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WILD TURKEY
Spring Season
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2017 Wild Turkey Season
Since 1960, three subspecies of wild turkey have been introduced in Washington: the Merriam’s, Rio Grande, and Eastern.
Currently, the Merriam’s subspecies occupies portions of Ferry, Klickitat, Pend Oreille, Skamania, Stevens, Spokane, Okanogan, 
Chelan, Kittitas, and Yakima counties. Rio Grande turkeys can be found in Asotin, Columbia, Garfield, Lincoln, Walla Walla, and 
Whitman counties. The Eastern subspecies can be found west of the Cascades in Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, 
Thurston, and Wahkiakum counties.

•	 Spring turkey season is open for shotgun (10 gauge or under 
capable of holding 3 or fewer shells – a plug may be used to meet 
this requirement – or muzzleloader with shot), bow-and-arrow, and 
crossbow hunting only. Hunters with disabilities who qualify for 
special use permits under WAC 220-414-070 may use a crossbow.

•	 A valid hunting license and an unaltered, unnotched turkey 
transport tag are required for hunting turkey.

•	 Immediately after killing a turkey, hunters must validate their own 
tag by completely removing notches for month and day of kill and 
securely attach tag to carcass.

•	 It is unlawful to use dogs, live birds, electronic calls or electronic 
decoys to hunt turkeys.

•	 Baiting game birds is illegal.
•	 Turkey hunters must report hunting activity (see page 4).
•	 Turkey hunters must use #4 shot or smaller (e.g., #6 shot).
•	 It is illegal to possess in the field or transport game birds unless a 

feathered head is left attached to each carcass, except falconry-
caught birds.

The Washington Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation will 
pay $250.00 for information leading to the arrest and conviction of 
individuals responsible for illegal taking of wild turkeys.
Stop Washington Poachers! To report poaching in progress dial 911. 
Individuals that witness and would like to anonymously report a fish 
or wildlife violation can call toll free 1-877-933-9847 (1-877-WDFW-
TIP). Remember this is not an information hotline. Other reporting 
tools can be found at http://wdfw.wa.gov/poaching/.
It could pay in more ways than one. The Department of Fish and 
Wildlife pays rewards for the arrest of people violating wildlife laws.

Youth Turkey Season
•	 Youth license holders may hunt during a special youth only spring 

turkey season on April 1 and 2, 2017.
•	 The youth season is open statewide.
•	 Must be accompanied by adult, 18 years or older.
•	 Standard hunting methods and all other turkey hunting regulations 

apply to the youth season. (The combined youth/spring season bag 
limit is the same as listed for spring seasons above.)

This pamphlet is a summary of the hunting regulations and 
seasons (chapters 220-400-640 and 220-415-417 of the Washington 
Administrative Code) adopted by the Washington Fish and Wildlife 
Commission. This pamphlet does not contain all department 
regulations. Regulations specif﻿ic to the hunting seasons described in 
this pamphlet are found in section 220-416-010 of the Washington 
Administrative Code.

Caution: Emergency regulation changes may occur while the seasons 
described in this pamphlet are in effect and will supersede information 
contained herein. Area news media will be informed of changes as they 
occur.

1

Resident Non-
Resident Youth* Disabled***

Small game license $40.50 $183.50 $18.50 $18.50
Small game, with 
combined purchase
of big game license**

$22.00 $96.80 $8.80 $8.80

Three-day small game n/a $68.00 n/a n/a
Primary turkey tag $15.90 $44.50 $0.50 $15.90
Additional turkey 
transport tags

$15.90 $66.50 $11.50 $15.90

* Youth hunters are defined as under 16 when they buy a license.
** License needs to be purchased at the same time as any big game 

license.
*** Refer to Big Game or Migratory Waterfowl and Upland Game 

Pamphlets for requirements.

2017 Spring Season
Area Dates Open Restrictions Bag/Possession Limit

Statewide April 15 - May 31, 2017

Hunting hours are 
one-half hour before 
sunrise to sunset during 
spring seasons

Gobblers and 
Turkeys with visible 
beards ONLY

A total of three (3) turkeys in the spring season with following restrictions: 
Only two (2) turkeys may be taken in eastern Washington and only one (1) 
of those may be taken in Chelan, Kittitas, or Yakima counties (combined); 
only one (1) turkey may be taken in western Washington per year outside 
of Klickitat County. Two (2) turkeys may be taken in Klickitat County.

Additional turkey tags may be purchased at any time. In appropriate areas, two turkeys can be harvested in one day.

