Learn about Washington's five salmon species

Five species of Pacific salmon can be found in Washington; chinook (also called kings), coho (also called silvers), chum (also called dogs), sockeye (also called reds), and pink (also called humpies). Salmon have a fascinating life cycle!

species: living beings that have similar characteristics and can breed together  

life cycle: how a living thing changes throughout its life

Watch this movie and learn all about the salmon life cycle:
Things to learn and do:

Salmon are a very important species to both humans and wildlife. To learn more visit the Sitka Conservation Society online to watch The Salmon Forest and download your Fin-Tastic Activity Pack.

Our conservation partners at the United States Fish and Wildlife Service have a pacific salmon and steelhead coloring book for you. Download and print copies for you and your friends.

Test your salmon survival skills by playing the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian's "Salmon Challenges" game.

The Wild Salmon Center has lots of information and fun games and activities for you at their Salmon School webpage

Make your own chinook salmon! Download your pattern.

volunteer helping youth create paper fish art
Are you going salmon fishing?