Washington is home to hundreds of fish and wildlife species and scores of diverse fishing, hunting and wildlife viewing opportunities. You can purchase a license or parking pass online to start enjoying these opportunities.
Combination license: Allows you to fish in freshwater and saltwater, and harvest shellfish (including razor clams) and seaweed.
Freshwater license: Allows you to fish in freshwater areas only.
Saltwater license: Allows you to fish in saltwater areas only.
Shellfish/Seaweed license: Allows you to harvest razor clams, red rock crab, coastal Dungeness crab (but not Puget Sound Dungeness crab), goose barnacles, mussels, octopus, oysters, scallops, sea cucumbers, sea urchins, shrimp, softshell and hardshell clams, squid, and seaweed. No catch record card is required.
1-3 Day Combination licenses: These short-term licenses work just like a combination license and require the purchase of other endorsements where applicable. They are NOT valid for game fish for the eight-day period beginning the fourth Saturday in April, unless you are active-duty resident military personnel. These licenses must be used on consecutive days.
Razor Clam license: This license (available as an annual or three-day temporary license) allows you to harvest razor clams. You do not need this license if you already have a shellfish/seaweed or combination license. No catch record card is required.
Fish Washington license: This license represents a one-click option for an annual combination license with the Puget Sound Dungeness crab and two-pole endorsements included at reduced cost.
|Annual Freshwater||$29.50||$84.50||$7.50||Must Purchase Annual Combo||Must Purchase Annual Combo||Must Purchase Annual Combo|
|Annual Saltwater||$30.05||$59.75||$8.05||Must Purchase Annual Combo||Must Purchase Annual Combo||Must Purchase Annual Combo|
|Annual Shellfish/Seaweed||$17.40||$36.10||$7.50||Must Purchase Annual Combo||Must Purchase Annual Combo||$35.00|
|Annual Combo Fishing/Shellfish||$55.35||$124.65||$19.05||$8.05||$11.35||$55.35|
|Annual Fish Washington||$69.55|
|1-Day Combination Fishing License||$11.35||$20.15||$11.35||Must Purchase Combo||Must Purchase Combo||$20.15|
|1-Day Combination Fishing License - Active Duty Military||$11.35|
|2-Day Combination Fishing License||$15.75||$28.95||$15.75||Must Purchase Combo||Must Purchase Combo||$28.95|
|2-Day Combination Fishing License - Active Duty Military||$15.75|
|3-Day Combination Fishing License||$19.05||$35.55||$19.05||Must Purchase Combo||Must Purchase Combo||$35.55|
|3-Day Combination Fishing License - Active Duty Military||$19.05|
|Annual Razor Clam||$14.10||$21.80||$14.10||Must Purchase Combo||Must Purchase Combo||$21.80|
|3-day Razor Clam||$9.70||$9.70||$9.70||$9.70||$9.70||$9.70|
|Non Reporting Puget Sound Crab Admin Penalty||$10.00||$10.00||$10.00||$10.00||$10.00||$10.00|
|Catch record cards||First card free, additional cards $12.60 each|
|Puget Sound Crab Endorsement||$8.75||$8.75||$8.75||$8.75||$8.75||$8.75|
|Puget Sound Crab Endorsement on I-3 Day Temp.||$3.80||$3.80||$3.80||$3.80|
* Anglers 14 years and younger do not need a fishing license, though catch record cards are still required for certain species. See the regulations for additional information.
**Defining disabled hunters and fishers
RCW 77.32.480 Reduced rate licenses.
Upon approved disability application, combination fishing and hunting licenses shall be issued at a reduced or Resident rate for the following individuals:
- A resident sixty-five years old or older who is an honorably discharged veteran of the United States armed forces having a service-connected disability;
- A resident who is an honorably discharged veteran of the United States armed forces with a thirty percent or more service-connected disability;
- A resident with a disability who permanently uses a wheelchair;
- A resident who is blind or visually impaired; and
- A resident with a developmental disability as defined in RCW 71A.10.020 with documentation of the disability certified by a physician licensed to practice in this state.
- A Non Resident who qualify under 1 and 2 above as a Disabled Veteran shall be issued a combination fishing license and/or any hunting license at the same cost charged to a nondisabled Washington resident for the same license.
Per WAC 220-220-050, to qualify as a Washington resident you must meet certain criteria:
- Maintained a permanent place of abode within the state for at least 90 days preceding license purchase;
- Washington driver’s license;
- Washington identification card; or
- Military ID with a copy of orders showing Washington as your duty station.
If you do not have the above, you may need to contact WDFW Licensing to provide other documentation. To qualify for a resident license in Washington, you must not be licensed to fish or hunt as a resident in another state.