WAC Summary Information

Special Regulations

Wild Turkey License Fees

Reward

Advisory on Emergency Regulations



Fall seasons may change, so it is important to check with WDFW 
after the April meeting of the Fish and Wildlife Commission each 
year to see what the fall turkey season regulations will be during any 
particular year. Fall season information will also be made available in 
the Big Game Hunting Seasons and Regulations Pamphlet.

A true sportsman respects the land and demonstrates this respect 
and appreciation while in the field. Remember to obtain permission 
from the owner before entering upon his or her land to hunt or 
fish. While in the field, conduct yourself in a way that will ensure a 
welcome to those who follow after you.
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Population Management Unit (PMUs) Description

PMU 10 (Northeast): GMUs 101-136 PMU 35 (Klickitat): GMUs 382, 388, 578, 574, 572, 568
PMU 15 (Southeast): GMUs 139-186 PMU 40 (Northwest): All 400 GMUs PLUS GMUs 601-627
PMU 20 (North Central): All 200 GMUs PMU 50 (Southwest): All 500 GMUs EXCEPT GMUs 568, 

572, 574, 578, 588 PLUS GMUs 633-681PMU 30 (South Central): All 300 GMUs, 
EXCEPT GMUs 382, 388

PMU P10 Northeast

PMU P15 Southeast

PMU P20 North Central

PMU P30 South Central

PMU P35 Klickitat

PMU P40 Northwest

PMU P50 Southwest

Lands not in a PMU

P40

P10

P50

P35

P20

P30

P15

NOTE: Turkey populations in PMUs 40 and 50 have low 
densities and are often found on private land. Make sure you 
have appropriate landowner permission when hunting.

Fall Turkey Season The Land and Landowners

Estimated Spring Turkey Harvest

PMU 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015

P10 1,098 1,176 2,382 3,418 3,333 3,401 3,445 3,571 3,660 2,677 2,845 2,861 3,695 2,512 2,400 2,461 3,397
P15 267 214 376 533 443 471 480 730 605 578 761 731 866 642 533 500 531
P20 21 32 78 119 176 209 215 220 258 232 228 412 231 203 188 181 260
P30 1 10 73 105 123 178 182 169 221 172 245 418 234 162 143 137 157
P35 183 134 190 300 329 301 345 362 487 370 447 889 473 514 474 436 475
P40 0 1 2 7 9 15 10 8 9 3 5 13 8 5 5 1 3
P50 46 48 47 54 52 54 53 77 62 50 65 68 41 30 25 25 38
Total 1,616 1615 3,148 4,536 4,465 4,629 4,730 5,137 5,302 4,082 4,596 5,392 5,548 4,068 3,768 3,743 4,561
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IMPORTANT NOTICE:
– Mandatory Reporting –

Hunters are Required to Report Hunting Activity by January 31st, 2018

Turkey hunters must report their hunting activity even if they did 
not hunt or harvest an animal. Hunters not reporting by January 31 
will be subject to a $10 adminstrative fee which must be paid before 
they can purchase a license for the following year. One hunter 
report is required for each tag acquired.

Hunters can file reports two ways: by telephone (toll free at 1-877-
945-3492) or online at fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov. Paper harvest report 
cards are not accepted. Hunters who harvest an animal should file 
a report within 10 days of harvest. Unsuccessful hunters must also 
report their hunting activity, including location and days hunted. 
The information will be used by WDFW to better monitor hunter 
effort, distribution, harvest, and trends.

Special note for turkey hunters: Having a spring and fall season 
can make hunter reporting confusing. If you do not intend to apply 
for a fall turkey permit or hunt in fall general season, you should 
report spring turkey hunting activity after May 31st. If you do 
intend to hunt in the fall, you should wait to report spring activity 
or fall activity until after the fall season.

You will need the following information to file your report for 
turkey hunting.

Do NOT mail or email this information to WDFW; reports can 
ONLY be accepted through the toll free number or online.

1. Whether or not you hunted turkeys.

2. For each turkey tag:
a. The number of the Game Management Units you hunted in  

(2 most hunted GMUs). Please refer to a Big Game pamphlet 
or other source for a GMU map.

b. The number of days hunted in each GMU.

3. For each turkey you harvest:
a. Number of the GMU where turkey was harvested.

b. Month, day, and year of harvest.

c. Sex of the turkey.

d. Age of the turkey: adult, yearling, or juvenile (fall season only)

2017 Spring Turkey Season Hunting Hours 
– adjusted to be ½ hour before sunrise to sunset.
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Date
Eastern

 Washington
Western 

Washington

A.M. P.M. A.M. P.M.

