Tribal net schedules for coastal rivers

Treaty net fishery dates are subject to change in the event of unfishable conditions. Changes to this schedule, including additional fishing opportunities, will be announced as soon as possible. For more information, please contact:

Fish Program
WDFW Region 6
Montesano, WA
360-249-4628
360-586-6129

North Coastal Rivers Tribal Net Schedules

2020 Hoh River steelhead fishery

Fisheries after Dec 6 have not yet been planned.

Opens at 10:00 a.m. opening day to 10:00 a.m. closing day.

Note: Several wild Chinook have been set aside by the Hoh Tribe for Ceremonial and Subsistence (C&S) fisheries, which are scheduled by Tribal permit issued to individual fishermen, and may occur on days other than those listed.

Stat Week Put In Pull Out Days
Fishing
  8/31/2020 Closed 0
  9/7/2020 Closed 0
  9/14/2020 9/15/2020 1
  9/21/2020 9/22/2020 1
  9/28/2020 9/29/2020 1
  10/5/2020 10/7/2020 2
  10/12/2020 10/14/2020 2
  10/19/2020 10/21/2020 2
  10/26/2020 10/28/2020 2
  11/2/2020 11/4/2020 2
  11/9/2020 11/10/2020 1
  11/16/2020 11/17/2020 1
  11/23/2020 11/24/2020 1
  11/30/2020 12/1/2020 1

2020 Queets River, Quinault Indian Nation 

2020 Fall Fishery

  • Week 36-39 maximum mesh size will be 6 1/2 inches
  • Week 40-41 & 43-45 minimum mesh size will be 9 inches 
  • The fishery will begin at 12:00 noon on the opening day and end at 12:00 noon on the closing day.
Stat Week Open Close
36 Sunday, Aug. 30 Saturday, Sep. 5
37 Sunday, Sep. 6 Saturday, Sep. 12
38 Sunday, Sep. 13 Friday, Sep. 18
39 Sunday, Sep. 20 Friday, Sep. 25
40 Sunday, Sep. 27 Wednesday, Sept. 30
41 Sunday, Oct. 4 Tuesday, Oct. 6
42 Closed Closed
43 Sunday, Oct. 18 Tuesday, Oct. 20
44 Sunday, Oct. 25 Monday, Oct. 26
45 Sunday, Nov. 1 Monday, Nov. 2

 2020 Quillayute River Steelhead Fishery

Open fishing area: Quillayute River from mouth upstream to confluence with Bogachiel and Sol Duc rivers. Schedule may be modified

  • Through September 29: Opens at 6 or 7:00 a.m. opening day to 3:00 or 6:00 p.m. on closing day
  • October 5 through November 9: Opens at 8:00 AM and closes at 8:00 PM.
  • November 16 through December 11: Opens at 7:00 AM on specified opening day and closes at 3:00 PM on specified closing day.
Stat Week Put In

Pull Out

Days

Fishing

  8/31/2020 8/31/2020 0.5
  9/7/2020 9/7/2020 0.5
  9/14/2020 9/14/2020 0.5
  9/21/2020 9/21/2020 0.5
  9/28/2020 9/28/2020 0.5
  10/5/2020 10/5/2020 0.5
  10/12/2020 10/12/2020 0.5
  10/19/2020 10/19/2020 0.5
  10/26/2020 10/26/2020 0.5
  11/2/2020 11/2/2020 0.5
  11/9/2020 11/9/2020 0.5
  11/16/2020 11/20/2020 4.5
  11/23/2020 11/27/2020 4.5
  11/30/2020 12/4/2020 4.5
  12/7/2020 12/11/2020 4.5

2019 Quillayute River Fall IGN Fishery

Stat Week Put in Pull out Comment
36 6:00 a.m., Monday, 9/2 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, 9/3  
37 6:00 a.m., Monday, 9/9 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, 9/10  
38 6:00 a.m., Monday, 9/16 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, 9/17  
39 6:00 a.m., Monday, 9/23 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, 9/24  
40 6:00 a.m., Monday, 9/30 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, 10/1 Additional gear restrictions
41 6:00 a.m., Monday, 10/7 6:00 p.m., Monday, 10/7 Additional gear restrictions
42 6:00 a.m., Monday, 10/14 6:00 p.m., Monday, 10/14 Additional gear restrictions
43 6:00 a.m., Monday, 10/21 6:00 p.m., Monday, 10/21 Additional gear restrictions
44 6:00 a.m., Monday, 10/28 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, 10/29 Additional gear restrictions
45 6:00 a.m., Monday, 11/4 6:00 p.m., Tuesday, 11/5 Additional gear restrictions
46 6:00 a.m., Monday, 11/11 6:00 p.m., Thursday, 11/14 Additional gear restrictions
47 6:00 a.m., Monday, 11/18 6:00 p.m., Friday, 11/22  
48 7:00 a.m., Monday, 11/25 3:00 p.m., Friday, 11/29  
49 7:00 a.m., Monday, 12/2 3:00 p.m., Friday, 12/6  
50 7:00 a.m., Monday, 12/9 3:00 p.m., Friday, 12/13  

