CODE REVISER USE ONLY

TATE OF HASHING

## RULE-MAKING ORDER PERMANENT RULE ONLY

# CR-103P (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: April 18, 2025 TIME: 11:53 AM

WSR 25-09-098

Agency: Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) 2024-16B

### Effective date of rule:

#### Permanent Rules

- $\boxtimes$  31 days after filing.
- Other (specify) \_\_\_\_\_ (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be stated below)

**Purpose:** The purpose of the amendments to WAC 220-415-090 is to specify the black bear hunting season dates and bag limits for each of the 14 Black Bear Management Units (BBMU). Furthermore, the rule changes specify where it is illegal to harvest black bear in Washington state. The amendments make it unlawful to kill cubs (less than one-year old) and females with cubs. The amendments include the list of GMUs where the Bear ID Test is required. Lastly, the amendments specify that mandatory bear tooth samples must be submitted to the department by December 1.

#### Citation of rules affected by this order:

New: Repealed: Amended: WAC 220-415-090

Suspended:

Statutory authority for adoption: RCWs 77.04.012, 77.04.055, 77.08.030, 77.12.047, 77.15.245, 77.15.280, and 77.15.410.

Other authority: None.

#### PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making)

Adopted under notice filed as <u>WSR 25-04-100</u> on <u>February 4, 2025</u> (date). Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None.

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting:

Name:

Address:

Phone:

Fax:

TTY:

Email:

Web site:

Other:

Note: If any category is le No descriptive text.		ank, it w	ill be cal	culated	as zero.			
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. A section may be counted in more than one category.								
The number of sections adopted in order to comply	with:							
Federal statute:	New	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Amended		Repealed			
Federal rules or standards:	New		Amended		Repealed			
Recently enacted state statutes:	New		Amended		Repealed			
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity:								
	New		Amended		Repealed			
The number of sections adopted on the agency's own initiative:								
	New		Amended	<u>1</u>	Repealed			
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures:								
	New		Amended		Repealed			
The number of sections adopted using:								
Negotiated rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed			
Pilot rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed			
Other alternative rule making:	New		Amended		Repealed			
Date Adopted: April 9, 2025		Signature:			القرار			
Name: Barbara Baker	BBale							
Title: WDFW Commission Chair								

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 21-14-022, filed 6/28/21, effective 7/29/21)

WAC 220-415-090 Fall black bear hunting seasons and regulations. It is unlawful to fail to comply with the provisions below. A violation of this section is punishable under RCW 77.15.410, 77.15.245, or 77.15.280.

#### ((Fall black bear season dates: August 1 to November 15.

Dag	Timite	TTTO	(2)	hlack	hoor	nor	~~~1	hunting	CODCOD )	
Day		<u> </u>	727	DIACK	Dear	per	annuar	muncing	-season.)	)

Black Bear Management Unit (BBMU)	Hunt Area (GMU)	Season Dates	<u>Bag Limit</u>
<u>1 – Northeast</u>	105, 108, 111, 113, 117, 121, 124	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>2 – Columbia Basin</u>	<u>127, 130, 133, 136, 139, 142, 248, 254,</u> <u>260, 262, 266, 269, 272, 278, 284, 290,</u> <u>371, 372, 373, 379, 381</u>	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>3 – Southeast</u>	<u>145, 149, 154, 162, 163, 166, 169, 172,</u> <u>175, 178, 181, 186</u>	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>4 – Okanogan Highlands</u>	101, 204	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>5 – Okanogan</u>	<u>203, 209, 215, 218, 224, 231, 233, 239,</u> <u>242, 243</u>	August 15 – November 15	<u>1</u>
<u>6 – Central Cascades East</u>	<u>244, 245, 246, 247, 249, 250, 251, 328, 329, 330, 334, 335</u>	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>7 – South Cascades East</u>	<u>336, 340, 342, 346, 352, 356, 360, 364,</u> <u>368, 382, 388, 578</u>	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>8 – North Cascades West</u>	418, 426, 437, 448, 450, 460	August 1 – November 15	<u>2</u>
<u>9 – South Cascades West</u>	<u>466, 485, 503, 510, 513, 516, 560, 568, 572, 574, 653, 654</u>	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	<u>2</u>
<u>10 – Urban</u>	<u>407, 454, 504, 564, 624, 627, 633, 652,</u> <u>666, 684</u>	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>11 – Mount St. Helens</u>	505, 520, 524, 550, 554, 556, 667	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	<u>2</u>
<u>12 – Olympic Peninsula East</u>	603, 607, 618, 621, 636, 638	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u>13 – Olympic Peninsula West</u>	601, 602, 612, 615, 642, 648, 651	<u>August 1 – November 15</u>	2
<u> 14 – Willapa Hills</u>	<u>501, 506, 530, 658, 660, 663, 672, 673, 681, 699</u>	<u>August 15 – November 15</u>	<u>1</u>

Area Restrictions: GMUs 157, <u>410-417</u>, <u>419-424</u>, 490, ((and)) 522, and <u>655</u> are closed to fall bear hunting. <u>A special</u> ((deer)) permit <u>to hunt</u> <u>deer or elk in GMU 485 is</u> required to hunt black bear in GMU 485. ((Hunters that choose to hunt in GMUs located in grizzly bear recovery areas, as identified by the department, must successfully complete the annual WDFW online bear identification test or equivalent test from another state and carry proof of successful completion.))

License Required: A valid big game hunting license, which includes black bear as a species option, is required to hunt black bear. One black bear transport tag is included with a big game hunting license that has black bear as a species option. A second black bear transport tag must be purchased to take a second bear.

Hunting Method: Hunters may use any lawful big game modern firearm, archery, or muzzleloader equipment for hunting black bear. The use of hounds and bait to hunt black bear is prohibited statewide. It is unlawful to kill or possess a cub (less than one year old) or a female bear accompanied by cub(s). ((Other)) Area Requirements: Hunters that choose to hunt <u>black bear</u> in GMUs ((located in grizzly bear recovery areas as identified by the department)) 101, 105, 108, 111, 113, 117, 121, 203, 204, 209, 215, 218, 224, 231, 242, 243, 244, 418, 426, 437, and 450 must successfully complete the annual WDFW online bear identification test with a passing score (80% or higher) and carry proof of successful completion or carry proof that they have passed an equivalent test from another state while hunting black bear in those GMUs. The WDFW test may be taken repeatedly until a passing score is achieved. ((All hunters must carry proof of passing a bear identification test while hunting in the GMUs identified by the department.))

Submitting Biological Samples and Bear Teeth: Successful bear hunters must comply with harvest reporting and submission of biological samples including the black bear premolar tooth located behind the canine tooth of the upper jaw by December 1st of the current hunt season. Failure to comply with the submission of biological samples is a misdemeanor pursuant to RCW 77.15.280.