CODE REVISER USE ONLY

THE STATE OF MASHING

RULE-MAKING ORDER PERMANENT RULE ONLY

CR-103P (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: March 09, 2023 TIME: 5:49 PM

WSR 23-07-055

Agency: Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife (Order # 23-38)

Effective date of rule:

Permanent Rules

- \boxtimes 31 days after filing.
- Other (specify) _____ (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be stated below)

Purpose: This revision to the fishing guide logbook rule will improve enforceability and compliance of the rule. Specifically, this revision will require trip location and date information before the fishing activity begins, will remove the web reporting tool as a reporting option and remove reference to vessel so it's clear that all guided fishing trips, whether on foot or on a vessel must be reported. The revision will also increase the frequency at which paper reports must be returned from once a month to twice a month.

Citation of rules affected by this order:

New:

Repealed:

Amended: 220-352-245 Reporting required of licensed food fish, game fish and combination fishing guides Suspended:

Statutory authority for adoption: 77.65.500

Other authority:

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making)

Adopted under notice filed as WSR 22-21-100 on October, 17, 2022 (date).

Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: No changes from proposed to adopted

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting:

Name:

Address:

Phone:

Fax:

TTY:

Email: Web site:

Other:

Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. No descriptive text.						
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. A section may be counted in more than one category.						
The number of sections adopted in order to comply	y with:					
Federal statute:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Federal rules or standards:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Recently enacted state statutes:	New		Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity:						
	New		Amended		Repealed	
The number of sections adopted on the agency's own initiative:						
	New		Amended	1	Repealed	
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures:						
	New		Amended	<u>1</u>	Repealed	
The number of sections adopted using:						
Negotiated rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Pilot rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Other alternative rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed	
Signature:						
Date Adopted: February 17, 2023		orginataro.				
Name: Barbara Baker			PO	\geq	γ	
Title: Chair, Washington Fish & Wildlife Commission			D	Ja	Lin	

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 19-17-010, filed 8/9/19, effective 1/1/20)

WAC 220-352-245 Reporting required of licensed food fish, game fish and combination fishing guides. (1) Licensed food fish, game fish and combination fishing guides shall maintain a daily logbook of guiding activity to include:

(a) Guide name and license No. for the guide leading the trip;

(b) Date that fishing took place. For multiday trips, each day is considered a separate trip;

(c) Specific name of river, stream, or lake fished;

(d) Site code of site fished as referenced within a list provided to each guide. If multiple sites are fished on the same day, each site is considered a separate trip;

(e) Client, "comped angler" and crew current fishing license number (wild ID No.) for each person on board if required to have a license or catch record card. A comped angler is an angler that fishes without charge;

(f) Indicate if person was a crew member or if angler was "comped";

(g) Species kept or released. For salmon and steelhead specify origin (hatchery, wild) and life stage (adult, jack).

(2) ((Logbooks are required to be completed for each trip before offloading any fish from the vessel or if no fish were kept, complete the logbook before leaving the site)) Every daily logbook entry must be started before fishing activity begins by entering guide name, license number, date, and waterbody the trip initiated from.

(3) Report of daily guiding activity shall be made using the department's paper logbook or ((online)) mobile reporting application. ((Logbook pages)) Trips reported using the paper logbook for activity that occurred between the first day of the calendar month and the 15th day of the calendar month must be ((provided)) postmarked and mailed to the department ((or postmarked within ten days following any calendar month in which the guiding activity took place)) by the 28th day of the same calendar month. Trips reported using the paper logbook for activity that occurred between the 16th day of the calendar month and the last day of the calendar month must be postmarked and mailed to the department by the 14th day of the calendar month immediately following. Reports logged using the mobile application must be finalized or submitted at the end of the guided trip before leaving the site.

(4) Each day of fishing ((that occurs on a designated WDFW licensed guide fish vessel)) will be required to be recorded in the logbook. This includes any personal use or nonguided fishing trips that occur. Only guide name, license number, and date are required for nonguided fishing trips.

(5) Information collected under this section may be exempt from public disclosure to the extent provided under RCW 42.56.430.

(6) Failure to report any guiding activity listed in subsections (1) through (4) of this section is an infraction, punishable under RCW 77.15.160.

(7) A fishing guide, or person under the control or direction of a fishing guide, that submits false information is guilty of a gross misdemeanor, punishable under RCW 77.15.270.