Open Fishing Area

Quillayute River, from mouth upstream to confluence of Bogachiel and Sol Duc rivers

Opening/Closing Periods for 9/2/2019 through 11/22/2019

Opens at 6 a.m. on specified opening days of schedule for each week
Closes at 6 p.m. on specified opening days of schedule for each week

Opening/Closing Periods for 11/25/2019 through 12/13/2019

Opens at 7 a.m. on specified opening days of schedule for each week
Closes at 3 p.m. on specified opening days of schedule for each week
Weeks 48-50 may be subject to change at a later date

Gear Restrictions

One net set only, set or drift, per fisherman
All other regulations as per Quileute Tribal Fish Ordinances

Additional Gear Restrictions for weeks 40-46

Max of 5 3/4" single strand monofilament mesh
Set net only
25 fathom max net length

Note:

  1. From Harbor Entrance to the mouth of the Quillayute River both sides, reflective tape or lighted device must be attached to the end of the net closest to the Navigational Channel.
  2. Schedule may be modified for conservation or other management requirements. Schedule adjustments or closures will be posted.

South Coastal Rivers Tribal Net Schedules

Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation

  • No Tribal netting schedule provided at this time.

Chehalis River and Grays Harbor Areas 2A-1, 2A, AND 2D

2020 Fall Fishery

  • Maximum mesh size is 6 1/2 inches
  • All Green Sturgeon must be released immediately when encountered.

The Chehalis River downstream of the power line crossing below the confluence of the Wynoochee River, and Grays Harbor Areas 2A-1, 2A, and 2D will be open for commercial gillnet fishing for authorized Quinault Tribal Fishers according to the following schedule:

Stat Week Set In Pull Out
41 12 Noon, Sunday, Oct. 4 12 Noon, Wednesday, Oct. 7
42 12 Noon, Sunday, Oct. 11 12 Noon, Tuesday, Oct. 13
43 12 Noon, Sunday, Oct. 18 12 Noon, Tuesday, Oct. 20
44 CLOSED CLOSED
45 CLOSED CLOSED
46 12 Noon, Sunday, Nov. 8 12 Noon, Wednesday, Nov. 11
47 12 Noon, Sunday, Nov. 15 12 Noon, Wednesday, Nov. 18

 Copalis River

  • 2020 Fall Fishery
  • Maximum mesh size restriction of 6 1/2 inches

This river will be open to commercial gillnet fishing for ONE authorized Quinault tribal fisher. The fishery will begin at 8 am on the set in day and will end at 8 am on the pull out day of each week.  The opening and closing dates are as follows: 

Stat Week Set In Pull Out
36 Sunday, Aug. 30 Wednesday, Sept. 2
37 Sun. Aug. 30Sun. Aug. 30Sun. Aug. 30Sunday, Sept. 6 Wednesday, Sept. 9
38 Sunday, Sept. 13 Wednesday, Sept. 16
39 Sunday, Sept. 20 Wednesday, Sept. 23
40 Sunday, Sept. 27 Wednesday, Sept. 30
41 Sunday, Oct. 4 Wednesday, Oct. 7
42 Sunday, Oct. 11 Wednesday, Oct. 14
43 Sunday, Oct. 18 Wednesday, Oct. 21
44 Sunday, Oct. 25 Wednesday, Oct. 28
45 Sunday, Nov. 1 Wednesday, Nov. 4
46 Sunday, Nov. 8 Wednesday, Nov. 11 
47 Sunday, Nov. 15 Wednesday, Nov. 18
48 Sunday, Nov. 22 Wednesday, Nov. 25

 Humptulips River AND Grays Harbor Area 2C (North Bay) (outside of river)

2020 Fall Fishery

  • Mesh size maximum of 6 1/2 inches.
  • All Green Sturgeon must be released immediately when encountered.

The Humptulips River, from its mouth upstream to the railroad bridge at Newton, and Grays Harbor Area 2C will be open for commercial gillnet fishing for authorized Quinault Tribal Fishers according to the following schedule:

Humptulips

Stat Week Set In Pull Out
36 3 pm, Tuesday, Sept. 1 3 pm, Friday, Sept. 4
37 5 pm, Monday, Sept. 7 5 pm, Thursday, Sept. 10
38 1 pm, Monday, Sept. 14 1 pm, Thursday, Sept. 17
39 5 pm, Monday, Sept. 21 5 pm, Thursday, Sept. 24
40 12 Noon, Monday, Sept. 28 12 Noon, Thursday, Oct. 1
41 5 pm, Monday, Oct. 5 5 pm, Thursday, Oct. 8
42 12 Noon, Monday, Oct. 12 12 Noon, Thursday, Oct. 15
43 CLOSED CLOSED
44 CLOSED CLOSED
45 CLOSED CLOSED
46 12 Noon, Sunday, Nov. 8 12 Noon, Tuesday, Nov. 10
47 12 Noon, Sunday, Nov. 15 12 Noon, Wednesday, Nov. 18