April 1-2 6:01 7:26 6:15 7:41

April 15 5:37 7:44 5:49 7:59

April 16-22 5:29 7:50 5:42 8:05

April 23-29 5:17 8:00 5:29 8:15

April 30 - May 6 5:05 8:09 5:18 8:24

May 7-13 4:55 8:18 5:08 8:34
May 14-20 4:47 8:27 4:59 8:43

May 21-27 4:39 8:35 4:51 8:51

May 28-31 4:34 8:42 4:46 8:57

Colville
Wild Turkey Daze

April 15 to 
May 31

Youth Hunt Under 16

April 1 & 2
 

First Tag free for Youth

Turkey Hunting Location Map!
Want to hunt turkeys but don’t know where to go? 

Go to www.mapmet.com and find a spot!
The maps, which you can download into Google Earth or use as a stand-
alone, displays areas on public land that offer good opportunities for 
finding turkeys during the spring hunting season.

All these areas are open to public hunting. Some of the areas border 
private land and the owners might or might not allow hunting. 
Respect private property: Do not trespass on private land without the 
landowner’s permission. The site was built in cooperation with all public 
land wildlife biologists in Stevens, Ferry and Pend Oreille Counties.

Hunter can go to www.colville.com for information on 
accommodations, sporting goods and supplies, restaurants, famly 
events, current weather conditions and guide services.

Colville Chamber of Commerce
986 So. Main St., Ste. B

509-684-5973
www.colville.com

For more information:

Wild turkey capital of washington



The Discover Pass is your ticket to 
nearly 3 million acres of state lands 
managed by WDFW, the Washington 
State Department of Natural Resources 
(DNR), and Washington State Parks. Your 
purchase of a Discover Pass helps to keep 
recreation access open on these state lands.

You don’t need a Discover Pass to hunt and 
fish on WDFW-managed lands. When you purchase a hunting or fishing 
license, you also receive a complimentary Vehicle Access Pass that gives 
you access to hunt and fish on WDFW-managed lands.

However, to hunt on many DNR managed lands and to fish on DNR 
managed lands AND state parks, you will need a Discover Pass. (Hunting 
is not allowed in state parks.)

Learn more about when and where you need a Discover Pass and how 
to purchase the pass at: discoverpass.wa.gov, or scan the QR code 
below.
•	 The annual Discover Pass is just $30 or $35.* 
•	 One-day pass is $10 or $11.50.* 
•	 Passes can be switched between two vehicles. 

*The cost with transaction and dealer fees if 
purchased at a license dealer, by phone or online.

Access to State 
Recreation Lands Vehicle Access Pass

2 Ways to Bring a Friend Turkey Hunting

Hunter Education Deferral
If your friend has not completed Hunter Education, they can apply 
for a one-year, once-in-a-lifetime Hunter Education Deferral to 
try hunting before completing a Hunter Education course. They 
would have to be accompanied by someone 18 or over that has held 
a Washington hunting license for the previous three years. They 
also cannot have failed a Hunter Education course in the last year.

Hunter Education Course
All first time hunters have to complete a Hunter Education course 
prior to purchasing their initial hunting license. They can take a 
traditional course or the online course. The online course also has a 
field skills evaluation requirement. 

You must clearly display a Vehicle Access Pass (VAP), or Discover 
Pass, to park a vehicle at all posted WDFW 
wildlife areas and water access sites. The 
VAP must be visible from outside the 
vehicle (they can be placed on the dash 
or hung from the rear-view mirror) and 
can be switched between two vehicles. 
You can get a rear-view mirror hanger 
from your local license dealer. A VAP 
is free with the purchase of an annual 
hunting, fishing, or trapping license.  
It cannot be purchased separately. For 
a list of locations requiring the VAP, 
visit:

wdfw.wa.gov/lands/wildlife_areas/ or 
visit a WDFW regional office.

Tail Feathers

Breast Feathers

Sex and Age of Wild Turkeys
Gobbler

Middle toe greater 
than 4 inches long

Tom

Spur

Hen Outer Wing Feathers

Hen
Middle toe less 

than 4 inches long

Hen
(Buff Tip)

Tom
(Black Tip)

Adult
Immature Hen

Adult
Immature Tom

Mature Tom
(Adult)5

Immature Tom
(Juvenile)



1.	 Be absolutely positive of your target. After you 
pull the trigger, it’s too late.

2.	 ALWAYS ask permission to hunt on private 
land. Most landowners are cooperative if you 
ask.

3.	 Do not attempt to stalk a turkey. That gobbler 
you’re stalking may be another hunter.

4.	 Unless absolutely necessary, don’t use a gobbler 
call. This call can be productive, but also very 
dangerous. Use this call when all else fails and 
then sparingly.

5.	 Never wear any red, white, or blue clothes. 
These are the colors of the gobbler’s head, the 
primary target of the turkey hunter.

