Big game hunting licenses

Washington is home to hundreds of fish and wildlife species and scores of diverse fishing, hunting and wildlife viewing opportunities. You can purchase a license or parking pass online to start enjoying these opportunities.

Big game license costs

License typeResidentNon-residentResident seniorYouth (under 16)Resident disabled*Non-resident disabled veteran*
Deer+Elk+Bear+Cougar License$95.50$860.00$95.50$46.00$46.00$95.50
Deer+Elk+Bear+Cougar License W/discounted Small game license ***$117.50$956.80$117.50$54.80$54.80$117.50
Deer+Elk License$84.50$739.00$84.50$40.50$40.50$84.50
Deer+Elk License W/discounted Small game license ***$106.50$835.80$106.50$49.30$49.30$106.50
Deer License$44.90$434.30$44.90$21.80$21.80$44.90
Deer License W/discounted Small game license ***$66.90$531.10$66.90$30.60$30.60$66.90
Elk License$50.40$497.00$50.40$21.80$21.80$50.40
Elk License W/discounted Small game license***$72.40$593.80$72.40$30.60$30.60$72.40
Bear License$24.00$222.00$24.00$13.00$13.00$24.00
Bear License W/discounted Small game license ***$46.00$318.80$46.00$21.80$21.80$46.00
Cougar License$24.00$222.00$24.00$13.00$13.00$24.00
Cougar License W/discounted Small game license ***$46.00$318.80$46.00$21.80$21.80$46.00
Moose (Random Drawing)$332.00$1,652.00$332.00$57.00$332.00$1,652.00
Mountain Goat (Random Drawing)$332.00$1,652.00$332.00$57.00$332.00$1,652.00
Bighorn Sheep (Random Drawing)$332.00$1,652.00$332.00$57.00$332.00$1,652.00
Mulitple Season Deer Tag$139.10$139.10$139.10$139.10$139.10$139.10
Multiple Season Elk Tag$182.00$182.00$182.00$182.00$182.00$182.00
2nd Black Bear License$24.00$222.00$24.00$13.00$13.00$24.00
2nd Deer Tag (only available by Special Permit)$43.40$252.40$43.50$22.50$43.40$252.40
2nd Elk Tag (only available by Special Permit)$22.50$341.50$22.50$22.50$22.50$341.50
2nd Elk Tag ( Incentive Elk and 3911 Elk Area)$22.50$341.50$22.50$22.50$22.50$341.50
Non-Reporting Administrative Penalty$10.00$10.00$10.00$10.00$10.00$10.00
Special Hunt Permit Applications$7.10$110.50$7.10$3.80$7.10$110.50
Special Hunt Permit Application - Quality ****$13.70$110.50$13.70$3.80$13.70$110.50
Multiple Season Permit Applications$7.10$110.50$7.10$3.80$7.10$110.50


* Defining disabled hunters and fishers.

RCW 77.32.480 Reduced rate licenses.

Upon approved disability application, combination fishing and hunting licenses shall be issued at a reduced or Resident rate for the following individuals:

  1. A resident sixty-five years old or older who is an honorably discharged veteran of the United States armed forces having a service-connected disability;
  2. A resident who is an honorably discharged veteran of the United States armed forces with a thirty percent or more service-connected disability;
  3. A resident with a disability who permanently uses a wheelchair;
  4. A resident who is blind or visually impaired; and
  5. A resident with a developmental disability as defined in RCW 71A.10.020 with documentation of the disability certified by a physician licensed to practice in this state.
  6. A Non Resident who qualify under 1 and 2 above as a Disabled Veteran shall be issued a combination fishing license and/or any hunting license at the same cost charged to a nondisabled Washington resident for the same license.

** Raffle Tickets can only be purchased at a License Dealer location

*** To receive the discounted rate for small game, the small game licenses must be purchased at the same time as a big game license package is purchased.

**** Special Hunt Applications that are in the categories "Quality Elk," "Quality Deer," "Any Moose", "Any Ram" and "Goat"

Residency requirements 

Per WAC 220-220-050, to qualify as a Washington resident you must meet certain criteria:

  • Maintained a permanent place of abode within the state for at least 90 days preceding license purchase;
  • Washington driver’s license; 
  • Washington identification card; or 
  • Military ID with a copy of orders showing Washington as your duty station.

If you do not have the above, you may need to contact WDFW Licensing to provide other documentation. To qualify for a resident license in Washington, you must not be licensed to fish or hunt as a resident in another state.