters; and
(b) Any imports of fresh salmon into the state of Washington.
(4) A troll fish receiving ticket must be completely, accurately, 

and legibly prepared for:
(a) Deliveries of nontreaty coastal salmon and incidental catch;
(b) Any imports of fresh salmon into the state of Washington; and
(c) Any bottomfish or halibut subject to a catch allowance or ra­

tio restriction, when those species are taken incidental to salmon 
fishing.

(5) A marine fish receiving ticket must be completely, accurate­
ly, and legibly prepared for:

(a) Nontreaty deliveries of marine fish or bottomfish that do not 
include salmon; and

(b) Any imports of fresh marine fish or bottomfish.
(6) A marine or utility fish receiving ticket must be completely, 

accurately, and legibly prepared for:
(a) Any nontreaty deliveries that do not include salmon, where 

other fish receiving tickets are not appropriate; and
(b) Any imports of fresh fish or shellfish that do not include 

salmon.
(7) A shellfish receiving ticket must be completely, accurately, 

and legibly prepared for:
(a) Any nontreaty deliveries of shellfish;
(b) Any imports of fresh shellfish; and
(c) Any incidental catch of bottomfish made while fishing for 

shellfish. The species name, total pounds, and price per pounds must 
be entered for each species of bottomfish caught.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-352-220  ((Dealer and)) Wholesale fish buyer plates.  (1) 
Upon lawful application for a wholesale ((dealer's license, a deal­
er's)) fish buyer's endorsement, a wholesale fish buyer's plate will 
be issued by the department for any receiver acting as or intending to 
act as an original receiver. The receiver's plate will be designed for 
use with an approved mechanical imprinting device and shall contain 
the ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buyer's name, ((dealer's license)) 
wholesale fish buyer's endorsement number, year for which the ((li­
cense)) endorsement is valid, and department ((dealer)) wholesale fish 
buyer number.

(2) Upon lawful application for a wholesale fish buyer's license 
or a branch plant license, a wholesale fish buyer's plate will be is­
sued by the department for any wholesale fish buyer acting or intend­
ing to act on the behalf of an original receiver. The wholesale fish 
buyer's plate will be designed for use with an approved mechanical im­
printing device and shall contain the ((dealer's)) wholesale fish buy­
er's name, ((dealer's license)) wholesale fish buyer's endorsement 
number, year for which the ((license)) endorsement is valid, depart­
ment ((dealer)) wholesale fish buyer number, buyer name, and depart­
ment buyer number.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-05-112, filed 2/15/17, effective 
3/18/17)

WAC 220-356-180  Spawn on kelp license (SOK license) contract 
conditions.  (1) Spawn on kelp license (SOK license) contracts shall 
protect the environment, prevent waste, ensure compliance with appli­
cable laws and regulations, and ensure faithful performance of lease 
terms and conditions.

(2) SOK licensees shall not sell any spawn on kelp to anyone who 
is not a ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer, except that the 
licensee may be a ((licensed)) wholesale ((dealer)) fish buyer, and, 
after completing a state of Washington fish receiving ticket, may sell 
the spawn on kelp to someone who is not a wholesale ((dealer)) fish 
buyer.

(3) SOK licenses are ((transferrable)) transferable only in the 
case of hardship and then only to any person holding a herring fishery 
license except the SOK license is not transferable to a person cur­
rently holding a SOK license. The transfer shall be made on a form 
provided by the department, and the transferee shall be subject to the 
same terms and conditions of the original SOK license. For purposes of 
this section, hardship means death or disablement of the licensee or 
loss of the licensee's vessel through no fault of the licensee.

(4) Every SOK licensee may surrender the SOK license and shall be 
relieved of any obligation under the license except as otherwise pro­
vided. The licensee must notify the department in writing of intention 
to surrender the license. If operations under the license have been 
conducted, the licensee shall correct any adverse environmental ef­
fects caused by the operations, including but not limited to, release 
of any entrapped herring, removal of any herring enclosure, and place­
ment of any herring spawn upon habitat suitable for hatch and release 
of herring fry. If the license is surrendered, the department will re­
tain the amount of the bid.

(5) The SOK license shall provide for revocation for noncompli­
ance with the terms of the license. Grounds for revocation for noncom­
pliance shall include, but not be limited to, failure to provide catch 
records as required, failure to provide required data on fishing and 
harvesting related activities, and failure to notify the department of 
anticipated times of fishing and harvesting. The SOK licensee shall be 
notified, in writing, of noncompliance, the necessary corrective meas­
ures and the amount of time allowed to take corrective action. The li­
censee's remedying of the noncompliance within the specified time 
shall result in no revocation of the license. The licensee may appeal 
any cancellation under chapter 34.05 RCW.

(6) The SOK license contract shall allow the SOK licensee to con­
duct operations reasonably necessary for the production of spawn on 
kelp. Nothing in this section shall relieve the licensee of any re­
sponsibility under applicable laws or regulations.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-12-105, filed 6/6/17, effective 
7/7/17)

WAC 220-352-140  Signatures—Fish receiving tickets.  (1) It is 
unlawful for the deliverer or original receiver of nontreaty fish or 
shellfish to fail to sign the complete nontreaty fish receiving ticket 
to certify that all entries on the ticket are accurate and correct.

(2) It is unlawful for the deliverer of treaty fish or shellfish 
to fail to sign the tribal copy of the treaty Indian fish receiving 
ticket to certify that all entries on the ticket are accurate and cor­
rect. It is unlawful for the original receiver of treaty ((food)) fish 
or shellfish to fail to sign the completed treaty Indian fish receiv­
ing ticket.

(3) It is unlawful for the deliverer or original receiver of fish 
from the directed commercial fisheries for Pacific Coast Groundfish 
authorized under 50 C.F.R., Part 660 to fail to print and sign a copy 
of the completed electronic fish receiving ticket to certify that all 
entries on the ticket are accurate and correct.

(a) A fisher who fails to sign a fish receiving ticket is in vio­
lation of RCW 77.15.630.

(b) An original receiver who fails to sign a fish receiving tick­
et is in violation of RCW 77.15.630.

(4) Where the fisherman is unable to deliver the catch, an agent 
of the fisherman is authorized to sign the fish receiving ticket if 
the agent has first obtained an alternate operator's license for the 
fishing vessel operated by the fisherman.

(5) If the receiver receives the fish or shellfish by any method 
other than direct delivery, the receiver shall affix his or her signa­
ture to the fish receiving ticket, and the fish receiving ticket shall 
be completed and submitted without the deliverer's signature and to­
gether with the transportation ticket. The receiver shall assume com­
plete responsibility for the correctness of all entries on the fish 
receiving ticket.
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