6.	 Never presume what you hear is a turkey. Many 
hunters are convincing callers.

7.	 Select a calling site that gives at least 40 yards 
of vision in all directions and sit with your 
back to a large tree.

8.	 If another hunter is working a bird, don’t spoil 
it by calling or spooking the bird.

9.	 Make sure that the gobbler is within sure range 
of the shotgun and shoot only the neck and 
head.

10.	 Should you see another hunter (especially if he/
she is close to your “line of sight”) call out to the 
hunter in a loud, clear voice.

Jim Unsworth, Director
Eric Gardner, Assistant Director, Wildlife Program

Olympia Office
Mailing Address
600 Capitol Way N
Olympia, WA 98501-1091
(360) 902-2200

Visitors - Natural Resources Bldg
1111 Washington St SE
Olympia, WA 98501

Region One - Spokane
2315 N. Discovery Pl
Spokane Valley, WA 99216
(509) 892-1001

Region Two - Ephrata
1550 Alder St NW
Ephrata, WA 98823-9699
(509) 754-4624

Wenatchee Office
3860 Chelan Hwy N
Wenatchee, WA 98801-9607
(509) 662-0452

Region Three - Yakima
1701 S 24th Ave
Yakima, WA 98902-5720
(509) 575-2740
Region Four - Mill Creek
16018 Mill Creek Blvd
Mill Creek, WA 98012-1296
(425) 775-1311
Region Five - Vancouver
2108 Grand Blvd
Vancouver, WA 98661-4624
(360) 696-6211
Region Six - Montesano
48 Devonshire Rd
Montesano, WA 98563-9618
(360) 249-4628

Bradley Smith, Chair, Ph.D., Bellingham 
Larry Carpenter, Vice Chair, Mount 
Vernon
David Graybill, Leavenworth
Jay Holzmiller, Anatone
Jay Kehne, Omak
Robert “Bob” Kehoe, Seattle
Barbara Baker, Olympia
Kim Thorburn, Spokane
Miranda Wecker, Naselle

Washington Department 
of Fish and Wildlife Commission Phone:

(360) 902-2267
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Safe and Ethical Turkey Hunting

Washington Department 
of Fish and Wildlife

Washington Fish and 
Wildlife Commission

Gobbler
Middle toe greater 
than 4 inches long



The Washington Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation 
(NWTF) in cooperation with the Department of Fish and Wildlife is 
sponsoring brass pins in recognition of achieving the “Washington 
Slam.”

The Eastern, Merriam’s, and Rio Grande subspecies of wild 
turkey currently inhabit Washington State. For the purposes of 
the “Washington Slam,” subspecies are defined by county of kill. 
Merriam’s: Ferry, Klickitat, Pend Oreille, Skamania, Chelan, 
Kittitas, Okanogan, Yakima, Spokane and Stevens; Rio Grande: all 
eastern Washington counties except Ferry, Klickitat, Pend Oreille, 
Skamania, Chelan, Kittitas, Okanogan, Yakima, Spokane and 
Stevens; Eastern: all western Washington counties except Klickitat 

and Skamania. Due to smaller populations, the Eastern subspecies 
is challenging to locate. The taking of one of each of these subspecies 
constitutes a “Washington Slam.” This achievement will be verified 
by successful hunters returning their game harvest report cards to 
WDFW and completion of record forms available upon request from 
the Washington Chapter of NWTF. These forms will also be used 
for submission of information to establish Washington State turkey 
records.

For Record Information only:
Washington State Chapter, NWTF

Rich Reathaford
(509) 279-2030

Single Season Pin
(all 3 subspecies taken in spring season)

Multiple Season Pin
(all 3 subspecies taken in 2 or more seasons)

2011
James Allan
David Hoel
Colby Longshore
Alan Poe
Brad Richard
Glen Richard
Bob Shaw

2012
Greg Anderson
Thomas Bostrum
Seth Bynum
David Hoel (M)
Alan Poe
Bob Shaw

2013
Larry Aiello
B. Ray Bjork
Seth Bynum
David Hoel
Ray Lampers
John McKeever
Bob Shaw

2014
Jason Bye
David Hoel
Brad Richard
Aden Rotschy

2011
Gregory Anderson
Travis Arnott

2012
B. Ray Bjork 
Jay Brightbull
Joseph Lipczynski
John McKeever

2013
No Awards
2014
No Awards

2015
No Awards
2016
Esteban Calderon

Washington Slam

Washington Slam Award Winners
(A) Archery Equipment, (M) Muzzleloader

2015
Jason Bye
Paul Hite
David Hoel
Bob Shaw

2016
Jason Bye
David Hoel
Ray Lampers
Robert Morgan
Bob Shaw
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