Grays Harbor Area C (North Bay -  outside of river)

Stat Week Set In Pull Out
36 12 Noon, Tuesday, Sept. 1 12 Noon, Friday, Sept. 4
37 12 Noon, Monday, Sept. 7 12 Noon, Thursday, Sept. 10
38 11 am, Monday, Sept. 14 11 am, Thursday, Sept. 17
39 12 Noon, Monday, Sept. 21 12 Noon, Thursday, Sept. 24
40 10 am, Monday, Sept. 28

10 am, Thursday, Oct. 1

41 12 Noon, Monday, Oct. 5 12 Noon, Thursday, Oct. 8
42 12 Noon, Monday, Oct. 12 12 Noon, Thursday, Oct. 15
43 CLOSED CLOSED
44 CLOSED CLOSED
45 CLOSED CLOSED
46 12 Noon, Sunday, Nov. 8 12 Noon, Tuesday, Nov. 10
47 12 Noon, Sunday, Nov. 15 12 Noon, Wednesday, Nov. 18

 Moclips River

  • 2020 Fall Fishery
  • Maximum mesh size restriction of 6 1/2 inches

This river will be open to commercial gillnet fishing for ONE authorized Quinault tribal fisher. The fishery will begin at 12 noon on the set in day and will end at 12 noon on the pull out day of each week.  The opening and closing dates are as follows: 

Stat Week Set In Pull Out
36 Sunday, Aug. 30 Wednesday, Sept. 2
37 Sunday,Sunday,Sunday, Sept. 6 Wednesday, Sept. 9
38 Sunday, Sept. 13 Wednesday, Sept. 16
39 Sunday, Sept. 20 Wednesday, Sept. 23
40 Sunday, Sept. 27 Wednesday, Sept. 30
41 Sunday, Oct. 4 Wednesday, Oct. 7
42 Sunday, Oct. 11 Wednesday, Oct. 14
43 Sunday, Oct. 18 Wednesday, Oct. 21 
44 Sunday, Oct. 25 Wednesday, Oct. 28
45 Sunday, Nov. 1 Wednesday, Nov. 4
46 Sunday, Nov. 8 Wednesday, Nov. 11
47 Sunday, Nov. 15 Wednesday, Nov. 18
48 Sunday, Nov. 22 Wednesday, Nov. 25

 Quinault River

  • 2020 Fall Fishery
  • Mesh size is optional

The fishery will begin at 6 a.m. on the set in day and will end at 6 p.m. on the pull out day.  The Quinault River fishing schedule will be as follows:

Stat Week Grounds 43-44 and above
Set In
Grounds 19-20 up to 43-44 Set In Grounds below 19-20 Set In All Fishers and Grounds
Pull Out
37 Sunday, Sept. 6 Monday, Sept. 7 Tuesday, Sept. 8 Thursday, Sept. 10
38 Sunday, Sept. 13 Monday, Sept. 14 Tuesday, Sept. 15 Thursday, Sept. 17
39 Sunday, Sept. 13Sunday, Sept. 13Sunday, Sept. 13Sunday, Sept. 20 Monday, Sept. 21 Tuesday, Sept. 22 Thursday, Sept. 24
40 Sunday, Sept. 27 Monday, Sept. 28 Tuesday, Sept. 29 Thursday, Oct. 1
41 Sunday, Oct. 4 Monday, Oct. 5 Tuesday, Oct. 6 Thursday, Oct. 8
42 Sunday, Oct. 11 Monday, Oct. 12 Tuesday, Oct. 13 Thursday, Oct. 15
43 Sunday, Oct. 18 Monday, Oct. 19 Tuesday, Oct. 20 Thursday, Oct. 22
44 Sunday, Oct. 25 Monday, Oct. 26 Tuesday, Oct. 27 Thursday, Oct. 29
45 Sunday, Nov. 1 Monday, Nov. 2 Tuesday, Nov. 3 Thursday, Nov. 5
46 Sunday, Nov. 8 Monday, Nov. 9 Tuesday, Nov. 10 Thursday, Nov. 12
47 Sunday, Nov. 15 Monday, Nov. 16 Tuesday, Nov. 17 Thursday, Nov. 19

State/Tribal agreements

The list of agreed fisheries (LOAF) is an annual document that includes a detailed list of fishing seasons and fishery agreements for treaty and non-treaty salmon fisheries in Puget Sound marine and freshwater areas.