The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) has identified the 2021 Spring Black Bear Special Permit Hunts.
Spring black bear special permits are typically used to address specific management needs, such as tree damage on industrial managed timberlands, human-bear conflict and damage, and to distribute harvest.
Successful completion of the Black Bear Identification test is required for hunting black bear in GMUs 101, 105, 108, 111, 113, 117, 203, 204, 209, 215, 418, and 426. The test can be taken through the department’s WILD online licensing system.
Hunters are urged not to shoot females with cubs. Females may be accompanied by cubs in the spring that tend to lag behind when traveling. Please observe and be patient before shooting.
General information and bear harvest statistics for specific GMUs can be found in WDFW’s Hunting Prospects.
About spring black bear hunts
License required: A valid 2021 big game hunting license and tag, which includes black bear as a species option, are required to apply and hunt for spring black bear.
Hunting method: Hunters may use any legal weapon for hunting black bear.
Hunting with dogs and bait: Bait or hounds are not allowed for bear hunting. It is also unlawful to hunt over supplemental feed barrels (RCW 77.15.245).
Access: Hunters interested in Western Washington damage hunts should contact the appropriate WDFW Regional Office before submitting an application.
Bag limit: One black bear per special permit season. A bear taken during the permit season applies towards the annual two-bear bag limit.
Report requirement: Hunters are required to report hunting activity for each special permit awarded in addition to their general season hunting activity report.
Harvest Check, Submitting Biological Samples and Bear Teeth:
All successful bear hunters must complete the following requirements:
- Validate (notch) their bear tag consistent with WAC 220-413-020;
- Notify the department within 72 hours of kill (excluding legal state holidays) by calling 844-992-7266 to provide the hunter's name, WildID, date of kill, GMU of kill, and sex of animal;
- Present the unfrozen raw pelt and skull, with evidence of sex attached, to an authorized department employee for inspection within 5 days of notification of kill - Regional Office Phone Number
All permit hunters must comply with harvest reporting and submission of biological samples as described above. Failure to comply with the submission of biological samples is a misdemeanor pursuant to RCW 77.15.280.
Application Submission Period through midnight Feb. 28, 2021.
Hunt areas and dates
|Hunt Name||Hunt Area||Permits||Season
|7000||Sherman||GMU 101*||50||April 15 - June 15||1370 / 4.14|
|7001||Kelly Hill||GMU 105*||50||April 15 - June 15||898 / 3.3|
|7002||Douglas||GMU 108*||40||April 15 - June 15||508 / 3.23|
|7003||Aladdin||GMU 111*||50||April 15 - June 15||679 / 2.82|
|7004||49 Degrees North||GMU 117*||100||April 15 - June 15||1199 / 3.12|
|7005||Huckleberry||GMU 121||100||April 15 - June 15||1350 / 3.49|
|7006||Blue Creek||GMU 154||18||April 15 - June 15||617 / 6.06|
|7007||Dayton||GMU 162||18||April 15 - June 15||1059 / 6.83|
|7008||Tucannon||GMU 166||5||April 15 - June 15||892 / 4.4|
|7009||Wenaha||GMU 169||60||April 15 - June 15||1135 / 4.28|
|7010||Mt. View||GMU 172||24||April 15 - June 15||550 / 5.29|
|7011||Lick Creek||GMU 175||18||April 15 - June 15||453 / 5.56|
|7012||Peola||GMU 178||5||April 15 - June 15||65 / 4.2|
|7013||Couse||GMU 181||5||April 15 - June 15||77 / 4|
|7014||Grande Ronde||GMU 186||5||April 15 - June 15||109 / 6.6|
|7015||Kitsap||GMU 627||5||April 15 - June 15||240 / 2.6|
|7016||Mason||GMU 633||5||April 15 - June 15||276 / 2.6|
|7017||Bear River||GMU 681||20||April 15 - June 15||411 / 2.55|
|7018||Long Beach||GMU 684**||10||April 15 - June 15||202 / 2.92|
|7019||North Skagit||That portion of GMU 418 designated as the hunt area by DNR, Sierra Pacific, and Grandy Lake Timber Company. Note: Mandatory bear identification test required.||30||April 15 - June 15||870 / 6.1|
|7020||Copalis||GMU 642, 648, and 638 (excluding U.S. Forest Service lands).||50||April 15 - June 15||515 / 2.32|
* Mandatory bear identification test required.
** Private lands; access is extremely limited. If you cannot secure access to private lands, do not apply for these hunts.