All hunters in Washington, regardless of age, must have in their possession a valid hunting license and any required tags, permits, or stamps to hunt wildlife. Youth -- defined as anyone under 16 years of age at the time of license purchase -- are eligible for reduced license fees.
There is no minimum or maximum age to be eligible to hunt in Washington, but anyone purchasing a license who was born after Jan. 1, 1972 must show proof that they have completed a hunter education class. A one-time deferral option is available. Members of the Washington National or State Guard may be eligible for a free annual licensing package that includes a big game license and a small game license with a migratory bird permit.
You are required to show a license, tag or permit, or display wildlife taken when asked by a WDFW officer or other enforcement officer. Any hunter may be directed to stop at WDFW check stations and produce wildlife in their possession. You are required to comply with the directions of WDFW personnel related to the collection of sampling data or material from wildlife.
Buying a license
If you're ready to buy a license, you can visit our online licensing system, contact us by phone at 866-246-9453, or visit any of the more than 600 license dealers around the state. When buying online or by phone, it may take seven to 10 days before receiving your license in the mail.
Federal and state law require everyone 15 and older to provide their social security number before purchasing a license, whether buying in person, online, or by phone. Prospective hunters born after Jan. 1, 1972 must also show proof of hunter education training.