Dial 911 to report an emergency

Road Kill Salvage Permit Application

Effective July 1, 2016, a new rule adopted by the Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission allows people to legally salvage deer and elk carcasses in the state. Nearly 20 other states have adopted similar rules.

The rule specifically applies to deer and elk killed by motor vehicles. Only elk – not deer – may be salvaged in Clark, Cowlitz, and Wahkiakum counties, because federal laws prohibit handling endangered Columbian white-tailed deer in southwest Washington.

Anyone who takes possession of a deer or elk carcass must obtain a free, printable permit from WDFW within 24 hours. The permittee must then keep a hardcopy of the signed and dated salvage permit with the meat until all of the edible parts are consumed.

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife does not guarantee that salvaged meat is fit for consumption, and encourages those planning to salvage deer and elk carcasses to review its Wild Game Meat Food Safety information. The new salvage rule also does not authorize trespassing on private property or ignoring highway-safety rules.

Anyone who takes possession of a deer or elk carcass must
obtain a free, printable permit from WDFW within 24 hours
.

All fields required unless otherwise noted.

Permittee Contact Information

     
         
 
         
 
  Your permit will be sent to this e-mail address.

Physical address where meat will be stored


   
                 

Species Information

Type:
Sex:

Salvage Information


 

Where did you hit or salvage the animal?

Scroll and zoom the map to the approximate location of your catch and tap the screen to drop a marker. To move a marker, just tap again on the new location.
Or, you may enter the latitude and longitude coordinates in the boxes below.

* These coordinates are based on:  
   

Please provide any other details to help pinpoint the location of the salvage
(e.g., mile marker, intersection, landmarks, etc.)

Optional field

You must agree to the Terms & Requirements and Waiver
before you can receive a Road Kill Salvage Permit

A person may salvage and take for personal consumption deer or elk accidentally killed by a motor vehicle under the following conditions.  Individuals salvaging or consuming salvaged deer or elk meat do so at their own risk.  The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and the State of Washington make no guarantee as to the fitness for consumption of deer or elk.

Salvage Permit Terms and Requirements:

  1. A person salvaging a deer or elk must apply for the permit provided below within twenty-four (24) hours of salvaging the animal. 
  2. The permittee must then keep a hardcopy of the signed and dated salvage permit with the meat until all of the edible parts are consumed.
  3. A person may salvage a deer or elk that is accidentally killed by a motor vehicle collision in Washington, except no deer may be salvaged in Clark, Cowlitz or Wahkiakum counties.
  4. The entire carcass, including entrails, of the animal must be removed from the road right of way. 
  5. An individual may not kill an injured or wounded animal for the purpose of salvage. Only a law enforcement officer or individuals or entities authorized by the department may euthanize an animal injured in a motor vehicle collision, whether or not the animal is taken for salvage.
  6. Big game licenses and tags cannot be used for the purpose of salvaging motor vehicle-killed deer or elk.
  7. Any salvaged deer or elk meat an individual deems unfit for human consumption or unusable animal parts must be disposed of pursuant to WAC 246-203-121 .
  8. Possession of wildlife in violation of these terms and requirements is punishable under RCW 77.15.750.

 

Salvage Permit Waiver

I hereby declare under penalty that the information submitted here is correct and the animal in question was salvaged. I am aware and acknowledge that any deer or elk salvaged from a vehicle collision is wild game meat and waive any claim against the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and the State of Washington for any damages or injuries that may result from the salvage or the consumption of wild game meat. 

Public Records Disclosure Notice: Any information you submit to the Washington Department of
Fish and Wildlife is subject to public disclosure under Washington’s Public Records law, RCW 42.56.